Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane

Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane in Dublin

Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane

Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane Image
4 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.2/10
Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogersons Quay
Dublin 2

Hotel Guest Rating for Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane in Dublin

# 14 of 251 hotels in Dublin
Based on 19 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.2.0
7.2
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.5.0
8.5
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.4.0
7.4
Location of Hotel
user rating 6.1.0
6.1
Hotel Dining
user rating 6.2.0
6.2
Check Rates and Availability at the Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
James from The Woodlands, TX
July 11, 2014
Couple
10.0
The staff was very helpful and friendly.
It was about 15 minute walk from Temple Bar/Trinity area. We knew this when we booked and expected it. Luckily it wasn't raining for long on any of our walks and we grabbed a taxi the one day it was raining.

Watched a world cup match in the bar and the bar staff as well as all of the other hotel staff were wearing different world cup country shirts. Great idea.

Family Traveling with Teens
George from Toms River, NJ
June 23, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
10.0
Getting us a room with 2 beds, no problem
little far from major tourist attractions

Very nice, even though no AC.

Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Pittsburgh, PA
October 10, 2013
Family Traveling with Teens
2.0
The bathroom was nice. We has a small balcony which allowed air to flow in the unusual summer heat. Guests should know the hotel is modern but is NOT air conditions, in the event of a heatwave like the one we experienced during our stay,
Location is far from Dublin attractions and the hotel is not up to the standard of a 4 star premises. This was shocking.

The location was misleading in the pricline bidding process. It is farther than the 1/2 mile from the city centre advertised in the priceline info by any cacluation. This was NOT a city centre hotel. It is several blocks to a bus to go to the city centre, and with my bad knee the location required a 7-8 euro cab fare each time we wanted to go to town or even to dinner. It's a modern but soulless place to stay, unless you're attending the theatre across the street. All cab drivers cautioned us against walking in the surrounding neighborhood, which is rough and left behind in the redevelopment scheme when the Celtic real estate bubble burst. There are no traditional pubs or even independent restaurants in the vicinity, except for those in hotels. The lack of neighborhood or even city centre vibe makes this hotel feel like a manufactured, marooned nation-less experience rather than a welcoming and specifically Irish one. The lobby and elevator smelled of fried fish for two of the three days we were there, and the lobby is dour. Disappointing to say the least. In such an historic, architecturally and culturally alive capital city, this is a location and a hotel to be avoided. ...read more

Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Apo, AE
May 9, 2013
Group Traveler
3.0
Wonderfully priced breakfast! Vivienne is by far the best employee we had an encounter with.

When walking into the hotel it is a feeling of something very modern and sleek. The rooms are spacious but are missing a lot of the basic necessities of a four star hotel. First off, I have never stayed at a 3, 4, or 5 star hotel that does not have bathroom toiletries. Yes, there is a Dove Shampoo and Conditioner attached to the wall in the bathroom but they do not provide you with any soap. The hand soap is attached to the wall next to the sink and there was no way you can take it to the shower. I often stay in a hotel in a European country at least once a month and this is the first time I have ever encountered something like this. Also, I did not have very good encounters with the staff. Vivienne was amazing and she did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable, I wish I could say that the other employees did the same. ...read more

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Minneapolis, MN
April 22, 2013
Couple
9.0
Really nice hotel room and very friendly/helpful staff. Free WIFI.
The only real drawback was the location...it is a little ways from the center of the city. It's about a 10-15 minute walk or 5-6 Euro cab ride.

The hotel accommodations were outstanding. The only negative was that the hotel is a little ways from all the action. We just walked to the center of the city each day (about 10-15 minutes) and took a cab back to the hotel at night (about 5 Euros). Very nice hotel (with free WIFI). Recommended.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Brooklyn, NY
April 14, 2013
Couple
9.0
for a 4 star hotel, i would have expected a little bit nicer interiors, but the room was comfortable and staff helpful.
little far out if you're looking to walk to pubs, shops, but as far as hotel goes, we had a pleasant stay. staff should recommend guests add credit card at checkin to use vending services. guests should request a room w/a view as we had a parking lot.

a comfortable but basic stay. add a credit card at check-in to use vending services. request a room w/a view if possible. nice seaport/park just across the street behind the theater. a bit far from shopping, pubs, but a doable walk in nice weather.

Couple
Sam from Verdun, Canada
October 3, 2012
Couple
8.0
Friendly and efficient staff, let us check in a few hours earlier.
Lack of charm, didn't really reflect a 4 star .

Overall, a satisfactory stay. The positive points of this hotel include the very friendly and efficient staff, clean and comfortable rooms and the short distance walk (about a 10-15 minutes) to most of Dublin's main attractions. As well, they let us check in much earlier than the check in time which was a plus because we we arrived early in the morning and very tired after an overnight international flight. It lacked a little charm for a 4-star hotel but otherwise, perfect for a place to crash while visiting Dublin. ...read more

Couple
Jaime from Katy, TX
October 2, 2012
Couple
3.0
Staff was helpful and responsive.
Horribly uncomfortable beds, poor location, and no in-room WiFi. Unacceptable!

Maldron on Cardiff is decent, but definitely
not a four-star hotel. The staff is polite and friendly, and was the best part of the stay. The room was what I would expect from a cheaper hotel and the bed was extremely uncomfortable. The double bed in the room was hinged, as if the bottom could be folded up to meet the top and this joint squeaked at every tiny movement. The mattress was AWFUL, very thin and flat. Pillows were very flat and offered no support. There is
no WiFi in the rooms, only in the lobby -
very inconvenient for international travelers who may be relying on WiFi access for phones to keep in contact with friends and family via internet.
...read more

Solo Traveler
Kara from Mountain View, CA
November 17, 2011
Solo Traveler
7.0
It was very close to the Grand Canal Theater.
The staff was not helpful and there was nobody to help ask questions to.
Couple
Shanna from Plano, TX
November 2, 2011
Couple
8.0
Convenient access to transportation from airport
Was a little bit further from tourist activities than I would have liked

Hotel appeared very modern but some of the interior finishes appeared to have begun to show some wear. From website had very nice fitness facilities but was unable to use them as hotel suffered power loss during my stay. The power issue was outside the hotel's control and they handled it as well as possible.

Reviews of Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane
(1 - 10 of 10 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg