Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel

Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel in San Diego

Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel

Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel Image
4 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.4/10
1047 5Th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Guest Rating for Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel in San Diego

See Most Popular hotels in San Diego
Based on 167 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.4.0
7.4
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.3.0
8.3
Location of Hotel
user rating 7.7.0
7.7
Hotel Dining
user rating 7.7.0
7.7
Check Rates and Availability at the Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Hemet, CA
August 11, 2014
Couple
10.0
The mattress and pillows! The pillows were quite fluffy so I thought I would have a hard time sleeping on them, but they were great! I would like to know where you bought them so I could get some for my bedroom. The room/bathroom were so nice.

I loved the close proximity to everything. Free valet was also very nice. The attendants were every nice and attentive! :) When asked what was the purpose of our visit; I told them to celebrate my husband's birthday we were given an upgrade. That was a pleasant surprise.

Couple
Millie from Yorba Linda, CA
August 8, 2014
Couple
8.0
I really liked the friendly staff and the wine hour!
The room was small & the furniture felt too big for the space it occupied
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Las Vegas, NV
August 7, 2014
Couple
9.0
Awesome, modern interior design. They really designed this place for couples with great, high-quality modern furniture, comfy bed, very chic bathroom (especially shower and sink).
The view from our room was of the parking garage across the street - not too scenic for San Diego. Probably would not be very nice for families with kids - the bathroom doors are not exactly sealed (the slide shut, leaving a gap).

The public restroom has hidden doors for the stalls - hard to find but a neat feature. The hotel is on the North edge of the Gaslamp, so it was a ten minute walk to everything, including Petco Park and all of the Gaslamp. We also were able to walk to Seaport Village and the U.S.S. Midway within about 20 minutes. Very close to the bus line and the Rail lines. Lots and lots and lots of food options in and around the Gaslamp district. With all of the above, we had no need to rent a car, which would have cost a bit to valet or else overnight in the parking garage (about $20 a day). ...read more

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from North Las Vegas, NV
August 5, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
8.0
excellent staff from the time you arrive until the time you leave. extremely attentive to your needs. this is what we have come to expect from kimpton properties. the palomar definitely delivered with service.
the location leaves a lot to be desired. yes, they are close to gas lamp however the pan handlers literally outside the hotel really detracted from the hotel. we did not feel safe walking to and from the hotel after sunset.

the room, we felt, was extremely small. beautiful, but small. we had our infant child with us and after setting up the crib there was no room left to move around. very disappointed in the size of the room.

Couple
Jerry from Palm Desert, CA
August 4, 2014
Couple
4.0
There is no mention that parking is a separate company and that your vehicle will be parked 3 blocks away and that you will be charged 39.95 a day. The staff was slow with room service orders even after waiting when no one answered on the initial call.
this hotel was obviously a remodeled old hotel that had incredibly small rooms that were deceiving when compared to their online pictures. paint peeling on the ceiling, wood floors scratched up, and this was represented as a 4 star hotel--- its maybe 3==
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Beverly Hills, CA
July 29, 2014
Business Traveler
10.0
modern and clean. comfortable bed. room service was quick even on a very busy weekend. great valet service and concierge. free wifi. although options were limited, the food was delicious.
room service menu a bit limited. some of the front desk staff not knowledgeable when asked for directions to another nearby hotel. Rooms are small, especially for the price.

Second stay in as many years, both times during comic con which is extremely busy. Despite a sold out weekend with ALOT of activity, both the quality of the property and the service were great. Would stay there again any time.

Couple
Kristin from San Marcos, CA
July 15, 2014
Couple
10.0
The room was nice and modern, clean and the staff was accommodating.
I didn't like that on a Saturday night (not sure about other nights) the pool had a $20/person cover to go to the 21+ pool party. We just wanted to go for a dip for an hour but had to walk to Hotel Solamar's (10 blocks or so).

It is a pet friendly hotel and a dog across the hall was helping/crying. I called the front desk and they said they "took care of it". I don't know what that meant but when we returned from dinner the dog was quiet. Aside from that the hotel was very nice.

Couple
Steven from El Centro, CA
July 7, 2014
Couple
10.0
The staff was awesome! They really pamper you here! We loved it!
Nothing

The location was excellent, the staff was very friendly and helpful. They really pamper you here! At first we thought this hotle would be noisey because of the location, but it was not at all. It was super quite. Whoever designed this hotel did an awesome job!

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Spring Valley, CA
July 2, 2014
Couple
1.0
Location
The room was so small, bathroom door didn't give us enough privacy, tiny room for $$$, it was like being punished. I'm a local and has been staying downtown trying out hotels during weekends and this is the worst hotel I've been to, def not a 3star.
Couple
Lori from Riverside, CA
July 1, 2014
Couple
9.0
Great restaurant. (Saltbox) Room was clean and attractive. Good Gaslamp location. Valet service very quick.
Sliding bathroom door. Overhead shower makes it very difficult to keep one's hair dry. The need to request a hair dryer. Could not get a 30 minute extension on check out.
Reviews of Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel
(1 - 10 of 93 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Palomar San Diego, A Kimpton Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg