Red Caboose Motel

Red Caboose Motel in Ronks

Red Caboose Motel

Red Caboose Motel Image
2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.0/10
312 Paradise Lane
Ronks, PA 17572

Hotel Guest Rating for Red Caboose Motel in Ronks

# 2 of 17 hotels in Ronks
Based on 20 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Red Caboose Motel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.0.0
8.0
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.6.0
7.6
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.7.0
8.7
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Hotel Dining
user rating 6.2.0
6.2
Check Rates and Availability at the Red Caboose Motel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Red Caboose Motel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Elizabeth from Pittsburgh, PA
June 1, 2014
Couple
9.0
The experience of sleeping in a caboose. A clean and comfortable room. A hot water tank for each caboose. Walking distance to all things train and tourist.
At 6'2, not being able to full stand up in the shower without swiping my head on the ceiling. Made for a challenging time washing my hair.

There are AC units at both ends of the room. All cabin The desk staff is awesome (thanks for the batteries!All windows are covered with curtains or blinds (you may laugh, but I stayed at a place that had sheers over the back wall windows). My biggest gripe (and I put it here because really, there isn't anything to be done about it) was the flies. They were everywhere! There were two, in particular, that terrorized us both nights of our stay.Try as we may,we could NOT kill them. If you plan on staying here, bring a can of bug spray and an electronic insect zapper. (Harbor Freight sells it. It's like an electrified tennis racket.) Overall experience was positive. We've already said that we want to go back for another stay. ...read more

Couple
Horace from Chesterfield, VA
April 6, 2014
Couple
7.0
Great idea to take old caboose cars and turn them into motel rooms. There was also an old silo that they had turned into a look out tower where you could look over the area which was great since it is in the Amish country as well.
Great Idea & design but lacking is basic maintenance. Much of the wood around the windows & doors was rotted from water damage. Some furniture, (ottoman) was so worn out that you could not use it. Bed pillows were just a bit larger that throw pillows.

Would have liked to dined in the restaurant which was a dining car but it was closed. Over all it was not bad for the price and we only stayed one day. I reported what I had found and they were very receptive to my comments. Staff was pleasant and catered to our needs when asked.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Lake Milton, OH
April 1, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
8.0
Took our 3 grandsons for the weekend. Rode the Strasburg Steam train with lunch and then surprised them with the stay in the Caboose Motel. They loved it and couldn't stop talking about how "cool" it was.
Caboose cars are small as you would expect. Kids had 2 sets of bunk beds and we had a double bed which seems pretty small now days. Could use some updating but the idea was to stay in an actual Caboose and that we did!!

Great Breakfast in the dining car. Gift shop and video arcade attached. Amish buggy rides available. Fun. Lots to do in this area for kids.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Jennifer from Churchville, PA
November 13, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
6.0
The novelty concept for the hotel was great. People were friendly and great location to everything we needed.
I was awoken at 4AM by roosters. If you are a light sleeper ... this is not for you
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Coraopolis, PA
October 30, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
7.0
The concept was great to make room out of train cars
The motel room was run down and is in serious need of upgrading. Carpet was badly stained. A Waitress at the on site diner had some kind noticable of medical condition with her mouth. Looked gross. We did not return for a second meal.

One a star rating scale I would give it 1 star

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Lawrence Township, NJ
October 21, 2013
Solo Traveler
7.0
Caboose motif.

Good for a single night novelty experience for a railroad enthusiast.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Petersburg, VA
October 3, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
6.0
The rooms were train cars
Some things could stand to be updated, noisy air conditioners

Pricey, but a hit for my grandson.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Sharon from Deptford, NJ
September 19, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
Great place! I can't express how much fun our family had here!3 separate playgrounds, great little petting zoo, and adorable caboos'. Its also walking distance to the Strasburg railroad and the Toy Train Museum.I'm definitely bringing my family back here!
Although our caboos was large and spacious, Some caboos' were quite small
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Hudson Falls, NY
August 30, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
The view, the feeling of nostalgia being on an old train and the sound of the horse and buggies, an awesome feeling. Really glad we stayed there for the experience. The
the bed was uncomfortable but was probably more comfortable then in its day.

The Red Caboose had a diner, a beautiful front porch off the office and gift shop. You could sit on the front porch and get lost in the view. As wonderful the concept is to have these cabooses turned into rooms, the rooms could use a little upgrading. Our outlets were under a counter and there were only the 2, there was some in the bathroom but a little inconvenient. The mattress was not comfortable, maybe new mattresses for some of the older folk. The room was clean. ...read more

Family Traveling with Young Children
Stephanie from Middleburg, PA
August 4, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
Very authentic, lots for kids to do!!
Could use some updating

Loved the stay great experience for kids

Reviews of Red Caboose Motel
(1 - 10 of 16 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Red Caboose Motel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg