Hotels in Tybee Island

Ocean Plaza Beach Resort

Ocean Plaza Beach Resort

Ocean Plaza Beach Resort Image
2 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.9/10
1401 Strand Avenue
Tybee Island, GA 31328

Hotel Guest Rating for Ocean Plaza Beach Resort in Tybee Island

# 1 of 17 hotels in Tybee Island
Based on 204 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Ocean Plaza Beach Resort
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.9.0
6.9
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 6.9.0
6.9
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.3.0
7.3
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.8.0
8.8
Hotel Dining
user rating 6.6.0
6.6
Check Rates and Availability at the Ocean Plaza Beach Resort
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Ocean Plaza Beach Resort

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Christopher from Dd, GA
April 5, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
1.0
The proximity to the pier was the only thing good about this place.
We ended up not staying here and requested a refund after seeing the room. Deplorable condition of the room in need of serious remodel. Top of matteress was 12" off floor. Stains on walls and carpet, peeling paint, cramped. Better conditions camping!

This is more of a motel than hotel and should receive a 1/2 star rating strictly based on its location. I've stayed in 2 star hotels that were luxury resorts compared to this. No where near 2 1/2 stars!

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Carnesville, GA
November 28, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
6.0
It was cheap
The room smelled like a sweatty gym, rooms need to be updated, the prices for offseason were too high, this is more of aXXX a night place for offseason.

Great staff, very nice people. The room smelled like a sweatty gym when we walked in...kind of like a deep mustiness. Rust at the bottoms of the metal doorframes. The tub needed to be viciously cleaned or swapped out due to age. To our dismay, we were roomed on the same floor as a young wedding party..drunks at 0300 am were not fun, but the staff sent security to handle them but that didn't keep them all the way quiet. Overall the best thing about the one night was the staff...I really believe this was way overpriced for one night offseason...not quite roach motel, but not far from it either. ...read more

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Americus, GA
November 14, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
5.0
It's location is right on the beach.
The bathroom looked dirty along with the room. The tv cable kept going out throughout the night. The glass door isn't shut or lock properly.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Cesar from Covington, GA
October 4, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
8.0
Location
Parking, when you come back late at night we have to ask front desk to help us to find a parking place, she moved her car to free one space for us which was nice.

I like the hotel and would be back for sure.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Norman from Roswell, GA
September 11, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
9.0

The staff were great. We arrived, checked in and left the parking lights on. The next morning when retrieving beach toys the car's battery was dead. Two maintenance and security guy took the time to jump the car despite my parking spot in the far corner and with little access. The kids had fun with the quick walk to the dunes and I was able to go back to the room for forgotten items easily because of the close location to the beach. ...read more

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Zebulon, GA
July 29, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
On the beach
No microwave in the room, needed more wash clothes.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Robin from Forest Park, GA
July 29, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
Professional Staff

After reading some of the reviews on this Hotel, I was reluctant to book. But with all the hotels fulfilling up so quickly, I reacted and did so. We arrived early and were greeted by a professional and friendly staff...a special shout out to John at the front desk for going above and beyond helpfulness. He gave us a parking pass and told us exactly where to go. The rooms were fine and cool. We had the pool view which was fine. The beach was within walking distance. The hotel completely served it's purpose, there were no surprises at check out and we had a wonderful time. I recommend the hotel and will be booking with them again on our next trip to tybee island. ...read more

Family Traveling with Young Children
Sherry from Metter, GA
July 24, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
4.0
The bath toilet would not flush. The TV did not work Did not have another room to put us in. The front desk told me they would give us a discount on check out but did not because I book a room through y'all!! I called yall 2 times and every time call back

0

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Powder Springs, GA
July 20, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
1.0
It was awful.
Filthy. Not cleaned.

Horribly disappointing.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Rising Fawn, GA
July 20, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
5.0
The location was great. Beautiful beach and close to shops and a few restaurants. Savannah is only 20 minutes away so that was convenient.
They charged $25 per night for a roll away bed. A charge that I did not expect. The room wasn't cleaned one of the days we were there. We ddidn't have enough towels. The pool was dirty and filled with bugs.

I would not recommend staying at this hotel. Not worth the money especially with all of the extra fees. This hotel should have been about 45-50 dollars less per night.

Reviews of Ocean Plaza Beach Resort
(1 - 10 of 22 family with young children reviews)
See all 122 reviews by date
Check Rates and Availability at the Ocean Plaza Beach Resort
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg