Sands Motel

Sands Motel

Sands Motel Image
2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 5.1/10
1130 West 1st Street
Portales, NM 88130

Hotel Guest Rating for Sands Motel in Portales

# 3 of 3 hotels in Portales
Based on 10 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Sands Motel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 5.1.0
5.1
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 5.0.0
5.0
Hotel Staff
user rating 6.0.0
6.0
Location of Hotel
user rating 6.7.0
6.7
Check Rates and Availability at the Sands Motel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Sands Motel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Melissa from Oklahoma City, OK
August 9, 2015
Family Traveling with Young Children
7.0
We stayed in a room with 3 beds which was great for family, wish more motels had this accommodation. Liked the frig and microwave. Restaurants and shopping in walking distance.
Solo Traveler
Linda from Albuquerque, NM
August 1, 2015
Solo Traveler
7.0
It needs to be mentioned that there is a $10 dollar a night per pet fee not just that they accept pets.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Hobbs, NM
July 14, 2015
Couple
7.0
Hotel could use some updating but room was clean & location was good for us.
Nothing really
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Santa Fe, NM
June 30, 2015
Solo Traveler
10.0
The price was right; I saved about a hundred bucks; it wasn't fancy, but the people were lovely, the room was as good as a more expensive one, the air conditioner worked, it was clean and near places I needed to be. I would go there again.
There was no pool.
Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Ruidoso, NM
April 1, 2015
Family Traveling with Teens
6.0
This was a great location for the purpose of my trip.
Could hear neighbors through the walls and everything in the parking lot outside the door.
Business Traveler
Veronica from Carlsbad, NM
June 22, 2013
Business Traveler
1.0
The hotel was in a bad area. The people there were very shady and it smelled terrible. Even with the hotel being unacceptable, we ended up having to pay for the room and finding somewhere else to stay.

The hotel was in a bad area. The people there were very shady and it smelled terrible. Even with the hotel being unacceptable, we ended up having to pay for the room and finding somewhere else to stay. Worst hotel experience ever.

Senior Travelers
Verified Hotel Guest from Farmington, NM
April 9, 2013
Senior Travelers
5.0
Recently remodeled bathroom, microwave and refrigerator in the room.
No coffee pot in the room, stained carpet, broken hot water knob in shower, towels had holes in them, stained padded chairs.

Reasonable rates, but not the cleanest place with stained carpet and towels with holes!

Couple
Bernadette from Espanola, NM
March 19, 2013
Couple
1.0
Did not like the hotel.
The hotel was run down and did not like it at all.

Booked room for one night, checked into hotel around 3:00 pm and immediately left for a wedding at 4:00 pm. Before, leaving, we observed the run-down room; this was the worst hotel I've ever booked. The floor under the carpet felt like it was going to cave-in (maybe rotten wood underneath). Carpet was old and dirty; I did not want to take my shoes off and walk on it. The bathroom sink had cracks and the faucet was loose; tub was not any better. Towels looked old and thin. The interior which is also the exterior wall of the closet had foam caulking showing along the inside bottom edge maybe to keep cold air out. The bed made a loud swooshing sound when you sat on it. Room smelt like cigarette smoke. After the wedding, we decided the hotel room was so disgusting, we did not want to stay there and drove late at night, 4 hours back home. I do not recommend staying in this hotel. ...read more

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Edgewood, NM
December 11, 2012
Solo Traveler
1.0
It did have a new mini fridge and a nice flat screen
Overall, this hotel was horibble. the paint was a terrible tangerine orange and yellow. The bath had mold around the tile. The bathroom door had large bashes in the wood. There was no coffee pot. No wifi either.

Terrible...not worth your money. Will not stay here again.

Reviews of Sands Motel
(1 - 9 of 9 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Sands Motel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.