Hotels in San Diego

Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego

Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego

Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego Image
2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 5.3/10
6440 El Cajon Blvd.
San Diego, CA 92115

Hotel Guest Rating for Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego in San Diego

See Most Popular hotels in San Diego
Based on 77 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego
Overall Quality Score
user rating 5.3.0
5.3
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 5.4.0
5.4
Hotel Staff
user rating 6.4.0
6.4
Location of Hotel
user rating 5.9.0
5.9
Hotel Dining
user rating 1.2.0
1.2
Check Rates and Availability at the Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from North Las Vegas, NV
April 12, 2014
Couple
10.0
Comparable to hi-end hotels for comfort, friendly staff, plentiful parking.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Tucson, AZ
April 8, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
Rooms were very clean, staff was very friendly and helpful! Location was great, wide variety of restaurants in the area and close to Sea World and the beaches.
the outlets worked for everything except our blow dryers and curling irons/straighteners, very weird!!
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Laurel, MD
April 4, 2014
Business Traveler
1.0
Nothing
Power was out from 10:00 pm to 6:00 am. It was dark.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Mesa, AZ
March 27, 2014
Couple
6.0
A very comfortable bed. Lots of good restaurants in the area.
The advertised continental breakfast was very skimpy, with artificial juices, no fruit except bananas. The main offering was pastries. A pool was advertised but out of order.

Staff were friendly and accommodating. The cleaning staff did a good job.

Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Davis, CA
March 25, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
1.0
The beds were very comfortable. The hotel is in the process of renovation. The front desk staff was helpful. We asked to have our room moved from the bottom floor to the top and were accommodated.
The area seemed unsafe. There was no hot water. The bathtub painted finish was severely peeling. Wondered how clean it could be due to the peeling paint and the toilet was loose.

The common areas are under construction and there were construction materials where our room was located. The continental breakfast was minimum at best.

Manus from Berkeley, CA
February 24, 2014
7.0
Amazing rooms and staff.
A little out of the way

Rooms remodeled and super nice. Outside desperately needs remodel. Nicest staff imaginable.

Couple
Rebecca from San Diego, CA
February 3, 2014
Couple
5.0

The first room had a faulty smoke detector so had to switch rooms. They did not mention that there would be major construction going on at 8am Saturday morning on the lot right next to the hotel so not quite the wake up call you want on your day off. They also did not say that the $50 deposit would have a 10 day hold placed on it which I am still waiting to have put back in my bank account ...read more

Family Traveling with Young Children
Michael from Spring Valley, CA
December 12, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
The rooms (inside) are AMAZING.
The outside can use some fixing up.
Business Traveler
Nacira from Montclair, CA
November 2, 2013
Business Traveler
8.0
Nice furniture and very clean. I liked the fact that there was a fridge, microwave and coffee maker.
The breakfast area is rather shabby that I took my breakfast to my room. Also, the choice in the breakfast was rather limited in healthy choices of cereals.

Good for the price.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from El Mirage, AZ
October 31, 2013
Couple
4.0
Location.
Broken ice machine, unexpected deposit of $50 at check-in, which were supposed to be refundable in 2~5 days yet, after 3 days, it still show-up as a pending charge on our credit card. They told us "up to 5 business days" for refund. We'll see.

Outdated and run-down looking even though the rooms were supposed to be "newly renovated". Paint and decor is that of late 50's to early 60's style motel with matching outdated furniture, microwave and mini fridge. VERY small bathroom space for two people but, clean enough. There were some "renovations" still ongoing so, there were some noises during the day that affected our sleep(we're night shift workers that sleep during the day. Location was ideal for quick trip to the beach, which was only 20 minute drive and the zoo and the Seaworld close by also. Plenty of mediocre restaurants and junk food places to eat and Starbucks EVERYWHERE near by for all you caffeine addicts. Family and business friendly place but, NOT recommended for any type of "romantic" get away. NOT pet friendly place. Did we mentioned unexpected deposit of $50 required at check in? YES, WE GOT HIT WITH AN UNEXPECTED $50 DEPOSIT ON CHECK IN WHICH WE STILL HAVEN'T GOTTEN REFUNDED AFTER 3 BUSINESS DAYS AND CARD SHOWING "PENDING" CHARGE. ...read more

Reviews of Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego
(1 - 10 of 50 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg