Polynesian Plaza

Polynesian Plaza

Polynesian Plaza Image
2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 5.2/10
2131 Kalakaua Avenue
Honolulu, HI 96817

Hotel Guest Rating for Polynesian Plaza in Honolulu

See Most Popular hotels in Honolulu
Based on 14 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Polynesian Plaza
Overall Quality Score
user rating 5.2.0
5.2
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 5.1.0
5.1
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.5.0
7.5
Location of Hotel
user rating 5.9.0
5.9
Check Rates and Availability at the Polynesian Plaza
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Polynesian Plaza

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Mountain View, CA
August 20, 2015
Group Traveler
5.0
Location is great, in the heart of Waikiki.Room was comfortable and mostly clean.
No parking! Closest garage is expensive and is not always staffed.Common spaces could be cleaner.
Solo Traveler
Dawn from Hilo, HI
July 21, 2015
Solo Traveler
1.0
I didn't like anything about it. The worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Would never recommend this hotel to anyone! !!
Location was horrible, room was horrible, no phone in room, it was dirty, old. ....just horrible. .
Christina from Spanaway, WA
May 26, 2015
10.0
It had a mini kitchen
No parking, humming noise all night
Solo Traveler
Flora from Portland, OR
May 6, 2015
Solo Traveler
2.0
Staff are friendly
Dilapidated building in general. Threadbare carpets. Looks like it was last upgraded in the sixties or seventies at the very latest. I understand why they keep renting out the rooms but I don't know how they can do this with pride.
Senior Travelers
Robert from Surrey, Canada
February 26, 2015
Senior Travelers
3.0
Location, Pool, Staff
This hotel is not worth more than $--- Dollars per night , way over priced for what you getthey should be shot down as a Hotel, they are a dump.
Couple
Mark from Westborough, MA
December 29, 2014
Couple
1.0
This was a complete disappointment. This hotel is 1-star quality at best. The room was in horrible condition and the shower and faucet barely worked.

This is a 1-star hotel at best.

Group Traveler
Gretchen from Kenmore, WA
April 12, 2014
Group Traveler
10.0
The room was old and dumpy like us. Big, with lots of room to walk around. Nice eating table. Big dresser and huge bedside tables with great reading lamps. Cute funky old kitchenette. Working toilet and great water pressure.
The vertical blinds over the glass door was broken so we couldn't get the room dark, but we travel with sleep masks so that was okay. We were on the road side with loud construction all night but we had foam earplugs and pilot noise block headsets.

We arrived after a delayed flight at midnight and the main road door was locked. Luckily my friend had a cell phone and the man popped out quickly to sign us in. If you arrive late, the phone number is posted right there on the entrance wall so no worries there. We didn't notice it had a cute pool on the internet but we never had time to use it. It was four blocks to the beach so if you are walking you need to be wearing good footwear. I had Sperry deck shoes which was the perfect amount of cushion yet cool on the tootsies. We did not want to rent a car and there is NO PARKING FOR A RENTAL CAR. I used to live there so I wasn't interested in touring around, but if you are, stay at a hotel with a parking lot. VERY great location to hop on a bus out to Hanauma Bay. One block to bus stop and #19 takes you right there for $2.50. Excellent location for shopping and people watching. The Hard Rock cafe is next door and three other little cafes are on the block. On the back of the hotel is a little health food cafe that was really good. Back exit of hotel to road is behind the pool by the triangle shaped building. If you go out front and walk south five blocks then left one, you'll be at King's Market! DO NOT MISS THIS if you want fresh fruit cut up in a little box. If you walk through the arch to the backside the fruit bowls drop from $4.00 to $3.00 and the pineapple is the freshest juiciest pineapple I have EVER had. (And I'm old) There was all kinds of hot food too and on the inner courtyard are a few tables and a darling bench. The tiny market has every fresh fruit and hot snack you could think of. While it is not a glamorous beach restaurant, I would still suggest it for fun people-watching with a huge variety of foods. The changing of the guard is around 6:00PM and it was cool. Like Buckingham palace with only two guards. They have been doing it there over 100 years since royalty was still living there. THIS hotel is PERFECT for people that are able to walk well. ...read more

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Ewa Beach, HI
July 26, 2013
Solo Traveler
1.0
Privacy
The coffee you had to pay for, had to pay 3 dollars to make a copy of a document, and the front desk employees were rude and not hospitable at all.

An F

Couple
Lindsey from Honolulu, HI
July 14, 2013
Couple
8.0
The staff were very friendly and attentive. The room was huge! Very clean and comfortable. The cost was reasonable. Will definitely stay here again.
The parking was two blocks away and there isnt much choice for parking any closer besides metered. I had a ticket on my car because I didnt wake up early enough to put more quarters in:(

Excellent service and great price. Not the most convenient location, although it was walking distance to the beach and everything that waikiki has to offer,

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Brazil, IN
May 27, 2013
Solo Traveler
1.0
It was cheap.
I tried to check in at 1am (this hotel boasts a 24 hour check in). There to answer when I called ahead twice and when I arrived the lobby was closed. I had to get another room for the night but this hotel refused to give me a refund.

This hotel is gross and scammy. Do not stay here!

Reviews of Polynesian Plaza
(1 - 10 of 10 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Polynesian Plaza
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.