Hotels in Sandusky

Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Water Park

Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Water Park

Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Water Park Image
3 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.9/10
5513 Milan Road
Sandusky, OH 44870

Hotel Guest Rating for Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Water Park in Sandusky

# 4 of 32 hotels in Sandusky
Based on 270 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Water Park
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.9.0
7.9
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.0.0
8.0
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.3.0
8.3
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.5.0
8.5
Hotel Dining
user rating 6.4.0
6.4
Check Rates and Availability at the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Water Park
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Water Park

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Blenheim, Canada
March 16, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
4.0
The hotel upgraded us at no charge.
They wanted to charge extra fees for using the pool/water slides even though we were snowed in, they asked for incidentals security deposit and I paid. Then at check out they said it was the nights charge. I had to argue to get the money back and call you
Family Traveling with Young Children
Kathleen from Farmington Hills, MI
March 9, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
7.0
The staff was friendly and courteous.
The water park closed earlier than I liked.
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Lagrange, IL
March 7, 2014
Business Traveler
4.0
I like the price for a three star hotel.
It was not a three star hotel. Maybe a two at best.
Patrick from Modesto, CA
February 18, 2014
10.0
the waterpark and the breakfast were wonderful. Also the TripAdvisor named Doc was a very friendly guy and very helpful.
Family Traveling with Teens
Greg from Marion, OH
February 4, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
10.0

The waterpark is smaller than the rivals in Sandusky but just as nice. We brought 3 14 year old boys and they had a lot of fun. The arcade is not even worth mentioning but they brought their Xbox to play after the park closed so it was ok. The food is way overpriced. It was also disappointing that the outside adults only hot tub was closed for maintenance. That was the only big negative we had, otherwise it's worth the money and we had a great time! ...read more

Solo Traveler
Donald from Columbus, OH
January 29, 2014
Solo Traveler
8.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Edward from Cleveland, OH
January 27, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
3.0
Really, the room itself was the best part of the stay. and one hotel staff member was really helpful.
We disliked everything, except for our room. The hotel seemed to be ran haphazardly. Quality does not seem to be a priority.

Breakfast was served on a fold-out table on paper plates with plasticware in a disorganized fashion. Unfinished alcoholic drinks from the night before were left out on the bar the following morning in the community dining area. The phone in our room did not work without being on speaker. Housekeeping knocked on our door, despite the "do not disturb" sign on the room door. The hotel staff called to tell us in the morning that we needed to check out of our room and check into another room for the second night; I had to refuse to move before they decided to let us stay in our original room. The front lobby was absolutely frigid; not to mention, the hallways were very cold as well. Basically, we were under the impression the hotel management was in over their heads. You can't run a hotel cheaply with uninformed/unqualified staff and expect continued business for very long. ...read more

Family Traveling with Young Children
Melissa from Dexter, MI
January 22, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
8.0
We loved the waterpark! It certainly is smaller than Kalahari, but there weren't the mobs of people and long lines for slides that you encounter at Kalahari. The room with the two sets of bunk beds separate from the other bedroom was fun for the kids!
The kids were hungry after the waterpark closed but none of the hotel's restaurants were open. We had to leave the hotel to get something to eat.

Breakfast is included! This was not in Priceline's hotel description of the included ammenities so it was quite a pleasant surprise!

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Gibsonia, PA
January 12, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
5.0
The theme of the hotel is nice. Decor in the rooms is just lovely. The breakfast itself was better than most free breakfasts @ hotels. They offer a buffet in hot pans & it was very well maintained by friendly cooks. Wolfgang Puck Coffee in rooms!!!!!!
1.The woman who checked us in was not very helpful, we were never told anything about the waterpark pass, so we just skipped it. 2.Cringe-worthy, hairs in the corner of our bathroom! EWWWWWW! Yuck! However, Everything else was SPOTLESS!!!

I think Maui Sands has potential, but we enjoy Castaway Bay so much that we were happy we didn't add the waterpark tickets @ Maui Sands for our 1 night.If they had a special that was less than Castaway Bay then we would certainly give it another try.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Lawrence from Roscoe, IL
January 7, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
5.0
The breakfast was very good. more than just a continentral breakfast. there was hot food.
The room bathroom could have been cleaner,the floor and bathtub had hair in it
Reviews of Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Water Park
(1 - 10 of 200 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Water Park
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg