Hotel Rex

Hotel Rex in Madrid

Hotel Rex

Hotel Rex Image
3 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.2/10
Gran Via, 43
Madrid 28013

Hotel Guest Rating for Hotel Rex in Madrid

See Most Popular hotels in Madrid
Based on 10 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Hotel Rex
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.2.0
7.2
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.2.0
8.2
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.8.0
7.8
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.2.0
9.2
Hotel Dining
user rating 10.0.0
10.0
Check Rates and Availability at the Hotel Rex
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Hotel Rex

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Family Traveling with Young Children
John from Wilmington,DE
September 29, 2009
Family Traveling with Young Children
7.0
Clean and staffs are friendly and helpful.
Stairs before lobby. Rooms small.

Overall it is a good hotel in a good location.

Solo Traveler
Sean from Springfield,MA
September 9, 2009
Solo Traveler
7.0
Great location.
Phone rates too expensive. (Local calls within city over 3 euro per minute!)

Good place to stay. Great location, helpful staff, reasonable room rates.

Solo Traveler
Bill from Jacksonville,FL
September 8, 2009
Solo Traveler
4.0
Nice location.
Worn public spaces.

It was fine. Carpet worn badly. Staff was fine. Not 3 star rating. Good location.

Couple
Greg from Oakland,CA
August 31, 2009
Couple
1.0
The air conditioning
The hotel staff was extremely rude

From the minute I walked into this hotel, the hotel staff was extremely off-putting. (In addition to the fact that there is a long flight of stairs down to the reception/lobby, down which you have to carry your bags.) I usually think that reviews are exaggerated when they complain about hotel staff, but having any interaction with the staff at the Tryp Rex was an intensely negative experience. When I checked in, the man was outright surly for no reason, not saying hello, sneering at my questions, helping another customer in the middle of checking me in, and refusing to give a second key although there were two of us. When I made the mistake of asking one of his colleagues the next day about making a phone call, she was equally rude--the payphone they had installed in the lobby didn't work, so she told me to go to the corner (on an extremely busy street) and call there, commenting rudely that I was being ridiculous when I told her I'd rather not make a phone call in the middle of loud traffic. (If I had called from the room, it would have been 14 euros per minute!) These interactions were so negative that I decided not to stay a third night, and went to another hotel. This poor quality of service is completely unacceptable, and Priceline should remove this hotel from their listing. ...read more

Solo Traveler
Enrique from New York,NY
August 13, 2009
Solo Traveler
6.0
The location is excellent and the rooms are adequate size.
Rooms need to be painted or wallpaper needs to be changed.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Sandi
September 24, 2006
Family Traveling with Young Children
8.0
Awesome location! Clean, updated rooms. New wood floors, not the yucky tile floors in most European hotels.
A bit noisy, but closed windows blocks out most of street traffic noise.

Yes, it's true: shower pressure is wonderful! While sitting in the dirty subways, I'd daydream about the awesome shower awaiting me at the end of the day. Breakfast was filling, allowing us to only need a light, quick afternoon snack until dinner. Hotel was very clean and everything seemed new.

Couple
Josh
September 19, 2006
Couple
10.0
Friendly staff and great location.
Walls were not soundproof as one would hope.

I would recommend this hotel to travelers looking for an economical place in a great location in Madrid. The elevators are quite small (be prepared) and you'll have to walk your suitcase down a flight of stairs to reach the lobby, but the rooms are clean and spacious, the air conditioning is great, and the bathrooms are clean and roomy. I highly recommend Tryp Rex.

Reviews of Hotel Rex
(1 - 7 of 7 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Hotel Rex
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg