Ramada Gaslamp - Convention Center

Ramada Gaslamp - Convention Center

Ramada Gaslamp - Convention Center Image
2 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.5/10
830 Sixth Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Guest Rating for Ramada Gaslamp - Convention Center in San Diego

See Most Popular hotels in San Diego
Based on 236 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Ramada Gaslamp - Convention Center
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.5.0
6.5
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.3.0
7.3
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.4.0
7.4
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Hotel Dining
user rating 7.0.0
7.0
Check Rates and Availability at the Ramada Gaslamp - Convention Center
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Ramada Gaslamp - Convention Center

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Indianapolis, IN
March 23, 2015
Business Traveler
2.0
This hotel is in a great, lively neighborhood. However, there was a huge concert on the street outside one of the nights of our stay, and we were in town for a conference, so the noise was not ideal. It was not too noisy the other nights.
Our room was basically a glorified dorm room. There was enough room for a bed and a small desk. No closet - just a shelf with a rail. The bathroom was probably 3ft x 10 ft - just big enough for a toilet and a tiny shower.

I think that this hotel is in dire need of upgrades. The rooms may have been charming when the hotel first opened in the 1910s but now they are inadequate and dirty. The room was barely large enough for 2 adults and luggage. Noise is clearly an issue since we were given earplugs upon check-in. We considered relocating to another hotel, but the room was already paid in full so we stayed. I would never stay at this hotel if I were in San Diego again in spite of its great location and proximity to the convention center. ...read more

Couple
Alexey from Watertown, MA
March 21, 2015
Couple
8.0
The rooftop with view on the city. The location right behind the corner from everything. Vintage elevators and lamps.
The cockroach in the bathroom.
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Brookline, MA
March 20, 2015
Business Traveler
1.0
We were completely unaware of a very loud street block drinking party at the hotel from 4p-midnight on the day following our arrival for a business conference. It was extremely inappropriate to pay premium conference prices for the hotel on this night.
Couple
Daniel from Fort Mill, SC
March 11, 2015
Couple
6.0
Great location
The air did not seem clean in the hotel. Both my wife and I had no issues outside the hotel, but any time we were in the hotel we were very congested. My wife worse then I. Neither of us are allergic to most known things.
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Madison, WI
March 11, 2015
Business Traveler
6.0
Brian's 24 is great food! The roof is a great place to chill.
Room is very small and tv fuzzy.
Group Traveler
Rita from Santa Ana, CA
March 3, 2015
Group Traveler
10.0
Front desk staff.
No

Perfect location and great staff

Szerena from Burlington, WA
February 25, 2015
1.0
ham was the worst trip of my life. Four Points Sheraton is a sham and a joke it's like a motel 8 Alamo overbilled me three separate times for the same car ruining most of my trip was just a nightmare really
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Copper Center, AK
February 24, 2015
Couple
10.0
Atmosphere, friendly, clean and great location.
We have a one ton pickup truck with crew cab and 8 foot bed. They couldn't valet park it. It cost us $46 to park verses $40 if they parked it. Not bad considering we would have paid at least $10 tip to valet.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Alhambra, CA
February 22, 2015
Solo Traveler
6.0
The staff was fantastic! When I needed a toothpaste, they were there. When I needed help with my bags, they came through. When I checked out, they made it quick and easy. Very affable and friendly. And the rooftop? Excellent!
Ramada is a standout name in the hotel business. And the Gaslamp is a top-tier destination in SD. However, this hotel is the old Hotel St. James - a beautiful and historic structure, no doubt. But because of its age, the rooms were tiny (cont'd below)-

and reeked of cigarettes. Again, I appreciate the hotel for what it is - a historic gem - but I think that extra .5 star should be taken away. At two-star? Probably.

Senior Travelers
Martha from Jennings, FL
February 4, 2015
Senior Travelers
10.0
Historic charm.
No

1913 elevators were interesting. Excellent restaurant.

Reviews of Ramada Gaslamp - Convention Center
(1 - 10 of 99 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Ramada Gaslamp - Convention Center
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.