Martha Washington, Chelsea Hotels

Martha Washington, Chelsea Hotels in New York City

Martha Washington, Chelsea Hotels

Martha Washington, Chelsea Hotels Image
4 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.7/10
29 East 29Th Street
New York, NY 10016

Hotel Guest Rating for Martha Washington, Chelsea Hotels in New York City

See Most Popular hotels in New York City
Based on 49 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Martha Washington, Chelsea Hotels
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.7.0
6.7
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.8.0
7.8
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.2.0
7.2
Location of Hotel
user rating 7.9.0
7.9
Hotel Dining
user rating 6.0.0
6.0
Check Rates and Availability at the Martha Washington, Chelsea Hotels
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Martha Washington, Chelsea Hotels

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Dallas, TX
November 21, 2014
Business Traveler
7.0
Great common areas, fantastic restaurant
Service staff screwed up my reservation and had the manager come try and oust me from my room

Great location very close to trains

Couple
Karen from Ottawa, Canada
November 11, 2014
Couple
9.0
Friendly, incredibly helpful staff. Location near attractions. The hotel's restaurant Marta was reasonably priced and had very tasty food.Loved the size of the bathroom and big shower instead of usual combo of crappy bathtub/shower. Comfy, comfy bed.
No coffee machines in the room. Also, nowhere to put suitcases except on bed. Which meant that our suitcase wheels stained the lovely white duvet cover! Some of those foldable racks would have been helpful.

Probably not a family hotel, had more of an adult vibe. The bar and restaurant were both very lively at night, so I suspect that asking for a higher floor might be good, vis a vis sound travelling through the floors, but the renovation is very recent and so sound insulation might have been taken into account.

Couple
James from Calais, ME
November 9, 2014
Couple
8.0
clean and great location, price not bad
They didn't need to stock our room with hundreds of dollars of food and drink that we didn't ask for. ( In hopes that a person might think it's free until realized that the snacks are very pricey and will be added to the bill ?
Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Roswell, GA
August 12, 2014
Group Traveler
1.0
Yes they were undergoing construction. I was not aware of this when I booked this hotel or I would have picked another hotel.
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Geneva, Switzerland
March 16, 2014
Business Traveler
5.0
Price, if I had to name something
Utterly charmless and mundane. Tiny room, no hotel info in room, no ability to call reception, motel-level toiletries.
Business Traveler
Jefferson from Vienna, VA
January 21, 2014
Business Traveler
7.0
Love the style/decorations in the rooms. Decent-sized room. Convenient location for me.
They are undergoing a major renovation of the lobby (Jan 2014), so there is essentially no public space and no lobby bar. This is frustrating foe me, since I liked their old bar/lobby space and was able to have informal meetings there.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Black Earth, WI
December 14, 2013
Solo Traveler
2.0
located close to where I needed to be.
Very small rooms, very, very small.

This is far from a 4 star hotel. The only thing that was 4 star was the price. I checked in, they gave me two twin beds, I am 6'5" so this will not work. I called the front desk and basically said "Are you crazy?" they changed me to a queen room. The room was the same size but with a bigger bed and no room for work and hardly any room for clothes in the closet. I rate this hotel at 3 stars, the bed was nothing special, the room was nothing special, no door man at the front door, cramped spaces, over priced. ...read more

Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Jacksonville, FL
November 2, 2013
Family Traveling with Teens
5.0
The staff was pretty helpful. The concierge didn't know a lot about the city. He was very friendly though.
I was not very impressed with the hotel. It was supposed to be a four star hotel but I would consider it 2.5-3 stars at best. It simply wasn't that nice.

The staff was friendly but the hotel wasn't that nice. I don't think this hotel is worth a four star rating nor the price.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Albrightsville, PA
October 17, 2013
Couple
7.0
Location, quiet
Parking validation, no bath, no cups & coffee

The hotel met our expections.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Toronto, Canada
October 16, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
5.0
I liked the location and the room was ok
Mainly I did not like the awful customer service we received when we arrived. The woman on the desk was absolutely unaware of how to give good customer service. When we asked for the manager this woman Amanda said she was it...Seriously?

This hotel was ok, not my taste in decor, more modern but that's ok. Hotel was clean and decent. It was the worst customer service of all time in New York and elsewhere. We overpaid since it was a holiday weekend and we got charged $30 to upgrade to a room with a queen bed????as if somehow this was better than we were supposed to have gotten anyhow. This awful clerk who said she was the manager wanted to charge us for a cot for our daughter but acted as she was doing a big service to knock that $25 charge off. Next we get assigned to a room where apparently they have a resident nutcase with all sorts of signs on the door demanding they keep out, that they've stolen money...it was unnerving. When we go to the desk and tell them about this...this gem of a manager says it is nothing for us to worry about, that they are aware of this person. Great! This "manager" sees a family with a young child coming to stay and sees fit to assign us to a squished corner room where we are charged for an upgrade and not only that we have to worry about what this "tenant" will do and we have to pass his/her door. Needless to say we were not very happy and went yet again to the desk and asked for a room change...which they finally did. This so called manager managed to put me off this hotel. I really don't know what the owners of the hotel are thinking putting someone like this as manager. In fairness to the rest of the staff...they were nice and friendly. I would welcome a reply by this person's boss because I think they need to know this manager of theirs is really going to put off guests. We are pretty easy going and it really takes a lot to get this offended. ...read more

Reviews of Martha Washington, Chelsea Hotels
(1 - 10 of 10 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Martha Washington, Chelsea Hotels
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg