Hotels in San Francisco

Hotel Rex

Hotel Rex

Hotel Rex Image
3 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.0/10
562 Sutter Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for Hotel Rex in San Francisco

See Most Popular hotels in San Francisco
Based on 117 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Hotel Rex
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.0.0
8.0
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.8.0
8.8
Hotel Dining
user rating 8.2.0
8.2
Check Rates and Availability at the Hotel Rex
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Hotel Rex

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Berwyn, PA
March 16, 2014
Business Traveler
8.0

Very nice, well-run boutique hotel. It was very clean (considering it's age). The free Wifi and glass of wine each day is a nice touch these days. Great location!

Family Traveling with Young Children
Jill from Orangevale, CA
February 18, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
It was charming and comfortable
Nope

The Rex Hotel is located mere blocks from Union Square and the wonderful shopping of San Francisco. My daughter and I enjoyed our stay immensely and the staff was absolutely perfect. Friendly and welcoming, the staff even allowed us to check into our room HOURS before the stated time. I love the charming beauty for the Rex and would recommend staying there to anyone that asks. the deal we received form priceline was fantastic. ...read more

Business Traveler
Junseok from Scottsdale, AZ
February 3, 2014
Business Traveler
9.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Business Traveler
Brice from Washoe Valley, NV
January 23, 2014
Business Traveler
8.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Seattle, WA
January 22, 2014
Solo Traveler
4.0
Location
Fixtures were dated and leaky AC and heat also dated and odd to control Housekeeping removed the room service menu the first day - so nothing for me on day two! Room service was inconsistent and didn't deliver what I explicitly asked for

Location and staff are great. Hotel needs updating. I won't return. Definitely the low end for a jdv hotel

Couple
Chad from Aiea, HI
January 15, 2014
Couple
9.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Jason from Redondo Beach, CA
January 4, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
9.0
We loved the literary theme and the woman who helped us at check in was amazing!
No
Solo Traveler
John Wesley from Upton, MA
December 23, 2013
Solo Traveler
9.0
Free amenities and even some luxuries, plus kick-backs for energy conservation. The overall atmosphere as well.
Extremely expensive parking, even if you take the cheaper option just around the corner.

Don't know what else to say really ...

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Huntley, IL
December 2, 2013
Couple
9.0
Staff was very nice, and welcoming. The rooms were very clean, and I loved the art work and wall paintings throughout the hotel - great local touch warms the interior tremendously.
This is a boutique hotel like so many others in San Francisco, so the rooms are a bit small. I will say these seemed more spacious than others I've stayed in, and well enough to accommodate, but still on the smaller side.

We moved over from the Powell where my company had booked me, to the Hotel Rex for an extended weekend, and were quickly, and happily surprised by the vast improvement in the upgrade. The staff was very welcoming from the start, and we easily checked in and got settled quickly. The entire hotel was very clean, from the lobby at first entry, to the room and all the guest floors in general. I loved that there was art work on display almost everywhere, and the custom painted walls at each elevator stop were good conversation pieces. Overall I would recommend the Hotel Rex (certainly over the much older Powell) for short or long visits for either business or vacation. ...read more

Couple
Tanya from Fortuna, CA
November 26, 2013
Couple
10.0
This hotel had lots of character. Very charming. Loved complimentary glass of wine upon arrival. Clean rooms!
No parking!! Self parking is 2 blocks away and costs $22/night. Valet $45 Rooms are very small.
Reviews of Hotel Rex
(1 - 10 of 69 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Hotel Rex
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg