La Playa Carmel

La Playa Carmel

La Playa Carmel Image
3 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.0/10
Camino Real At Eighth Avenue
Carmel, CA 93921

Hotel Guest Rating for La Playa Carmel in Carmel

# 10 of 46 hotels in Carmel
Based on 13 reviews from guests who stayed at the
La Playa Carmel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.0.0
8.0
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 9.3.0
9.3
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.7.0
8.7
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.7.0
9.7
Hotel Dining
user rating 6.2.0
6.2
Check Rates and Availability at the La Playa Carmel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the La Playa Carmel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Solo Traveler
Dante from New York, NY
November 15, 2016
Solo Traveler
8.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Stephen from Mendham, NJ
November 29, 2015
10.0
location and quaint
no liked everything
Couple
Kirk from Coto De Caza, CA
September 13, 2015
Couple
8.0
A beautiful hotel in an excellent location walking distance to the beach and other Carmel features.
I don't think you should claim to offer "free parking" when all that means is that your customer should be able to find a free spot on a local street.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Kaicheng from San Francisco, CA
December 1, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Rebecca from Laguna Hills, CA
July 29, 2013
Couple
3.0
The area is lovely. The gounds are beautiful. The breakfast is very good, with additional nice touches of a wine and cheese hour and cookies and milk later.
Our room was above the kitchen and delivery area. The trucks arrive at 5 AM beeping as they backed into what felt like our bedroom. Accompanied by kitchen staff speaking in loud voices as they set up for breakfast. Add to that protesters striking.

We were very disappointed to pay over
xxx per night and have the kitchen and delivery noise from 5 AM on. Then when we did fall back asleep protesters showed up chanting in unison and shaking cans with gravel in them. There was NO apology from the staff and no discount given for our disturbances. Apparently this protest has been going on for months. There should be some warning for the consumer that this disagreement is going on. I don't even care what it was about, I wanted to join in the chanting and say SHAME on La PLaya for not warning their guests that they would never be able to sleep past 7AM while on vacation. Again, the lack of apology or any discount was appalling and quite a shame as the hotel is lovely (albiet, many of the rooms are VERY small) and the breakfast, wine hour and cookies and milk were wonderful. ...read more

Couple
David from Walnut Creek, CA
April 16, 2013
Couple
9.0
The La Playa is a two block walk to the beach and from there you can see Pebble Beach. The rooms have been renovated but have that old building charm. The people were extremely helpful.
I was a bit disappointed in the breakfast brunch that I had heard so much about.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Lawrenceville, GA
April 3, 2013
Couple
10.0
Great location, fantastic breakfast and old charm kept in the public areas. Rooms were nicer than a comparable downtown hotel in Carmel.
Solo Traveler
Evevl from Miami, FL
October 1, 2012
Solo Traveler
9.0
The view of the gardens and the ocean.
No room service! No in house restaurant!

Overpriced and offers no room service!

Couple
Elaine from Lafayette, CA
November 1, 2011
Couple
7.0
Views of the ocean were spectacular.
Just bought and will close in November for 9 months needed renovation--wish knew before.

Great historic hotel with beautiful views and nice size rooms with lovely outdoor table with chairs for having a glass of wine and watching the sunset. Just bought and will be closed for renovation for 9 months and then will probably be very upscale and price probably will go up, but worth it for the lovely grounds, pool, and close to downtown and beach (wonderful for runs on Scenic Drive). Carmel hill is steep for those who aren't in moderate shape. we had a great time. ...read more

Family Traveling with Teens
Kirsten from Nevada City, CA
April 22, 2011
Family Traveling with Teens
10.0
Cozy, historic, great setting, great view, walking distance to everything.
The salmon colored paint in the bedroom.

Always welcoming, beautiful, and clean, the historic La Plays Hotel never disappoints. The rooms are well appointed, the staff is friendly, and the location, in a quiet neighborhood near the beach, is spectacular.

Reviews of La Playa Carmel
(1 - 10 of 10 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the La Playa Carmel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.