Rose Garden Inn

Rose Garden Inn

Rose Garden Inn Image
2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.3/10
2740 Telegraph Avenue
Berkeley, CA 94705

Hotel Guest Rating for Rose Garden Inn in Berkeley

# 2 of 16 hotels in Berkeley
Based on 32 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Rose Garden Inn
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.3.0
8.3
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.3.0
8.3
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.7.0
8.7
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.6.0
8.6
Hotel Dining
user rating 8.0.0
8.0
Check Rates and Availability at the Rose Garden Inn
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Rose Garden Inn

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Solo Traveler
Elizabeth from Pacific Grove, CA
April 1, 2015
Solo Traveler
10.0
The room was very comfortable even though it was compact. The public spaces are wonderfully decorated, the breakfast is good and the staff helpful and friendly. The Victorian feel make the place special. I definitely recommend this hotel.
Couple
David from Charlotte, NC
February 22, 2015
Couple
7.0
Hotel is located perfectly for visitors to Berkeley. Breakfast was excellent. Staff very helpful. Price reasonable. Beautiful grounds. Good mattress, room spotless.
The building is historic. That means the rooms are TINY and the floors aren't level. The remote for the TV did not work correctly.

I really like the Rose Garden Inn and will use it for any future travel to Berkeley. It has charm that helps me overlook the tilted floors and creaky stairs.

Couple
Aileen from Sacramento, CA
January 22, 2015
Couple
10.0
Location was great, close to restaurants and grocery stores. Cozy rooms and comfortable beds. Great free breakfast the next morning too. Staff was nice and helpful.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Sherman Oaks, CA
November 12, 2014
Couple
8.0
Excellent location in Berkeley; close to campus; close to good restaurants and main streets. There's also a gas fire log in the room's fireplace.
Our room was slightly damp, and the bathroom, very damp, no matter how long we ran the exhaust vent. So, that meant that the towels never dried. And the room itself was very small--or as the Inn might put it, "cozy."

It's what my wife calls "funk-gepotchket," which is a combination of "funky" and "ongepotchket," the Yiddish word for something that's kind of tacky and over-done. The breakfast (included) was all right; not stellar, but all right. Wifi access was good. Parking was, overall, decent, but the management could provide a tad more information on their additional parking, which is available around the corner. The bathroom vanity area had dirt spots on the back splash that made my wife and me wonder how thorough a job the staff did cleaning other things. ...read more

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Woodinville, WA
September 21, 2014
Business Traveler
9.0
Big comfy room, great breakfast, decent internet connection, and nice courtyard for hanging out.
It can be a bit noisy

I stay in the area frequently for business and gave this 2 star hotel a try since my usual places were going for $---/night. I was pleasantly surprised, and like it better than most of the 3 star+ hotels I've stayed at in Berkeley/Emeryville. The hotel is in an old victorian mansion, and has more character while offering comparable amenities to the area's 3 star hotels. I will definitely be returning. ...read more

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Raleigh, NC
August 16, 2014
Solo Traveler
10.0
Lovely Victorian decor, quiet & comfortable place to stay, delicious breakfast in the morning.
Parking spaces were a little tight to get in and out of.
Couple
Elizabeth from Buena Park, CA
August 13, 2014
Couple
9.0
I loved the charm and the fact it wasn't a cookie cutter hotel. It had beautiful gardens and a homey decor.
The rooms were a bit small and the area wasn't the best.

It had a wonderful buffet for breakfast every morning, a nice outdoor patio, comfy indoor seating with fireplaces, and paintings everywhere. It felt very homey and much better than the run of the mill hotel.

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Berkeley, CA
July 29, 2014
Solo Traveler
4.0
Despite not having air conditioning, the staff do not routinely open the windows in this room. Any room needs to be aired out often.

Not worth the price -- bed was creaky with a mattress and box spring that showed their age. Really heavy bedding -- a hassle to take off at night. Towels were thin, old, and I suspect bleached -- it's Berkeley: they need better eco-friendly items.

Couple
Wendy from San Diego, CA
March 4, 2014
Couple
9.0
Charming rooms and main building. Wish we could have stayed longer than one night and had breakfast, but we had to be up early to get to our next destination.
Wish we could have arranged a breakfast to go in advance but were unsuccessful at check-in. We had to leave before breakfast was served. Morning desk person had us take a couple of muffins and coffee, but a prepared takeout bag would have been helpful.

Offering breakfast earlier or a breakfast to go for those who must leave before breakfast is served would be a welcome addition to the otherwise great hospitality this hotel offers. Our room was very spacious, had a gas fireplace and was charmingly decorated. The gardens and patios were very inviting. Wish we could have stayed longer than just one night.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Thomas from Pasadena, CA
January 22, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
8.0
Great staff & afternoon cookies!
Parking. way too limited, tight quarters, confusing parking restrictions around location.
Reviews of Rose Garden Inn
(1 - 10 of 17 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Rose Garden Inn
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.