Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

Chicago Lake Shore Hotel in Chicago

Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

Chicago Lake Shore Hotel Image
2 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.0/10
4900 S Lake Shore Dr
Chicago, IL 60615

Hotel Guest Rating for Chicago Lake Shore Hotel in Chicago

See Most Popular hotels in Chicago
Based on 298 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Chicago Lake Shore Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.0.0
6.0
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 6.3.0
6.3
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.1.0
7.1
Location of Hotel
user rating 6.8.0
6.8
Hotel Dining
user rating 6.3.0
6.3
Check Rates and Availability at the Chicago Lake Shore Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Danville, IL
June 29, 2014
Couple
1.0
Nada.
When trying to check in they said they didn't have any more non-smoking rooms left, when we already paid for it. They strangely found one after I told them my wife was pregnant. The room wasn't cleaned and looked like someone had just left seconds ago. Th

There was used soap on the sink. We had to wait 7 minutes to even be waited on at the front desk, when we were the only ones in line. The room had used rags and used take-out napkins on the night stand. We slept with our all our clothes on that night to not catch any diseases. I strongly suggest staying somewhere else. It is worth the extra $50 - $100 to make sure you get a decent room. ...read more

Group Traveler
Kelly from Wisconsin Rapids, WI
June 29, 2014
Group Traveler
7.0
Great location. Older hotel, but in process of remodeling. Would recommend and stay here again.
Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Indianapolis, IN
June 22, 2014
Group Traveler
6.0
Location
Run down and in desperate need of repair

Clean but don't feel clean because of the condition of the hallway, exterior, etc.

Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Avon, CO
June 22, 2014
Group Traveler
3.0
The location was good since we needed to be close to downtown, for an early morning meeting and were able to avoid traffic.
It was not clean, and was badly in need of a renovation. It did look like they were getting ready to do some construction.

The front desk were nice, friendly and made us feel welcome, but it didn't look like the maid staff and maintenance guys weren't doing their jobs. Our room wasn't clean (the beds were made and towels were folded but it was just dirty). Our door was broken and we had trouble closing it properly. Defiantly not a 3 star hotel.

Solo Traveler
Aaron from State College, PA
June 20, 2014
Solo Traveler
3.0
Free parking. Easy access to lakeshore drive.
It is not a 3 star hotel. Carpet was filthy. Mattress was poor quality. Rooms at motel style facing the parking lot so you need to keep your blinds closed at all times.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Wyoming, MI
June 2, 2014
Couple
3.0
Within Walking distance to Museum of Science and Industry. Parking was free.
I have a hard time believing this to be a 3 star hotel. First off, from other reviews I can see they have been "under construction" for a very long time. How it isn't designated as a motel perplexes me as the rooms are not attached to the lobby.

The door to our actual room had half an inch of daylight showing through the top and side of the door frame. The bedding had burns from cigarettes in them. I have never stayed in a smoking room that smelled so awful. We slept fully clothed out of disgust. Less than half of the channels on the T.V. worked and the half of the ones that did had no sound. Our room was right by the hallway door that leads to the 4 room pod we were in. Hotel staff were very loud in the morning, letting the door slam repeatedly early in the morning. I never felt safe in the hotel and noticed that Chicago PD stakes the hotel itself out. The price was good, especially for a three star hotel, and I see why, it isn't. Also, The pool looks like it has not been opened in years. It has been so long that the poles they tied it off on have caved in. Overall, Don't stay here. Spend the extra on parking and taxis and avoid this place at all costs, you will regret it. I should have listened to what everyone else wrote. ...read more

Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Cottage Grove, MN
May 30, 2014
Group Traveler
5.0
Well priced and even though it is not walking distance to downtown Chicago, it is still very close to the city and is within reasonable drive time. The staff and everyone we came across was very nice and hospitable.
There is some minor remodeling going on but the staff was very good at communicating expectations, so nothing out of the ordinary.

Overall, priced right and free parking. Looking forward to coming back and seeing some of the changes that were taking place in the hotel with remodeling, etc.

Group Traveler
Abhay from Biddeford, ME
May 29, 2014
Group Traveler
1.0
Nothing
Everything

Its not 3 star. Its a motel and not a good one either.

Senior Travelers
Verified Hotel Guest from Bellevue, NE
May 28, 2014
Senior Travelers
8.0
Shuttle driver John Brown is a jewel. He loves his city and is not shy about sharing what is best! Will be back next year.
The exterior is still in need of renovation, but I understand that it is in the works.
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Houston, TX
May 24, 2014
Business Traveler
5.0
Nice location and the staff is really friendly and helpful. The housekeeping service was good. The view of the lake shore was quite nice. It's also 8 mins walk to the closest metra train station which takes you directly to Mccormick place or downtown.
It's really just a motel from the section we lived. It's better for you to have a rental car cuz no other subway or bus stop is really nearby.
Reviews of Chicago Lake Shore Hotel
(1 - 10 of 156 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Chicago Lake Shore Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg