Hotel Modera

Hotel Modera in Portland

Hotel Modera

Hotel Modera Image
4 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.5/10
515 Southwest Clay Street
Portland, OR 97201

Hotel Guest Rating for Hotel Modera in Portland

# 12 of 135 hotels in Portland
Based on 81 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Hotel Modera
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.5.0
8.5
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 9.0.0
9.0
Hotel Staff
user rating 9.1.0
9.1
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.5.0
8.5
Hotel Dining
user rating 9.0.0
9.0
Check Rates and Availability at the Hotel Modera
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Hotel Modera

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
David from Dublin, CA
August 25, 2014
Couple
8.0
Very modern, clean hotel with a great style and look.
The rooms were small and they do not have a gym.

Overall this was a nice hotel. Clean, modern, and nice looking. I did think this did not raise to the level of a four star though. Probably was a fine 3.5 star hotel. There was no gym, so they had to send you to a nearby 24-Hour Nautilus. The rooms were also very small.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Portland, OR
August 25, 2014
Couple
4.0
The courtyard patio/lounge area for the hotel restaurant has a nice vibe and decent happy hour. There is a lovely living plant wall and firepits at night to enjoy the outdoor space. The artwork on the walls in the lobby is also interesting to look at.
This is not a four star hotel and lacks amenities and the luxury feel of a boutique hotel. The room smelled of stale cigarettes. The coffee maker is in the bathroom next to the toilet which is gross.The elevator didn't work several times during our stay.

This location is near a bunch of banks, away from any main downtown attractions. Might be okay for business, but not ideal for romantic or tourist stays. Staff are kind and helpful, but the hotel overall lacks anything to set it apart or make it memorable. More like a 3 star hotel. There is no gym or pool, and you have to inquire yourself about the 24 hour gym pass and walk to that location. Parking is valet only and very expensive. Our bed was hard, and the walls are thin in this hotel. The artwork, and photography give it a nice modern vibe, but it's not enough to make it more then a tired old hotel trying too hard to be trendy. Not worth the price we paid. ...read more

Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Arlington, VA
August 25, 2014
Group Traveler
10.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Seattle, WA
August 24, 2014
Couple
10.0
Great downtown location easily walkable to almost everything we wanted to do, from shopping to restaurants to walking by the lake. Staff was friendly and helpful, room was modern and cool with nice extra touches. FREE INTERNET - never see that anymore.
Room smelled a bit like cigarettes even though it was a non-smoking room. We quickly adjusted and it wasn't worth complaining about or asking to swap rooms, but it was noticeable upon entering the room. I'm sure if we'd complained, we could've switched.

Hotel Modera had a really cool look and feel in and out of the room itself. The room has comfy beds and little luxuries like a heated bathroom mirror that doesn't fog during a shower. Wireless is free, which was another nice perk. The hotel has a great restaurant on the main floor with an awesome outdoor dining area, fire pits, relaxing wine tastings, etc. Staff was super friendly, willing to help us store our road bikes securely (we'd brought them along for a ride while in Portland) and able to answer an questions we had. Overall very happy with our stay there and would happily return. ...read more

Couple
Simon from Burnaby, Canada
August 23, 2014
Couple
9.0
Good Location with friendly staff.
Parking was a little expensive per night for 30 dollars a day. My roomed smelled like cigarettes every time I entered it but got used to it pretty quickly.
Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Sacramento, CA
August 21, 2014
Group Traveler
9.0
The hotel was great and everything they promise. The outdoor patio at the restaurant was perfect for a summer night cap (although the wait staff left a little something to be desired)!
Although we were assigned a non-smoking room, it appeared to have a smoke stench to it. We opened a window and it somewhat went away, but it wasn't ideal.

I would not only recommend this place, I would easily stay here again!

Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Hinsdale, IL
August 19, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
10.0
Location

Nice setting, nice design, convenient location.

Couple
Alexander from Omaha, NE
August 17, 2014
Couple
7.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Staci from Charleston, WV
August 17, 2014
Couple
10.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
William from Palm Harbor, FL
August 16, 2014
Couple
8.0
The staff was awesome, especially Jonny the concierge. He helped us plan our itinerary for our days in Portland.
The rooms are a bit small.

Restaurant downstairs was very good.

Reviews of Hotel Modera
(1 - 10 of 58 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Hotel Modera
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg