Hotel Rex

Hotel Rex in San Francisco

Hotel Rex

Hotel Rex Image
3 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.0/10
562 Sutter Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for Hotel Rex in San Francisco

See Most Popular hotels in San Francisco
Based on 123 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Hotel Rex
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.0.0
8.0
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.7.0
8.7
Hotel Dining
user rating 7.9.0
7.9
Check Rates and Availability at the Hotel Rex
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Hotel Rex

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Solo Traveler
John Wesley from Upton, MA
December 23, 2013
Solo Traveler
9.0
Free amenities and even some luxuries, plus kick-backs for energy conservation. The overall atmosphere as well.
Extremely expensive parking, even if you take the cheaper option just around the corner.

Don't know what else to say really ...

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Huntley, IL
December 2, 2013
Couple
9.0
Staff was very nice, and welcoming. The rooms were very clean, and I loved the art work and wall paintings throughout the hotel - great local touch warms the interior tremendously.
This is a boutique hotel like so many others in San Francisco, so the rooms are a bit small. I will say these seemed more spacious than others I've stayed in, and well enough to accommodate, but still on the smaller side.

We moved over from the Powell where my company had booked me, to the Hotel Rex for an extended weekend, and were quickly, and happily surprised by the vast improvement in the upgrade. The staff was very welcoming from the start, and we easily checked in and got settled quickly. The entire hotel was very clean, from the lobby at first entry, to the room and all the guest floors in general. I loved that there was art work on display almost everywhere, and the custom painted walls at each elevator stop were good conversation pieces. Overall I would recommend the Hotel Rex (certainly over the much older Powell) for short or long visits for either business or vacation. ...read more

Couple
Tanya from Fortuna, CA
November 26, 2013
Couple
10.0
This hotel had lots of character. Very charming. Loved complimentary glass of wine upon arrival. Clean rooms!
No parking!! Self parking is 2 blocks away and costs $22/night. Valet $45 Rooms are very small.
Family Traveling with Teens
Kimberly from Matthews, NC
November 18, 2013
Family Traveling with Teens
10.0
The staff was helpful and even though our stay was short, we enjoyed Hotel Rex

Great location and nice rooms

Couple
Jim from Boise, ID
November 17, 2013
Couple
9.0
Quaint little hotel in very convenient location. We asked for a quiet room and got a nice interior room and didn't hear any outside noise at all!
Glad the wine was free upon arrival since it wasn't the best. But since it was included I can't complain.

We would stay there again

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Rockville, MD
November 14, 2013
Couple
8.0
Location, helpful and friendly staff.
Only one elevator, the size of a shower stall.

The Rex is an older, smaller (7 story) hotel conveniently located near Chinatown, Nob Hill and the Financial district. We easily (and safely) walked to a theater on Green St., Embarcadero and the Ferry Building. The staff is very pleasant, efficient, helpful and friendly. The room was adequate, with the usual furnishings, no closet, but a wardrobe. It appeared clean and nicely appointed. The 3-piece bath was clean but showed signs of wear. The public spaces are limited. There is no real lobby, the reception area is very small and the only public space on the ground floor is the "Library/Bar". The only elevator is the size of a shower stall, room for 4 or 5 people at most, without luggage. The hotel offers complementary coffee and tea in the morning and one complementary beer, wine, or soft drink in the afternoon. There is full food service available in the Library/Bar room. Be aware that parking a car at the hotel is $42 + 25% tax ($52.25) per day, but the staff will direct you to a public parking garage around the corner where it is $22 + 25% tax ($27.50) per day. ...read more

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Palm Beach Gardens, FL
November 13, 2013
Couple
8.0
Very quaint, enjoyable.
Service was crap. Supposidley no bell hop on shift when in actuality there was. Told me to hail down a taxi, would not call one for me.

Great!

Group Traveler
Timothy from Fresno, CA
November 13, 2013
Group Traveler
10.0
Clean and comfortable

I would defintely stay here again. We did not go to the attached bar or restaurant but they seemed nice.

Verified Hotel Guest from Santa Cruz, CA
November 3, 2013
5.0
Older bldg wood molding
My room was too close to srreet and partiers tto loud. Could not sleep
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Davis, CA
November 2, 2013
Business Traveler
9.0
concert downstairs
a bit oldish but well appointed

Good boutique hotel for travelers who don't like big chain hotels nice free glass of wine and concert

Reviews of Hotel Rex
(11 - 20 of 66 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Hotel Rex
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg