Hotels in Spokane

The Montvale Hotel

The Montvale Hotel

The Montvale Hotel Image
3 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.3/10
1005 West 1St Avenue
Spokane, WA 99201

Hotel Guest Rating for The Montvale Hotel in Spokane

# 20 of 42 hotels in Spokane
Based on 100 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Montvale Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.3.0
6.3
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.0.0
7.0
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.2.0
7.2
Location of Hotel
user rating 7.0.0
7.0
Hotel Dining
user rating 7.8.0
7.8
Check Rates and Availability at the The Montvale Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Montvale Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Summerland, Canada
April 9, 2014
Couple
9.0
An older building so it had a lot of character. High ceiling in the room. Nice spacious bathroom. Good internet in the room.
The train tracks were constantly active. Not the best neighbourhood at night. No parking.

A light sleeper might have trouble at this hotel, since it is very close to the noisy train tracks. We enjoyed our stay here though. It's right downtown and easy to walk anywhere. There are public parking lots across the street, and lots of street parking. There isn't coffee in the room, but they have a coffee maker on the second floor for everyone's use. The building itself has a lot of character. We would stay here again. If you get a deal and aren't picky about a slightly sketchy area, it's definitely worth it. ...read more

Couple
Kathy from Nelson, Canada
April 1, 2014
Couple
9.0
Nice, clean decor. Modern update rooms which were clean & spacious. Beds are super comfortable.
Parking can be a bit of an issue. Ok if you are able to park & walk a few blocks. Can't leave car in nearby parking spots over nite as in entertainment area.

Enjoyed the restaurant & lounge that were in the hotel.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Portland, OR
March 26, 2014
Couple
8.0
We like the fact that we could walk to our destination and to other places such as restaurants and theaters.
The parking was unsecured and on an alleyway.
Couple
Gordon from Salmo, Canada
February 19, 2014
Couple
6.0
The character and appeal.
The bed was terrible. The train running by nearby was noisy.

Don't think we would stay at this motel again.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Brier, WA
February 18, 2014
Couple
2.0
Location and the bed
Yes, you could hear EVERYTHING happening in the next rooms
Couple
Gordon from Castlegar, Canada
February 13, 2014
Couple
3.0
The staff. The bathroom was nice.
The hotel is old and dingy. Desparately needs work. The lobby was freezing due to work being done on the fireplace. Very noisy. Hard to get sleep. No coffee in the rooms. Had to share a facecloth and hand towel. Carpet not vacuumed and dirty.

It felt creepy to me. Would not want to stay there ever again. We are considering dropping the use of Pricleine because we don't want to end up there again. Sorry. The hotel should be rated a 2.5 or less.

Couple
Sandra from Sandpoint, ID
February 9, 2014
Couple
7.0

After reading how noisy this hotel could be, we requested a quiet room and got it. Rooms at the back face the railroad tracks and can be noisy. Unfortunately, the fireplace in the tiny lobby is not working in this frigid weather. Chilly. The room was fine and the bed comfortable.

Couple
Richard from Slocan Park, Canada
February 4, 2014
Couple
5.0
Convenient location on edge of downtown. Historic structure and ambiance. Free wifi in room. Has character. Room faced street but street was quiet. Generally enjoyed the stay.
Drafty windows. Having to park in a public commercial lot. Mediocre coffee. No counter tops in bathroom. Not sound proof. I would not have chosen this hotel if I knew its identity. Am reconsidering using the blind name your price method in the future
Couple
Mark from Powell River, Canada
January 21, 2014
Couple
9.0
The character! Wow its like a step back in time in a very good way. Just beautiful and the staff was very nice!
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Nelson, Canada
January 16, 2014
Couple
7.0
The best thing is that the hotel is smack dab in the middle of the theatre district and close to plenty of good restaurants.
The bad thing is there is a train that runs behind the hotel at night and is somewhat loud,however, closing the window helped. Secondly, you are at the mercy of parking on the street for free from 7:00pm until 8:00 am and 25 cents buys you 12 1/2 minutes

There is many parking lots near the hotel, but the hours are a little odd. 5:00 pm till 6:00 am= $5.00 and a buck an hour after. We opted for street parking and filled the parking meter. The hotel has adequet ,clean rooms,and a large bathroom, that could have used a counter or bench in some of the open space for your cosmetics or clothing or whatever. No hooks to hang clothes on. the hairblower ended up on the floor. They have good makeup mirrors and plenty of hot water. speaking o which,t he coffee urn in the second floor sitting room tasted much like water. come on people throw an extra spoonful of coffee in the pot. or give everyone their own coffee makers in their rooms like other hotels do at a 3 1/2 star level or even lower. They do have an elevator, and the beds are high and puffy with a down quilt.Mattress was too soft. We rolled into each other in the middle of the bed. The staff were lovely and wifi was iffy in room 215.The unfortunate part is that Priceline lumps this and the Ruby hotel in with the likes of the Sheraton and Hilton... not exactly. I preferred the Red Lion on the river to this as at least they have parking, however if you are there to see a theatre production , this is easily within walking distance to all of the theatres. For cleanliness and staff and location, I give it a 4, but for the rest, it is more like a 2.5. ...read more

Reviews of The Montvale Hotel
(1 - 10 of 35 traveling as couple reviews)
See all 80 reviews by date
Check Rates and Availability at the The Montvale Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg