Hotels in San Francisco

Powell Hotel

Powell Hotel

Powell Hotel Image
3 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.4/10
28 Cyril Magnin Street
San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Guest Rating for Powell Hotel in San Francisco

See Most Popular hotels in San Francisco
Based on 232 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Powell Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.4.0
6.4
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 6.6.0
6.6
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.4.0
7.4
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.7.0
8.7
Hotel Dining
user rating 5.4.0
5.4
Check Rates and Availability at the Powell Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Powell Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Burpengary, Australia
April 13, 2014
Couple
3.0
location only
yes, I booked a queen room with tea/coffee making facilities and fridge, and got a double room with none of the above.

not satisifed with service

Family Traveling with Young Children
Lori from Sparks, NV
April 8, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
8.0
The hotel is charming and well kept. The location is amazing!
We got what we paid for - our amazing rate had a charming room, with lovely window coverings, however behind those lovely window coverings were windows that went to dead walls and pigeons had nested behind our window. In a nutshell, no view whatsover
Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Yuma, AZ
April 2, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
9.0
The location
No

Amy store and shop any restaurant is very close by walking distance

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Sacramento, CA
March 31, 2014
Business Traveler
6.0
I liked how the staff were nice. I enjoyed the muffins/croissants and juices that were offered during breakfast. Although i didn't make it to the free wine during happy hour, I am sure it would of been a good bonus.
The walls were thin. I could literally hear the neighbors conversation on the other side. Spooky. The room was stuffy. I woke up with a congested nose. The space was really small.

Overall, this hotel is not that bad.

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Middleton, WI
March 22, 2014
Business Traveler
8.0
This is not a three star hotel. It was a bit dingy and there was construction in the middle of the night. It wasn't a terrible experience but if I wanted a hotel if this quality I would have bid less on a lower star tier.
Solo Traveler
James from Wheaton, IL
March 16, 2014
Solo Traveler
8.0
location...literally across the street from the cable cars and BART (utilized BART to get to the airport ), restaurants, shopping; free internet as well
panhandlers everywhere; hard to find the ice machine and mediocre continental breakfast (went elsewhere for breakfast)

liked the ambiance and early 20th century feel of the hotel

Solo Traveler
Katrina from Denver, CO
March 13, 2014
Solo Traveler
8.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Henderson, NV
March 7, 2014
Solo Traveler
5.0
Of course price for the location. Valet parking was easy, but expensive ($38), staff responded to questions. Only stayed 1 night so did'nt have alot of needs.
Extremely noisy on street side-to be expected. Cleanliness was fair, not overtly dirty but mildew in bathtub, stain on a sheet.

The hotel was a decent value. Yes,it's old, peeling wallpaper in rooms, noisy but fixtures were updated and looks like they make an effort w/linens and decor. Hotels in this area tend to be old, funky, noisy so this was no surprise. Security was good. I'm not sure what 3 stars is supposed to get you, but it was safe, pleasant, computer sort of worked w/help from staff to print boarding pass. Overall? It was OK. For this area if you want "nice" you have to spend alot of $$$. Free breakfast is continental, muffin/croissant, coffee, juice. ...read more

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Oakhurst, CA
March 7, 2014
Couple
7.0
The location was exactly what we were looking for. You get out the back door and there was the trolley cars.
The bed was really hard. Luckily we were tired because it was hard to sleep on. Also the TV channels did not come in clear. If you want to relax and watch TV it is hard.

If was a great old hotel in a great location. Looking out our window at the trolley cars were amazing. Also it was within three miles of being able to walk where ever we wanted to go.

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Cambridge, MA
March 4, 2014
Solo Traveler
6.0
Location is fantastic, right next to the BART stop and Powell Street Cable Car stop. Walking distance to Union Square.
Building is old, so the room (and bathroom) was tiny. It doesn't look like the rooms have been renovated in a long time. Tiles are dirty and worn out, and so is the room furniture. I would say this is probably a 2.5 star hotel, not 3 star.

Hotel offers free wifi. It does have flat-screen TV, but its a tiny one and mounted off to the right, so hard to view from the bed. If you are planning to spend a lot of time in the room, this is probably not a good choice for you. But if you are out and about early and just need a decent bed to sleep on, this might work. Location is great, and makes it easy to get around with cable car or BART stop. Its a block away from Union Square, so easy access to shopping and there is a mall right across. Plenty of restaurants and bars around. Would not recommend for family travelers. ...read more

Reviews of Powell Hotel
(1 - 10 of 145 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Powell Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg