Hotels in New York City

Hotel Verite

Hotel Verite

Hotel Verite Image
2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.1/10
13 East 19Th Street
New York 10003

Hotel Guest Rating for Hotel Verite in New York City

See Most Popular hotels in New York City
Based on 11 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Hotel Verite
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.1.0
7.1
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.0.0
8.0
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.1.0
8.1
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.6.0
8.6
Hotel Dining
user rating 5.5.0
5.5
Check Rates and Availability at the Hotel Verite
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Hotel Verite

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Todd from Little Silver, NJ
January 16, 2014
Couple
3.0
nothing
big dissapointment

really not a good or pleasurable experience

Business Traveler
Mary Ellen from Huntersville, NY
May 2, 2013
Business Traveler
This hotel was modern and had everything I needed for a business trip. Staff was super friendly, and the room was clean.
It did not have working air conditioner in April, which would make it very stuffy in the summer (no windows in room). I would call and check on this before booking again; it may have just been off for the winter months.

I hadn't seen many reviews on this place, but it was worth the price, and I would stay there again. It's down around 19th and Broadway, so the location was pretty good (I took taxis). Seemed like a safe area, and the staff was very friendly. The room was clean and modern, with some remote-activated lighting and other bells and whistles that might confuse some people. The bellhop showed me how to use everything when I checked in, which was critical. My room on the fourth floor did not have windows or air conditioning (though it did have a skylight that could be covered/closed at night), so I would not stay there in the summer without checking to see if the A/C was just off for the winter or nonexistent. It is adjacent to a neat-looking Asian restaurant that I would try (didn't have time this trip). ...read more

Solo Traveler
Stephen from Montreal, Canada
March 27, 2013
Solo Traveler
4.0
Location is great. The girl when I arrived was really helpful. I wish I could remember her name. The bed was also comfortable.
No heating in the room when I arrived (it was 64 degrees inside). The only way to heat it up was with a little plugged in heater and it took forever. 2 days without hot water. The safe didn't work. Missing lightbulbs. Loud music until 11h30pm. Rundown.

Although the hotel is in a great location, I had numerous problems with the room. First, when I arrived at the hotel, there was no heating in my room (64 degrees). I had to use a little heater and it took for ever to heat it up. Then some lights were actually didn't work in the room. The safe was missing batteries and had to be careful when using it because it was missing a part and my stuff could have been stuck in there if the batteries fell off. I also had 2 days without hot water on a 4 day trip. Complained and they checked. It seemed fine but it was cold again when I took a shower. The hotel is also a bit run down and if fixed it could be really nice. For example, there are long pieces scotch tape holding the wallpaper in the corridors. Also, it has been repurchased and renamed, I guess, since they are still using the towels of the "Charles Hotel". Remember that there is a club/restaurant in the hotel that plays loud music until 11h30 every day. You can hear it very well in the room. I want to mention though that a girl was very friendly and helpful when I arrived there. Though I don't remember her name. I wish to mention it. Bottom line: I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. After long days of walking and visiting, the last thing you want is to have problems with your hotel room.
...read more

Business Traveler
Kristina from Collingwood, Canada
March 11, 2013
Business Traveler
9.0
Helpful staff, free wi-fi
Rooms are small-ish

Great location

Couple
Pamela from Johnston, RI
February 13, 2013
Couple
8.0
Staff was helpful and available. Room was clean and modern. Didn't have coffee maker in the room, just one in the lobby. Inconvenient for early morning coffee.
No coffee maker in the room and no window. Fire alarm went off at 9:30AM and we realized that if there was a fire in the hall, we were out of luck! False alarm, though.
Family Traveling with Teens
Matt from Beaufort, SC
November 22, 2012
Family Traveling with Teens
9.0
Location and quality of the room decor.
No in-room control of temperature. Wifi was spotty and weak.
Couple
Mary from Abington, PA
October 20, 2012
Couple
8.0
Location was good. Price was good. Clean. Simple.
We hated the mattress! Approximately 12 or 14 high, dense foam with a plastic cover on a wood base. Too hard and too hot!

Don't be afraid to book this hotel. It is small, clean, and fits the bill. Rooms are small, as expected. Bathroom had a shower (no tub). The worst feature for me was the bed with a hard memory foam type mattress, covered in plastic, on a wood frame set on the floor, uncomfortable. Hotel has an elevator, not all of the boutique hotels do. Price was very reasonable, so I put up with the bed.
...read more

Business Traveler
Mary from Montreal, Canada
January 16, 2012
Business Traveler
7.0
Some rooms do not have windows, rather a skylight which is noisy when raining.
Couple
Andrea from Southwick, MA
January 15, 2012
Couple
1.0
Would not stay here again even if for free.
Staff; no amenities (soda/water machine or ice machine) locked us out/in at night- had to be let in; tempered mattress very hard and uncomfortable.

The verite was the very wrong for us.

Solo Traveler
Lk from South Pasadena, CA
June 2, 2011
Solo Traveler
9.0

unexpected surprise! very modern, spacious room for nyc at the price offered. continental breakfast offered. pretty close to the metro too. staff was very nice and helpful. room faced loew's theatres so be ready for no wireless signal, limited tv channels from the list, and the trains going by. for me, the negatives were minor compared to the overall stay and quality of room/hotel. thank you... ...read more

Reviews of Hotel Verite
(1 - 10 of 10 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Hotel Verite
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg