Hotels in Utica

Hotel Utica, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Hotel Utica, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Hotel Utica, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member Image
3 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.0/10
102 Lafayette Street
Utica, NY 13502

Hotel Guest Rating for Hotel Utica, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member in Utica

# 4 of 11 hotels in Utica
Based on 21 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Hotel Utica, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.0.0
8.0
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.6.0
8.6
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.7.0
8.7
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.0.0
8.0
Hotel Dining
user rating 8.2.0
8.2
Check Rates and Availability at the Hotel Utica, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Hotel Utica, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
A from Grandville, MI
September 1, 2013
Couple
9.0
Staff was great and accommodations were very nice. Spacious room.
Joshua from Harrisburg, PA
August 21, 2013
10.0
The staff were top notch, completely responsive, friendly. Also liked the historic rehab the owners did, very attractive.
I wish it got more recognition. It's a gem.

Fascinating place. Clean room, nice furnishings were a little used in spots, but what hotel doesn't have that. Bathroom large, modern, spotless, with lots of large, fresh towels. Fantastic views.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Stone Mountain, GA
August 2, 2013
Couple
5.0
Hotel Utica is a lovely, old restored hotel, with ornate public spaces.
Hotel was in a run-down section of town. No places to eat nearby, and the restaurant offerings within the hotel were irregular and often non-existent. Our room was fairly large, with only a single desk chair.

We liked the atmosphere of the historic common areas, with photos of the hotel in its prime and a comfortable lounge in the lobby. The room was large but sparsely furnished (double bed, desk chair, small desk.) I would expect a regular chair and queen bed at least. Hotel is in an isolated location. We felt the rating of 2.5 stars was too high and deceptive. If you are looking to stay in a historic building it is a great choice, but as a blind selection on priceline it makes little sense. ...read more

Couple
Edward from Jacksonville, FL
July 4, 2013
Couple
7.0
historical style structure was very nice, front desk person very nice, it was a reasonably good value for what I paid
Group Traveler
Joyce from Ringwood, NJ
June 23, 2013
Group Traveler
9.0
It's got more charm than the chain hotels. Decent breakfast included. Close to where we need to be in Utica.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Durham, NC
March 14, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
3.0
The breakfast staff was kind enough to hold the breakfast bar open to accomodate my party on the final morning.
The staff were rude and the rooms were dirty. Moreover, their were six foreign hairs in the tub which means the tub wasn't cleaned at all otheriwse they wouldve been washed down the drain when rinsed.

First and foremost even the best hotels, which this is nor will it ever be, can't be discredited by the caliber of their staff. Fran is the rudest hotel employee that I've ever encountered and her attitude were particularly astounding at such a sub par hotel. Yes the rooms are large as is a hallmark of buildings constructed during that time period; however, what's most boggling is that it takes the housekeeping staff 1/3 of the time to "clean," and I use the term loosely, as it does the staff at the Hilton i stayed at last month to clean a room half this size. Why you ask? Well it's simple....they only half clean. They change the towels and trash bags, clean the mirror and counter, replenish the cups and off to the next room. As for cleaning, it is evident that sweeping and mopping do not include the corners as every bathroom corner in both rooms that I stayed had crud in them. I can't say that I've ever entered a hotel bathroom to find a half used roll of toilet paper awaiting me because hey if theirs some left on the roll why not leave it for the next customer because after all I'm sure we all check into indivudual hotel rooms to share toilet paper with the masses as if in a hostile. Moreover, their were six foreign hairs in the tub which means the tub wasn't cleaned at all otheriwse they wouldve been washed down the drain when rinsed. A vitamin that I dropped at 10am was still at 9pm well past the time of the supposed cleaning of my room making it apparent that no vacuuming was done. At 10:30am I called the front tdesk to request that towels be delivered to my room and was informed by yet another employee, oblivious to the definition of ther term appropriate customer service, that the housekeeping staff was now moving about and would give me towels when they came to "clean" my room. I have never been in stayed in any hotel where within minutes of such a request, someone didn't deliver towels. ...read more

Family Traveling with Young Children
Thomas from Suffield, CT
March 4, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
9.0
The continental breakfast was not so good. More effort could be placed here to make it fresher. Most of the hot food was hard as if it had been sitting out a long time.

I would stay here again and give the breakfast a second chance.

Angela from Horseheads, NY
January 2, 2013
10.0
They allowed us to have our dog with us, they were able to get us in earlier than our reservation time, easy to get to, beautiful lobby and main floor,all we could say was Wow! Our room was huge!
Breakfast hot food was not even warm

Worth the the stay and i wouldstay there again.

Business Traveler
Lou from West Bloomfield, MI
December 13, 2012
Business Traveler
9.0
Good value-included internet, breakfast, parking etc.
Solo Traveler
Kathy from Lake Barrington, IL
October 2, 2012
Solo Traveler
6.0
Interesting lobby with great chandeliers.
Location and overall condition of hotel.

Although this hotel has everything that I needed I did not feel comfortable there. To be fair, it is obvious that much effort has been put into maintaining this historical building and keeping it from the wrecking ball. The lobby is very cool. The elevators are tiny. The hallway when I got off the elevator was dimly lighted and I was nervous being alone. When I opened the door to the room my first impression was to run, but on further examination it was adequate in every way, just old. Kind of creepy. I think that what bothered me most was the bed. I was very uninviting; ancient floral bedspread, three little white pillows and the bed itself was poor quality. Curtains were dingy. The bathroom, however, was awesome. Huge, bright, clean, fully stocked and lovely! This hotel is in a neighborhood that made me very nervous. Surrounded by vacant lots. One of the parking lots not paved. Nervous about leaving my car. I arrived at night (single female) and looked over my shoulder while approaching the entrance. Left in the am before sunrise. I never saw it in the daylight. Maybe I was just tired from a 10 hour drive. Anyways, I wanted to love it, but I didn't. But I think it has potential and some people
will love it for it's history and charm.
...read more

Reviews of Hotel Utica, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
(1 - 10 of 12 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Hotel Utica, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg