Hotels in Tybee Island

Ocean Plaza Beach Resort

Ocean Plaza Beach Resort

Ocean Plaza Beach Resort Image
2 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.9/10
1401 Strand Avenue
Tybee Island, GA 31328

Hotel Guest Rating for Ocean Plaza Beach Resort in Tybee Island

# 1 of 18 hotels in Tybee Island
Based on 204 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Ocean Plaza Beach Resort
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.9.0
6.9
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 6.9.0
6.9
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.3.0
7.3
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.8.0
8.8
Hotel Dining
user rating 6.6.0
6.6
Check Rates and Availability at the Ocean Plaza Beach Resort
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Ocean Plaza Beach Resort

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Nancy from Cedar Rapids, IA
April 8, 2014
Couple
5.0
Nothing except that it was on Tybee Island.
Paid
--- for an Oceanside room. There is a huge parking lot between the hotel and the beach, so we were looking at a parking lot.

Advertised as the only hotel on the ocean - not true. DeSota is waterfront - others as well. Furniture was thread bare, TV was old and the picture was fuzzy. Drunk people around the hotel, public parking onsite with lots of teens hanging out in.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Christopher from Dd, GA
April 5, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
1.0
The proximity to the pier was the only thing good about this place.
We ended up not staying here and requested a refund after seeing the room. Deplorable condition of the room in need of serious remodel. Top of matteress was 12" off floor. Stains on walls and carpet, peeling paint, cramped. Better conditions camping!

This is more of a motel than hotel and should receive a 1/2 star rating strictly based on its location. I've stayed in 2 star hotels that were luxury resorts compared to this. No where near 2 1/2 stars!

Couple
Nicole from Asheville, NC
April 4, 2014
Couple
6.0
The view only, although the parking lot between the hotel and the beach takes away from that somewhat.
It is extremely dated. The whole place should be remodeled. They advertise free internet but we were never able to connect to it.

When we checked in I asked for an oceanfront room. We got a parking lot side room. We did get to trade to an ocean front room, however, after there was a toenail in a chair in our first room. Yuck!

Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Titusville, FL
March 31, 2014
Group Traveler
10.0
Walk to beach Quick drive into Savannah Near places to eat and drink
Solo Traveler
Tex from Beaumont, TX
March 10, 2014
Solo Traveler
10.0
The location is excellent and the staff is very hospitable and helpful!
The rooms are a little worn and need to be updated.

I always stay at this hotel when I am on Tybee Island and they always do a great job and I highly recommend it for visitors!

Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Lancaster, PA
February 19, 2014
Group Traveler
8.0
Staff friendly and great location. Daily housekeeping excellent with plenty of towels. Nice breakfast included.
A bit run down. Sliding door very difficult to open.
Couple
Andrew from Warner Robins, GA
January 22, 2014
Couple
8.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Laura from Danville, GA
January 5, 2014
Couple
6.0
the bar
needs some updating.

good location. breakfast good.

Senior Travelers
Haijing from Kennesaw, GA
December 10, 2013
Senior Travelers
10.0
GOOD SERVICE; GOOD BREAKFAST;
NONE

IT'S A GOOD PLACE TO STAY. THE PRICE IS REASONABLE.I WILL GO BACK.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Carnesville, GA
November 28, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
6.0
It was cheap
The room smelled like a sweatty gym, rooms need to be updated, the prices for offseason were too high, this is more of aXXX a night place for offseason.

Great staff, very nice people. The room smelled like a sweatty gym when we walked in...kind of like a deep mustiness. Rust at the bottoms of the metal doorframes. The tub needed to be viciously cleaned or swapped out due to age. To our dismay, we were roomed on the same floor as a young wedding party..drunks at 0300 am were not fun, but the staff sent security to handle them but that didn't keep them all the way quiet. Overall the best thing about the one night was the staff...I really believe this was way overpriced for one night offseason...not quite roach motel, but not far from it either. ...read more

Reviews of Ocean Plaza Beach Resort
(1 - 10 of 122 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Ocean Plaza Beach Resort
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg