Hotel Belgica

Hotel Belgica in Ponce

Hotel Belgica

Hotel Belgica Image
1 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.2/10
122 Villa Street
Ponce, PR 00730

Hotel Guest Rating for Hotel Belgica in Ponce

# 1 of 7 hotels in Ponce
Based on 24 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Hotel Belgica
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.2.0
8.2
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.6.0
8.6
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.6.0
8.6
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.8.0
8.8
Hotel Dining
user rating 7.0.0
7.0
Check Rates and Availability at the Hotel Belgica
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Hotel Belgica

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Solo Traveler
Chris from Houstojn, TX
May 3, 2014
Solo Traveler
7.0
The staff was very helpful and spoke English. For the price I paid I MIGHT have gotten a better hotel in the states.
Have one of the rooms with a terrace you hear everything going on outside your room. i.e. horns honking, loud music, etc. I had to switch rooms later and didn't get a refrigerator.

The doors and windows are not energy efficient. I guess they feel that it is not necessary since they are an island. I would even have downgraded to something cheaper, but I believe least expensive hotel in the area and I didn't see any motels.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Bethpage, NY
May 3, 2014
Couple
10.0
Hotel had so much character and was perfectly located.
Street noise might be a little loud for light sleepers.
Couple
Justin from Gambrills, MD
March 19, 2014
Couple
6.0
Hotel was very historic and was reasonably priced. Lovely interior and well decorated rooms with high ceilings. I think existing reviews are very accurate.
Hotel is extremely noisy on the weekend, even in internal rooms, you can hear the pounding base of the cars cruising. They should let people know this before they book. Breakfast is light, a couple of loaves of bread and some spreads, a little coffee etc.

Great central location, very pretty little hotel. A very nice little stay in Ponce, but beware the extreme noise on the weekends. Get an internal/less pretty room on the weekends. Overall, nice pretty room and hotel for a quick a stopover. I would recommend it for what it is.

Couple
Sarah from Venice, CA
December 31, 2013
Couple
1.0
Big room.
The noise from the street was more than impossibly loud. The windows don't have glass. They are just covered with blinds. There is an open decorative grill above the window that lets in all the ridiculously loud street partying.

"Continental Breakfast Included" means a box of donuts and coffee.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Ileana from Caguas, PR
December 15, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
9.0
Location was just perfect for the ocassion. We did go there for a religious and cultural event of the Hispanic world: Santa Maria de Guadalupe day that in Ponce PR is observed. This hotel features a walking distance from the celebrations.

Hotel Belgica in Ponce is more a guest house than a hotel featuring two stories of a 19th century building. Rooms are big and clean including a refrigerator. A terrace at the second floor is equiped for a self service breakfast or taking a nap in the afternoon.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Derby, CT
August 16, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
Cleanliness and beautiful surroundings, perfect location
Free parking is three blocks away from the hotel. Not very convenient after checking in at 9pm with 2 kids. Didn't feel very safe.

Amazing! Except for parking feature.

Group Traveler
David from Lynchburg, VA
July 22, 2013
Group Traveler
9.0
I enjoyed the vintage feel, balcony, and close proximity to the plaza.
The staff was not very educated on things to do in Ponce.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Douglas from Bala Cynwyd, PA
June 24, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
8.0
The hotel is SO close to the town square and is a great way to experience Ponce up close. Meter parking out front of the hotel entrance was free at night and cheap during the day. The hotel looks quite historic and is decorated with antiques. Comfy beds.
There was no street noise in our inside facing room (no balcony) but the air conditioner was a little bit noisy when it cycled on and off. Otherwise a great hotel.

Clean. Historic. Quiet indoor facing room (no windows in our room). So close to the town square. My family of 4 had a great stay here when we were touring the island. Clean. Friendly. Awesome tile work in lobby and antiques in public spaces. AC unit was aa little noisy but no problem really. Comfortable beds. Street parking out front free at night and inexpensive meters during the day. Felt safe. Good street food nearby. ...read more

Rosemary from Virginia Beach, VA
June 11, 2013
10.0
I loved the Hotel and everything else in Ponce. The staff members were always very helpful and willing to accommodate my every need. I love the history of the building itself, the decorations were kept as close to the era as possible. It was fantastic!
I really can't think of anything I did not like.

If you are looking to experience not only the beautiful Island of Puerto Rico, but also the rich history and its historic buildings, this is the one to stay at. It used to be a mansion; as soon as you walk into the lobby, it feels you have walked into the past. I grew up in PR, but never visited the surrounding towns nor did I seek to know its rich history. I went with my girlfriend, we spent 10 days as tourist. As soon as we walked in the hotel and checked in, the staff member carried our suite case to our room. The bedroom was very spacious with comfortable beds. Flat screen TV, WiFi, more than enough large mirrors, and a good size fridge. The bathroom was much bigger than any other hotel I've been to. All nice and clean. The hotel has no elevators, but the staff member quickly offered to carry both large suitcases to our room. There is limited, free parking (5pm-8am) in front of the hotel. Two blocks away, there's an underground parking (with police station right above it) completely free. Parking was never an issue during my visit. The location is excellent, main plaza just around the corner with a beautiful Cathedral, souvenir shops and the best fresh fruit ice cream across to the right of the Fire station/ information center. I would absolutely stay there again and recommend anyone going to Ponce to stay at the Hotel Belgica. For a historic building, with only "some" of the technology advances most are used to, I say its a 4.5 star hotel. ...read more

Couple
Paul from Akron, OH
May 21, 2013
Couple
9.0
Quaint, clean and close to the historic district.
Only a single drawback...we had a balcony room on Calle Villa with a bar directly across the street. Their music/speakers were ramped up starting at 9:00 pm until after 2:00 am. Opt for an inside room.

Within 50 yards of the historic square and easy (flat) walking all around the sites. Well worth staying here as opposed to 6 miles away at the Hilton Casino.

Reviews of Hotel Belgica
(1 - 10 of 13 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Hotel Belgica
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg