Portola Hotel & Spa At Monterey Bay

Portola Hotel & Spa At Monterey Bay

Portola Hotel & Spa At Monterey Bay Image
4 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.4/10
2 Portola Plaza
Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Guest Rating for Portola Hotel & Spa At Monterey Bay in Monterey

# 6 of 64 hotels in Monterey
Based on 491 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Portola Hotel & Spa At Monterey Bay
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 9.0.0
9.0
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.6.0
8.6
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.2.0
9.2
Hotel Dining
user rating 8.3.0
8.3
Check Rates and Availability at the Portola Hotel & Spa At Monterey Bay
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Portola Hotel & Spa At Monterey Bay

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Milpitas, CA
July 22, 2015
Couple
10.0
The location of this hotel is great as it sits right next to Fisherman's Wharf. It was so convenient being able to walk to dining and entertainment venues nearby. The hotel staff was friendly and welcoming. They even gave us some free cookies as well.
the $19 parking fee
Group Traveler
Loretta from Atwater, CA
July 19, 2015
Group Traveler
10.0
The hotel staff at every level is outstanding. The staff is always helpful, attentive and very pleasant. Also the location is perfect. I love to be in the heart of the city, and walking distance to the pier and all of the other places just steps away.
My only complaint is particular to this visit. I had requested a courtyard room - which was perfect -but the location of having to walk through a busy conference area and shared space between main hotel and the tower where my room was during buffet time.

My suggestion for the situation I described above would be to make the rooms surrounding the buffet areas part of the conference room block. It was just uncomfortable going through that area to get to the building where my room was located during the meal time.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Richmond Hill, Canada
July 18, 2015
Family Traveling with Young Children
9.0
A very pleasant surprise as this hotel was in a great location and was more than we expected. Very spacious rooms with comfy beds
No AC and we were on a level that opened up to a patio, so I felt a bit unsafe sleeping with my screen door open all night. Plus, our screen lock was brocken. Front desk staff was not that friendly and seemed inconvenienced by our questions.
Senior Travelers
Verified Hotel Guest from Fresno, CA
July 15, 2015
Senior Travelers
9.0
Being so close to the wharf and the free trolley to the sites. The valets were superb!
The confined parking area to check in and out.
Senior Travelers
Verified Hotel Guest from Mclean, VA
July 13, 2015
Senior Travelers
10.0
Location is a big plus - Probably 100 steps to Fisherman's Wharf!
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Visalia, CA
July 13, 2015
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
The staff was very friendly and courteous, the hotel was very close to fisherman's wharf! Rooms were very clean.
I wish parking was free, instead of $19.00 a day.

There is no ac but there is two fans and as long as you open the windows you will be fine.

Couple
Paul from Manteca, CA
July 9, 2015
Couple
6.0
clean room, enough space, frig in room.
trees obstructing view of small balcony, barking dogs outside balcony, no microwave in room, lousy service @ Peter B's.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Ben Lomond, CA
July 8, 2015
Couple
9.0
The toilet flush can be heard in Oregon.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Petaluma, CA
July 7, 2015
Couple
9.0
Great location, right at Old Fisherman's Wharf and steps from downtown. Balcony overlooked plaza with a sea view. Spacious room, with wonderful bookcases filled with books. Loved the warm chocolate chip cookie when checking in.
Didn't explain there was general hotel problem when we complained of no hot water. Told to keep running it which was wasteful, and didn't help. Better to admit problem. Screen door came off hinges and was not fixed when they said it would be.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from New York, NY
July 7, 2015
Couple
7.0
Good location
No AC in the room!Concierge wasn't helpfulPool was too crowded and noisy
Reviews of Portola Hotel & Spa At Monterey Bay
(1 - 10 of 107 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Portola Hotel & Spa At Monterey Bay
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.