Hotel Utica, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Hotel Utica, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member in Utica

Hotel Utica, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Hotel Utica, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member Image
3 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.0/10
102 Lafayette Street
Utica, NY 13502

Hotel Guest Rating for Hotel Utica, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member in Utica

# 4 of 10 hotels in Utica
Based on 28 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Hotel Utica, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.0.0
8.0
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.5.0
8.5
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.6.0
8.6
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.0.0
8.0
Hotel Dining
user rating 8.2.0
8.2
Check Rates and Availability at the Hotel Utica, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Hotel Utica, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Sudbury, MA
August 18, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
5.0
Looked historical but needs some sprucing up!
I thought the hotel would be a beautiful historic space. But it looked run-down and in need of repairs and updating! I was surprised that it was the only 3 star hotel in Utica. I should have stayed at a 2 star!
Verified Hotel Guest from Old Greenwich, CT
August 14, 2014
9.0
Grand old modernized 1912 tower hotel in downtown Utica. Still has 1912 charm. Very spacious rooms, modern plumbing, fresh and comfortable beds. Great free breakfast! Pet friendly with reasonable cleaning surcharge. Free parking. Friendly staff.
Air conditioning could be a but more modern with an effective thermostat and quieter fan, but once we adjusted it, the room temperature was fine.
Couple
Gregory from New York, NY
August 12, 2014
Couple
7.0
Easy to get to, pleanty of parking, probably nicest hotel in Utica. Room was huge, clean and well equipped.
Breakfast needed some help - tables weren't being cleared, so it was hard for people to sit. Good selection of food however.

Would definately stay again.

Verified Hotel Guest from Mississauga, Canada
June 29, 2014
5.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Group Traveler
Matt from Goffstown, NH
June 24, 2014
Group Traveler
7.0
The staff was able to get me 2 double beds in room upon arrival and were very friendly about it. Room had been completely renovated and definitely felt like a 3 star hotel. Free breakfast had real eggs, bacon, sausage, make your own waffles, etc.
There is no flat screen HDTV in the rooms. Old box tv's with an analog picture is a major downfall for this hotel that has nice renovated rooms. Lobby definitely needs an updated look. Especially the floor.

Not alot of good eateries around this downtown hotel. A lot of businesses have gone under or are rundown. Not much to see or do in Utica.

Family Traveling with Teens
Cheryl from Waterbury, CT
May 29, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
8.0
This hotel has more character than any chain. It is shockingly grand and a treasure of the past.
I don't know why they try to serve breakfast. It takes away from the experience acting like a chain

As it was Monday it was distractingly quiet. I would stay there again

Group Traveler
Owen from Thornhill, Canada
May 16, 2014
Group Traveler
10.0
Nice lobby, free parking, large rooms
Nothing

Although very old, it was very well maintained. Probably a 5 star back in its day when built.

Couple
A from Grandville, MI
September 1, 2013
Couple
9.0
Staff was great and accommodations were very nice. Spacious room.
Joshua from Harrisburg, PA
August 21, 2013
10.0
The staff were top notch, completely responsive, friendly. Also liked the historic rehab the owners did, very attractive.
I wish it got more recognition. It's a gem.

Fascinating place. Clean room, nice furnishings were a little used in spots, but what hotel doesn't have that. Bathroom large, modern, spotless, with lots of large, fresh towels. Fantastic views.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Stone Mountain, GA
August 2, 2013
Couple
5.0
Hotel Utica is a lovely, old restored hotel, with ornate public spaces.
Hotel was in a run-down section of town. No places to eat nearby, and the restaurant offerings within the hotel were irregular and often non-existent. Our room was fairly large, with only a single desk chair.

We liked the atmosphere of the historic common areas, with photos of the hotel in its prime and a comfortable lounge in the lobby. The room was large but sparsely furnished (double bed, desk chair, small desk.) I would expect a regular chair and queen bed at least. Hotel is in an isolated location. We felt the rating of 2.5 stars was too high and deceptive. If you are looking to stay in a historic building it is a great choice, but as a blind selection on priceline it makes little sense. ...read more

Reviews of Hotel Utica, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
(1 - 10 of 18 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Hotel Utica, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg