Mount Royal Hotel

Mount Royal Hotel

Mount Royal Hotel Image
3 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.9/10
138 Banff Avenue
Banff, AB T1L 1A7

Hotel Guest Rating for Mount Royal Hotel in Banff

# 16 of 39 hotels in Banff
Based on 25 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Mount Royal Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.9.0
6.9
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.0.0
7.0
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.4.0
7.4
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.3.0
9.3
Hotel Dining
user rating 7.0.0
7.0
Check Rates and Availability at the Mount Royal Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Mount Royal Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Sort by: All Travelers | Business Traveler(2) | Traveling as Couple(8)
Couple
Dennis from De Winton, Canada
April 12, 2016
Couple
1.0
Location OK. Parking lot seems like an oversight, not even paved.
Very noisy throughout the night. Room excessively warm, however when we opened the window we couldn't sleep because of constant talking outside at the rear of the hotel. Complained to front desk, nothing done.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Calgary, Canada
November 3, 2015
Couple
8.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Medicine Hat, Canada
July 7, 2015
Couple
8.0
Great room for great price
The check in was late so we waited a long time. But was good
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Shakopee, MN
October 6, 2014
Couple
7.0
Location was close to shops and restaurants.
Common areas were outdated, if anyone was in the hallway we could hear everything they said. It was just okay all around. The hot tub was too hot!

We had to get new keys twice as we kept getting locked out which was frustrating! Not sure if it was the housekeepers or front desk that caused it but it was a pain.

Couple
Co from Calgary, Canada
August 20, 2014
Couple
1.0

First time at this hotel, have been other brewster properties in banff and they were ok. This experience by far is the worse I have had at any hotel. We got there early so we asked if we could be notified if the room is available earlier, we were never notified even though they had told us that there was a good chance that the room could be available earlier (I would of just appreciated if it was not possible that we were just told that, nothing worse then over promise under deliver). We finally got in the room and wow I have never seen a room that was this dirty, there were marks all over the carpet.......a crack in the wall of the tub (right by the shower head), on top of that there was a wet spot on the carpet in front of the washroom door (about 1 feet by 1 feet). So I went downstairs to talk front desk, she looked at me like I was just complaining about something that wasnt that big of a deal. She then said that she would call maintenance to have a look at it, not sure if maintenance looked at it but the wet spot got worse when we got back in the room.....she also did not follow up and let us know what was going on. I totally understand the price for this hotel was very good, and we should not be complaining. The fact is I have never wrote a review like this, but I strongly feel that this experience has to be shared as I would not like anyone else to go through this. I would never go back to Mount Royal Hotel, because I truly believe as a customer I was not valued and that really angers. If there was a option to do 0 starts I would for this hotel. ...read more

Business Traveler
Jean from Innisfail, Canada
June 1, 2014
Business Traveler
The ideal location, and the pleasant staff.
No microwave! And there were broken electric outlets and insufficient toilet paper upon arrival.

It is a hotel located right in the downtown core of Banff. At night, it was admittedly noisy from rousy partiers at 2 a.m., but for the most part, the location wasn't too noisy from the city activity.

Couple
William from Brighton, Australia
May 26, 2014
Couple
6.0
Location was fine, close to all amenities, restaurants , parks etc Staff we're pleasant and very helpful. Parking was on the premises was convenient and helpful.
The carpet both in the corridors and the room were old and dirty (stained grubby). The room layout was cramped and made unpacking anything a real chore. I wouldn't chose to stay there again nor to recommend it

The hotel would benefit from a good refurb and general clean.

Business Traveler
Ian from Windsor, Canada
November 22, 2013
Business Traveler
5.0
Location
It seems like every time I book a place through Priceline they always give me the most inconvenient room in the place. It was like a treasure hunt to get there from the lobby. Except no treasure, just a beat up section of the hotel.
Couple
Carl from Whitehorse, Canada
July 18, 2013
Couple
8.0
central location
small elevator, older hotel

The hotel was quiet the bed was comfortable coffee pot in room and internet.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Calgary, Canada
June 4, 2013
Couple
5.0
Very disappointing how much this hotel has changed over the years.
That only some of the rooms were renovated and we would not be in the actual Mount Royal!
Reviews of Mount Royal Hotel
(1 - 10 of 10 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Mount Royal Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.