Karakahl Country Inn

Karakahl Country Inn in Mount Horeb

Karakahl Country Inn

Karakahl Country Inn Image
2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.6/10
101 Perimeter Road
Mount Horeb, WI 53572

Hotel Guest Rating for Karakahl Country Inn in Mount Horeb

# 1 of 1 hotels in Mount Horeb
Based on 18 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Karakahl Country Inn
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.6.0
6.6
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.1.0
7.1
Hotel Staff
user rating 6.3.0
6.3
Location of Hotel
user rating 7.7.0
7.7
Check Rates and Availability at the Karakahl Country Inn
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Karakahl Country Inn

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Mpls, MN
August 19, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
7.0
Simple, pleasant check in, easy access, good location, decent size room, bathroom was clean. Microwave and fridge and nice TV.
Shower was not hot enough. Shower spray was weak. Carpet stains were questionable, a small beetle crawled across my bedstand. Toilet pressure low.

Exterior looks extremely run down. Could be awesome due to vintage architecture. Pool windows need to be cleaned or replaced to make me ever want to swim there. For what we needed hotel was fine for the price we paid.

Business Traveler
Patricia from Baraboo, WI
July 22, 2014
Business Traveler
9.0
The friendly treatment we recieved from the owner .felt like He went out of his way to make our stay the best it could be

this was an older hotel and very nice and well located the pool was very nice and we really enjoyed this .you could tell the new owners were making repairs and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome .Will stay here again next year for the craft fair

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Marinette, WI
July 21, 2014
Solo Traveler
8.0
Value for money excellent. Bathroom a little old fashioned but everything worked just fine, which I really appreciated. A very nice example of 1950's architecture.
A little hard to find.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Chicago, IL
June 16, 2014
Solo Traveler
6.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Manitowoc, WI
June 13, 2014
Couple
5.0
WE WERE LOOKING FOR A REASONABLY PRICED HOTEL NEAR THE DOWNTOWN, WHICH IT WAS.
THE BUILDING LOOKED AS THOUGH NO REPAIR WORK HAD BEEN DONE IN RECENT HISTORY, RUN DOWN AND CRUMBLING EVERYWHERE

WHILE THE BED WAS COMFORTABLE AND THE LINENS CLEAN, WE WOULD EXPECT THE OUTSIDE OF THE HOTEL TO MATCH UP TO OUR EXPECTATIONS, NOT LOOK LIKE IT SHOULD BE COMPLETELY REDONE,

Couple
John from Woodruff, WI
April 15, 2014
Couple
5.0
It was in a decent area--no security concerns. The rooms were large---it had been a nice hotel at one time----it was a long time ago.
The hotel directory found in the room said there was to be coffee and pastries in the morning. No dice. Nothing!!! Lights burned out. Broken plumbing fixtures. Lamps with no switches. We were concerned that we'd encounter someone we knew---embarassment!!

I expect someone is trying to improve it (lots of new, un-mudded drywall---new open wiring--scrap plywood--rubble---pool is a fright--- list it again after they get done with the work under way!

Solo Traveler
Jason from East Troy, WI
February 5, 2014
Solo Traveler
9.0

This is a quaint and convenient place to stay. I visit maybe four times a year. The staff is friendly and it's always clean and quiet. It's an older hotel, but it's kept up and that's part of the charm.

Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Des Plaines, IL
January 14, 2014
Group Traveler
2.0
The manager was nice enough and offered to accommodate when approached.
Much. It had been cold the week before, but when we entered the room it was as cold as outside. The refrigerator was open and unplugged and in the hour plus we stayed in the room the temperature barely improved. Our party was cold the entire night.

Cont. The next morning we awoke and there was no running water. It was conveyed to me later when I confronted the manager that a pipe had broken, but I was never informed without asking. When we attempted to shower the water came out yellow, which would make sense to be iron since the pipe broke. The manager suggested we run the water for half an hour after I confronted him, but our group had decided to leave at that point. The public spaces were disappointing as well. The lobby was deserved and looked like the last time it was updated was the early 90s. The pool was a dark black and obviously had not been cleaned in a long time. There was no one at the desk, you had to call in order to get the attention of the staff. The hotel seemed to be a living quarters for some of the guests. We had no issues with them but that seemed to be the arrangement. There is a chance our negative experience was circumstantial and based off of a few issues out of managements control. However, we were very disappointed and expected much better from the hotel, especially considering the positive reviews it had on Priceline. As we did not stay the second night I asked the manager for redress of the nights fee. He refused and claimed I needed to take it up with Priceline. I believe it is more than fair, considering the conditions, that I am reimbursed thexxx I paid for the night. This is the first time I have used Priceline and would be hesitant to use it again after this experience if I was not to be reimbursed. Please contact me through email at xx ...read more

Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Fort Wayne, IN
October 30, 2013
Group Traveler
9.0
The hotel was perfectly placed for my needs, as well as priced.
The common areas were a bit chilly, but I see the owner has a lot of ideas to improve the hotel.

We checked in late, but the owner was prompt in getting us checked in. Our room was chilly, but it heated up quickly. Everything was clean. The hotel is a bit run down, but you can see where improvements are being made. Lighting around the building is a little scarce, but it seemed very safe nonetheless. I'd stay again next year when I come out, for sure. It was the perfect place for what I needed. ...read more

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Pound Ridge, NY
October 15, 2013
Solo Traveler
8.0
Cleanliness, quiet, Good value, safe neighborhood.

A great value, clean, close to Madison.

Reviews of Karakahl Country Inn
(1 - 10 of 16 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Karakahl Country Inn
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface



Most Popular Guest-Rated Hotels in Mount Horeb
dg