Hotels in Spokane

The Montvale Hotel

The Montvale Hotel

The Montvale Hotel Image
3 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.3/10
1005 West 1St Avenue
Spokane, WA 99201

Hotel Guest Rating for The Montvale Hotel in Spokane

# 20 of 42 hotels in Spokane
Based on 100 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Montvale Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.3.0
6.3
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.0.0
7.0
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.2.0
7.2
Location of Hotel
user rating 7.0.0
7.0
Hotel Dining
user rating 7.8.0
7.8
Check Rates and Availability at the The Montvale Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Montvale Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Nancy from Mill Creek, WA
April 3, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
2.0
The potential, historical bldg.
Room was not clean, hair on sheets and shower. Broken chair at desk.....Staff not helpful.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Nelson, Canada
March 26, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
3.0
The location
Walls paper thin, 21" TV, no parking, you could smell the bleach they used to wash the sheets.

When we arrived, we were told there was no parking which wasn't convenient with two young kids. Our room only consisted of one queen size bed for three people! I asked for another room but they were unable to accommodate us! The receptionist didn't even look. Probably the worse sleep I ever had! My poor 11yr old son reacted to bleach they used for washing the sheets! You could smell the bleach! I guess on the upside you know the sheets are clean! I would never stay there again and to be honest I think I got ripped off with the cost of the hotel that Priceline gave me! I woman I talked to paid $10 less per night! ...read more

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from West Richland, WA
March 18, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
4.0
Hotel was 'vintage charming'
Hotel and rooms are not well-maintained. Windows are completely NOT sound-proof or insulated; trains rumbled by throughout night and made sleep impossible. Thread-bare carpets/flooring throughout establishment; sub-par repairs visible everywhere.

Priceline needs to seriously overhaul it's star-rating system- there is no one who would qualify this hotel as a 3 1/2 star quality establishment. This hotel is a 2 1/2 star level at best.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Yakima, WA
March 10, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
9.0
Wonderful location.
TV reception was weak.

Older, remodeled, classy.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Kalispell, MT
February 24, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
2.0
Fun old building.
Terrible location...NO parking...had to park on the street with homeless people all around (worried about breakins)...had to set the alarm to feed the meter so wouldn't get a ticket.

Also, we booked two rooms and were put on separate floors...very inconvenient. Very poor meeting room facility. Coffee was provided in lobby but the thermos was empty. Had a drunk patron talking with my kids most of the night...besides all that, it was very forgettable.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Grangeville, ID
January 3, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
8.0
Charming old character - gorgeous lobby. Room was large and clean. Very comfortable furnishings.
Not a great location for parking - this is not the best neighborhood to rely on on-street parking safety. Also there was a great deal of road noise.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Crescent Valley, Canada
December 19, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
2.0
It is obvious that this hotel was at one time very nice and perhaps well run. Nice layout and common space on the second floor.
We felt that not one detail was covered or cared about. Dirty Kleenex and half empty coke bottles under the bed.Loud music from the bar downstairs until 1.No clock or cd player as advertised.No coffee or tea in morning, constant complaints from guests.

This hotel currently gives a 1 star experience and NOTHING more. The historic value and layout give merit, but there are many other options in Spokane that give far more value for the money. This hotel apparently went bankrupt this summer, and it shows in every way. We felt truly sorry for the women at the front desk having to deal with everyone's complaints and issues. They, I will say were more professional than many may have been with the constant complaints coming from guests. We stayed in room 201, which is apparently right above a bar with live music until the wee hours of the night which was so loud it may as well have been in our room. Many of the amenities advertised were not supplied - not even a clock - NOT EVEN A CLOCK! When I went down to enquire the woman at the desk claimed they got rid of them because they were "out of date". Out of date? Doesn't the date ultimately depend on time? The topper was bot the stains on the wall, and the dirty Kleenex and soda bottles under the beds. THERE IS NO WAY PRICELINE SHOULD CONTINUE TO USE THIS HOTEL. ...read more

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Moses Lake, WA
December 18, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
9.0
Historic building with high ceilings and beautiful antiques throughout. Room was small but very adequate.
Did not like the amount of street noise/train tracks close by, but I brought a fan and ear plugs that helped drown out the noise and I slept great. I wish there was an informative handout that gave visitors the history of such a great historic building.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Colville, WA
October 17, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
2.0
I believe this hotel has alot of potential.
My six year old son is allergic to dust mites he has not had a break out since he was a baby and he had bumps all over him while we rated in this hotel! There was dust everywhere like the room we stayed had not been cleaned in a long time.

The room had not been cleaned in a long time. Also the noise level by this hotel is insane. There was a whole bunch of guys having a party in the commen room me and my son had to walk by them to get to our room. I had to complain around 12am about loud music being played in the room above our room! This was a disturbing stay since my son needed to be in surgey in the morning it was a big let down because the spot the hotel was in was convenient to where we needed to be in the morning! We will not be staying here again! ...read more

Family Traveling with Young Children
Sher from Edmonton, Canada
July 15, 2012
Family Traveling with Young Children
7.0

We stay at this hotel couple years ago and had great experience, that's why I booked it again this time. But I have to said that the service went down hill. When I booked it, it indicated that the hotel provide free parking, free breakfast and Internet. Start with the parking! When we check-in, I asked the lady where should we park the car for the free parking after showing her my booking confirmation with the freebie, she told me that we can park at the meter around the block as it is free in the evening till 8 am. That is kind of tricky! Then we had a room on the third floor where the Internet doesn't really work due to weak reception. And for the breakfast! Even I show her the confirmation, she told me that is not included. Thankfully, another lady who was off duty but happened to drop by to visit was able to help. She took a look of my confirmation and told me that they can provide us $6 voucher/person to the restaurant Scout which has wonderful breakfast and great service! I wish I can said that I am not going to let one staff ruin my experience at this hotel, but one of the cups in our room was dirty and one of the towels has black stuff on it. As much as I love this little charming historical hotel, I guess I will try other place next time!
...read more

Reviews of The Montvale Hotel
(1 - 10 of 11 family with young children reviews)
See all 80 reviews by date
Check Rates and Availability at the The Montvale Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg