Royal Kona Resort

Royal Kona Resort in Kailua Kona

Royal Kona Resort

Royal Kona Resort Image
3 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.7/10
75-5282 Alii Drive
Kaikua-Kona, HI 96740
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for Royal Kona Resort in Kailua Kona

# 4 of 35 hotels in Kailua Kona
Based on 194 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Royal Kona Resort
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.7.0
7.7
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.6.0
7.6
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.1.0
8.1
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Hotel Dining
user rating 7.3.0
7.3
Check Rates and Availability at the Royal Kona Resort
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Royal Kona Resort

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Yvonne from Santee, CA
July 13, 2014
Couple
8.0
Location can't be beat!
The first room they gave us was in the lagoon building and reeked of mold! We called the front desk and they moved us to a room in the main building that was just fine. It was fortunate they had rooms available. I couldn't have stayed in the first one!

You can walk from Royal Kona easily to restaurants and shopping. Sunset at Don the Beachcombers is great!

Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Calgary, Canada
July 7, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
1.0
The hotel was on the beach, and right near restaurants and shops.
Room was old, dirty, double beds for four people...
Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Honolulu, HI
June 28, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
10.0
The rooms were large and clean, bed was comfortable. The partial ocean view was awesome!
No

The location is great, walking distance to a ton of bars and restaurants. You don't have to leave the hotel for anything, the pool, bar and restaurant are excellent.

Family Traveling with Teens
Deborah from Eureka, CA
June 9, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
10.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Pukalani, HI
May 27, 2014
Couple
7.0
The nostalgic appearance
The upkeep of the area was sort of warn and there were scuff marks in the hall way and especially on the base of most the hotel doors to the entrance of each room. With just a little face lift would improve the look and make it look brand new and fresh.

Aware it was owned by Hilton but not sure who owes it now. I would rate this hotel a 7 over a 10. The room needed improvement - it seemed there was a piece of furniture missing. Also, I asked for double beds and got a king size bed instead. Bedding/blankets were not as luxury as I thought it would be. If for a short visit this hotel is good for that but if staying for a week or two, I would recommend something else for the price I paid. ...read more

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Juneau, AK
April 21, 2014
Business Traveler
7.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Alain from Trois-Rivieres, Canada
April 13, 2014
Couple
7.0
Nice location in Kona, close to the main street and by the see.
Dated hotel that need a little TLC work to up-date the building.front desk clerk was just polite, not more!
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Tigard, OR
March 27, 2014
Couple
9.0
The location was great, in the Kailua-Kona main center. The lagoon was a nice place to relax after a long day of snorkeling.
Nothing to complain about. Free wifi for guests would be nice.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Central Point, OR
March 23, 2014
Couple
7.0
Ocean view was paramount. Helped to minimize any concerns that we may have had with the room.
Room was basically clean, but not exceptional in anyway. Too much chalking to patch up bathroom deficiencies. More then average wear and tear on furnishing.

What was really disconcerting to us was that no public service shuttle exist between the airport and the Kona village, where the majority of the hotel accomodations are. Costly taxi service is provided. WHY?

Couple
John from Mansfield, TX
March 18, 2014
Couple
8.0
location
We arrived close to 10:00 pm and were suprised to find that the bar closed at 10:00 and no source for food or snacks, not even vending machines. Disappointing for a "resort".

The bartenders made an exception to sell us a bottled drink which we appreciated, but again, dissapointed that we couldn't get a drink or something to eat our first night in Hawaii.

Reviews of Royal Kona Resort
(1 - 10 of 95 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Royal Kona Resort
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg