River Hotel

River Hotel in Chicago

River Hotel

River Hotel Image
3 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.3/10
75A East Wacker Drive
Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Guest Rating for River Hotel in Chicago

See Most Popular hotels in Chicago
Based on 296 reviews from guests who stayed at the
River Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.3.0
8.3
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.7.0
8.7
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.6.0
8.6
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.4.0
9.4
Hotel Dining
user rating 7.9.0
7.9
Check Rates and Availability at the River Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the River Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Business Traveler
Kirk from Decorah, IA
August 12, 2014
Business Traveler
10.0
Roman, the young man that checked me in and gave me sound advice about where to go and what to do! What a wonderful employee! Kudos to him!

Perfect location for downtown exploration. Great restaurants nearby. half a block off Michigan Ave.! Rooms are compact, but clean and efficient and well appointed.

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Richmond, VA
August 11, 2014
Business Traveler
5.0
Fabulous location - close to everything
smelled a bit old and is a bit grungy
Couple
John from Rochester Hills, MI
August 5, 2014
Couple
10.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Clarksville, TN
July 30, 2014
Couple
5.0
It was right in the middle of downtown.
The room was small. The bathroom was so small that when I sat on the commode my knee was pressed up against the opposite wall. The water pressure in the shower was pathetically low.

The window in the room faced into an alleyway, across which was a hotel being refurbished. Every morning the construction crew would start throwing debris from the 15th or 16th floor, down a long wooden chute, to a dumpster at ground level. That was our early morning wake up call and it went on all day.

Couple
Bruce from Cincinnati, OH
July 30, 2014
Couple
6.0
Convenient to Michigan Ave, Millennium Park, etc.
Room was SMALL. Maybe had one foot of space between two sides of the bed and the wall. Would not want to be there except to sleep.

Hotel was OK, but for the money, Embassy Suites blows it away.

Family Traveling with Teens
Maria from Commerce, MI
July 24, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
1.0
Just the location.
EXTREMELY small rooms. For one person is just ok. Hallway has no AC. Elevators take forever and the cleaning people drag garbage with guests in the elevator (not a separate elevator for cleaning personnel). No breakfast.

Not a 3 1/2 star hotel at all.

Nathan from Williston, ND
July 22, 2014
8.0
The location was excellent. The employees were always willing to lend a hand.
The rooms on the first 29 floors are to small for more than 2 people. Would have been fine if we did not have our kids with us. Wait to long to get on an elevator. The hotel is always crowded and loud.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Granite City, IL
July 21, 2014
Solo Traveler
10.0
I checked in late, and I ended up in a large room. Since I have been traveling a lot lately, this was definitely a welcome surprise.
The only problem I had is that I tried to extend my stay by one night and the hotel was completely booked.

It is a great hotel in a great location. You are right next to the river and directly across the river from Trump. The self parking in the lot nearby is convenient and very reasonable ($24 a day with no in and out privileges). Given the area of the hotel, it is nearly impossible to find a cheaper option in the area, and this parking garage was just in the next block.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Beth from Danville, IN
July 18, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
5.0
The location was great
I reserved a room for 2 adults and 1 child. The 1st room presented to us had a queen bed. We explained that there were 3 of us and we needed 2 beds. We were then moved to a room with 2 twin beds. This is not a place for families to stay.

I saw a manager the next morning when I was on my way to get a 3rd towel for the room. He asked how I was enjoying my stay. I explained the problem with the size of beds vs. the number of people and said I needed another towel too. He got me another towel and offered up some shampoo if we needed it. He said nothing about the beds.

Couple
Beth from Republic, MO
July 17, 2014
Couple
5.0
River Hotel is in an excellent location.
Our room was the smallest hotel room we have ever stayed in. The front desk staff would not acknowledge us until they had finished what they were doing.
Reviews of River Hotel
(1 - 10 of 150 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the River Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg