Hotel Rex

Hotel Rex in Rome

Hotel Rex

Hotel Rex Image
4 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.8/10
Via Torino 149
Rome 00184

Hotel Guest Rating for Hotel Rex in Rome

# 19 of 2880 hotels in Rome
Based on 36 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Hotel Rex
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.8.0
7.8
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.7.0
7.7
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Hotel Dining
user rating 7.4.0
7.4
Check Rates and Availability at the Hotel Rex
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Hotel Rex

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Eunkyoung from Seoul, Republic Of Korea
August 9, 2014
Couple
5.0
Room condition is not good. Especially Old bed... I can't sleep well. But no bedbug and location is good near station.
Couple
Cheryl from Charlotte, NC
July 29, 2014
Couple
9.0
The service at the front desk was very helpful
The breakfast was not good at all, we had to find breakfast elsewhere each morning
Senior Travelers
Vernon from Biloxi, MS
July 4, 2014
Senior Travelers
10.0
The staff was outstanding and went over and above the call to help take care of our needs.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Chicago, IL
June 4, 2013
Couple
3.0
The breakfast was okay. Really, nothing was great.
The bathrooms, small bedroom, dirty tub, old carpet, poor location, the lights flickered and there was no view.
Couple
Louis from La Crosse, WI
June 2, 2013
Couple
8.0
Great location from train station and major sites; friendly staff who speak decent English
Average accommodations: twin beds pushed together, small shower, older furniture
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Bellevue, WA
May 14, 2013
Couple
4.0
The price was right but in this case we got what we paid for - the hotel was disappointing. The staff however did their best to accommodate us by finding a better room within the hotel.
Hotel Rex was not even close to a 4-star hotel. More like a high-2 to low-3 star hotel.

Rooms are clean but basic and quite small and many are dark. Public spaces are a bit shabby. Location is about five minutes walk to Termini, which is convenient, but a bit too far to carry suitcases so you will end up needing a taxi. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Couple
Jose from Wentzville, MO
April 30, 2013
Couple
4.0
Hotel has a good location, 5 minutes to termini station. Breakfast is good, has a Wi-Fi connection, and friendly staffs.
I will not rate it as a 4 star hotel, maybe a 2-3. Bathroom is outdated and there is mold in the shower. Bed are 2 twin size bed attached together and not comfortable. They also charged us 4 days sales tax, which we don't have time to question.

Hotel is walking distance to Termini Station, a good location to get a ride to Vatican City, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Coliseum and other historical places. There are a lot of good restaurants in the area and price is very reasonable. We will not return to Hotel Rex, we didn't get the value of what we paid. My wife had a back ache every morning because of their old bed. We didn't complain because we don't have any choice and we need a place to stay on our anniversary vacation. We will go back to Italy, but will not go back to the same hotel. ...read more

Couple
John from Vancouver, WA
April 26, 2013
Couple
7.0

If you are looking for an "American style" hotel, keep looking! If you are looking to imerse yourself in the local scene, then this is for you! The location allows you to walk to all of the major attractions with the exception of the Vatican, but this is just a short train or bus ride away. The staff is very helpful and can set up whatever tours or activities you wish. The room was very clean, with nice bed linens, and the bath had pretty much everything you needed with the exception of face cloths. The room we had is on the 4th floor with a view of the building next door. It was a little warm, and when I asked why the A/C wasnt working, I was told because it isn't summer! The very helpful desk clerk called someone to see if an exception could be made, but the only solution offered was to open the window! The bar area was in what looked like a hallway with seating for 3 persons, and you had to track down someone to serve you drinks. The breakfast was in the basement area, and offered pastries, cold cuts, cheese, fruit etc. We enjoyed our stay after we changed our mindset to Italian, but if you are expecting a 4 star hotel by American standard, you are in for some culture shock! ...read more

Couple
Mihran from Pickering, Canada
March 9, 2013
Couple
8.0
Good central location, Very Helpful Front Desk Staff, Big Selection and Quality FREE Breakfast. Free and Fast Internet. Quiet and Spacious Room.
Old building, elevators are add on to a strictly stairs building and feel like little coffins, rooms need a modern and upgraded look, but its Rome and most of its city hotels are the same. Hated the extremely overpriced onsite restaurant.

Overall, compared to other Hotels in the area, its a very good to stay for the price. Friendly and helpful staff, fast service, great breakfast. Avoid the onsite restaurant which is not associated with the hotel and is extremely expensive for the little morsel of food that you get. Definitely the better place to stay at compared to other hotels within the area for the same price. ...read more

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Bronx, NY
February 27, 2013
Solo Traveler
6.0
The staff was nice and spoke english well. The hotel is close to termini train station and in walking distance to the colleseum. I also liked that there was free WiFi and breakfast was included.
The room I was in was VERY dark and resembled a dungeon. While the hotel was very ckean, this is DEFINITELY more of a three star hotel

While the hotel is close to Termini station, there is not much night life in the immediate area so you will have to travel to find nicer bars/clubs/restaurants. I stayed in room 104 and found the room to be very dark due to the one small window that faced other buildings. Perhaps rooms that have windows that face the outside so that sun light can enter look less gloomy.

Reviews of Hotel Rex
(1 - 10 of 17 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Hotel Rex
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg