Newbury Guest House

Newbury Guest House in Boston

Newbury Guest House

Newbury Guest House Image
2 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.9/10
261 Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02116

Hotel Guest Rating for Newbury Guest House in Boston

# 25 of 101 hotels in Boston
Based on 21 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Newbury Guest House
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 9.0.0
9.0
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.6.0
9.6
Hotel Dining
user rating 7.6.0
7.6
Check Rates and Availability at the Newbury Guest House
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Newbury Guest House

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
John from Amston, CT
August 19, 2014
Couple
9.0
The location of the hotel was perfect for our visit.
No.

The room was very nice and bed was comfortable. The hotel location is idealfor our weekend plans. We are looking forward to our next stay at the hotel.

Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Hoosick Falls, NY
August 15, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
10.0
convenient location, tasteful decor, comfortable bed and pillows, good size room, parking in the rear (reasonable fee), good breakfast (included), excellent seafood lunch (not included), pleasant staff
Senior Travelers
Michelle from Falmouth, ME
April 25, 2014
Senior Travelers
10.0
Small with a European feel. Personal,friendly assistance of the front desk staff was above and beyond our expectations. Our room was spotless with lovely amenities. The location and ease of reserved parking in the alley was a big plus. Will visit again!
NOTHING!

I took my mom to Boston for an overnight birthday treat. It couldn't have been a more perfect choice. Because there are only 32 guest rooms, it seemed everyone at the front desk knew the needs of each guest. We received much more personal assistance than we would have in a larger chain hotel. The room was cheery, elegant in a manner befitting of these historic brownstones. The breakfast buffet was well maintained, fresh and very well presented in the cozy European style restaurant. I didn't bring my laptop and was glad to have access to a computer in the public guest area as well as the ease of printing tickets, etc. as needed. When it rained we were offered an extra umbrella. Returning after a long day, feeling wet and windblown, we were encouraged to sit and relax in the lounge, have coffee or tea along with a complimentary snack of fine cheeses. And, that was AFTER we had checked out! We drove back to Maine feeling we had discovered a well kept secret on Newbury Street. I know next time I want to meet my friends for a weekend in Boston, this will be our home away from home. ...read more

Family Traveling with Teens
Penny from Santa Ana, CA
April 11, 2013
Family Traveling with Teens
9.0
We liked seeing our favorite Impressionist paintings (prints of...) on the wall and the creperie for breakfast!
The water fixture in the shower was terrible and the shower drain was clogged.

It was nice and homey, located in a nice area by shops and such. We really liked the breakfast buffet. Bed was comfortable and plenty of clean towels.

Business Traveler
Sarah from Ithaca, NY
February 21, 2013
Business Traveler
10.0
Great location for my conference in Hynes Convention Center, close to the T.

Nice breakfast included in room rate, free wifi, lovely rooms, comfy bed. I very much enjoyed my stay. I had a room over Newbury street, so it was a little noisy at night, but I enjoyed the buzz of Boston. And the huge windows let in a flood of sunlight good for relaxing in.

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Ithaca, NY
February 20, 2013
Business Traveler
9.0
Proximity to the Conference Center

Hotel is close to Conference Center, many restaurants of varying price options nearby, close to T stop. Rooms are decent size. Because it's converted townhouses the hotel has a great personality. It's not a generic cookie cutter design.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Peter from Toronto, Canada
August 8, 2012
Family Traveling with Young Children
5.0
Location
The night staff's ability and/or willingness to fix problems.

The night front desk staff has less than acceptable customer service skills or interest and made me want to leave right away.

Business Traveler
James from Urbana, IL
March 5, 2012
Business Traveler
9.0
Excellent staff service, complimentary breakfast, and a clean, comfortable room.
Elevator is a bit slow.

A renovated rowhouse, the Newbury Guest House is a clean and pretty-looking hotel next to the Boston Public Garden, Boston Common, and Fenway Park. The staff is courteous and their service is excellent. A restaurant attached to the hotel serves a complimentary breakfast for a few hours in the morning, which is decent. The internet connections provided by the hotel are a bit spotty, but serviceable for those who don't need to be on-line constantly. Rooms are comfortable, clean, and up-to-date. A very nice hotel indeed; I'd stay again if I ever needed to return to Boston. ...read more

Couple
Cindy from Grapeland, TX
July 22, 2011
Couple
9.0
Great attractions within walking distance.
Security problems.

Nice, upscale property with numerous attractions within walking distance.

Couple
Kevin from Burlington, VT
March 31, 2011
Couple
8.0
Beautiful brownstone in a great location. Modern, well-appointed rooms.
While free wi-fi was "available" it never seemed to connect properly. Seemed to be a common problem.
Reviews of Newbury Guest House
(1 - 10 of 10 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Newbury Guest House
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg