Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Kona Islander Inn Hotel in Kailua Kona

Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Kona Islander Inn Hotel Image
1 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.7/10
75-5776 Kuakini Highway
Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

Hotel Guest Rating for Kona Islander Inn Hotel in Kailua Kona

# 7 of 36 hotels in Kailua Kona
Based on 19 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Kona Islander Inn Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.7.0
6.7
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 6.8.0
6.8
Hotel Staff
user rating 6.6.0
6.6
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Hotel Dining
user rating 10.0.0
10.0
Check Rates and Availability at the Kona Islander Inn Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Lori-Jean from Didsbury, Canada
December 17, 2014
Couple
10.0
All the management and front desk staff we absolutely pnenominal, couldn't have ask for nicer and more accomodating people. The folks that live there full time didn't treat us any differently than if we were fulltimers too. Great on short notice. Thanks!!
That we had to leave Hawaii.When you drop in on someone on short notice and are only staying overnight- there sholdn't be any complaints- so, we liked everything. Thanks again and we will be back.
Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Boise, ID
November 28, 2014
Group Traveler
1.0
Kona
Room was not acceptable. We couldn't use lanai because there were full white trash bags,boxes stacked by sliding glass door. Carpet was stained and dirty. Shower floor was stained also. Unable to get another room so stayed only 1 out out of 3 nights.

The staff told us that the owner of the room forbid them to move or change anything including the bags and boxes on the lanai.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from La, CA
November 17, 2014
Couple
2.0
No soap. No shampoo or conditioner. Bed was a brick. No wifi-in room, only in lobby area. No front desk attendant at 10PM. Rusted shower holder. I

I was told the rooms are privately owned so other rooms may be different. We stayed in room 121. If you need to stay here bring soap and shampoo and don't expect to use internet--no wifi service in room.

Couple
Tommy from Pahoa, HI
November 17, 2014
Couple
5.0
The close location to down town Kailua, Kona.was a plus for the hotel.
I had a lady friend had to labor much to climb those steps to our room 1st to the third floor not to bad going down the steps then up again to the second floor to another unit.an plus did not have a working kitchen range for cooking local breakfast, lunch

No elevators, no cooking range in kitchen of our unit. plus they charged me 200 dollars deposit more from my account which they said the card was not what they required, when registered online I didn't see that the card account had to be a credit card.any way have to have my depositback.

Couple
Alyssa from Honolulu, HI
July 3, 2014
Couple
5.0
Location!
The shower was broken, it seemed really dirty, the bed was old and sunken in.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Honolulu, HI
June 26, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
The first two nights we loved it. The room we had was excellent, clean and roomy for my family.
3rd night we had to get another room, paid an extra $11.00 for ocean view, was not satisfied with it. Room was small, view blocked by trees

Overall, very accommodating.

Solo Traveler
Karissa from Kent, WA
April 7, 2014
Solo Traveler
5.0
The location and the exterior was great.
The mattress was extremely hard. So hard I actually slept on the couch as opposed to the bed.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Los Angeles, CA
December 12, 2013
Couple
8.0
Location. Price.
Not knowing what to expect from the room as I could find very little information about the hotel in general. Each room is owned by a different party so you don't know exactly what to expect or what you will be offered in the room.

Location was key with an ocean view and right in the heart of Downtown Kona. Large, basic room with everything that one would need; pull-out couch, table, balcony, comfy bed, pillows, towels and a small kitchenette with utensils. You also get a parking pass for one car. You can opt for room cleaning each day for a small fee. Most hotels in Kona are on the older side so don't expect bright, shiny, just built condos or hotels anywhere you stay. We love this fact as it gives the whole area a great character and a relaxed feel. We would definitely stay in room 248 again. ...read more

Group Traveler
David from Concord, CA
February 21, 2013
Group Traveler
9.0
The patio had a view of the ocean, it was right next to the shoreline so you could go for a walk, lots of restaurants within walking distance, we saw whales jumping out of the water from our patio. Also had a mini-kitchenette.
The only minor annoyance is parking can be difficult at certain times but there is plenty of parking across the street on the shoulder.

Pros: Right next to the shoreline Clean and fairly spacious Quiet Lots of restaurants within walking distance Mini-kitchenette / microwave / refrigerator (including dishes, silverware) for eating in. There is no stove so the microwave is used to cook food. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. On-site laundry facilities Flee market a block away Great beginners snorkeling beach only 10 mins drive No cons for the most part, free wi-fi is available near the front desk although ask for the password early because the staff is not available during the evening/night. This is similar to renting a condo, cleaning service is only once or twice a week and staff is not available 24/7. We checked in during the afternoon but if your running late and will arrive late at night, you might want to call them, maybe they can give you the code to get into your room just in-case they are not there. We will definitely stay here again if we visit the big island again. ...read more

Stacy from Glide, OR
February 7, 2013
6.0
Great location
Receptionist was not clear on where the parking was located. Had to call. No blankets for sofabed. No night staff. No housekeeping!

Fine if you just need a place to crash at night otherwise don't expect a lot.

Reviews of Kona Islander Inn Hotel
(1 - 10 of 10 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Kona Islander Inn Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg