Holua Resort

Holua Resort in Kailua Kona

Holua Resort

Holua Resort Image
3 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.9/10
78 7190 Kaleiopapa Street
Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

Hotel Guest Rating for Holua Resort in Kailua Kona

# 1 of 35 hotels in Kailua Kona
Based on 30 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Holua Resort
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 9.4.0
9.4
Hotel Staff
user rating 9.4.0
9.4
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.2.0
8.2
Hotel Dining
user rating 5.3.0
5.3
Check Rates and Availability at the Holua Resort
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Holua Resort

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from El Dorado Hills, CA
September 8, 2014
Group Traveler
9.0
The staff was very helpful, professional and friendly. They keep the property in very nice condition and appeared to be attentive to the guests.
No just a small mix up with a room provided to me Which was not ready upon my arrival. It was immediately rectified.

This resort's grounds and facilities are well maintained and attractive. I find the interiors of the suites attractive and appropriate for an island theme as well.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Hilo, HI
August 23, 2014
Couple
8.0
I loved the customer service and the room was beyond spacious! The pool wasn't the best but it did the job!
The location it's a 15 minute drive to Kailua-Kona where all the fun is.

The staff was excellent, we enjoyed the amenities provided in our condo and had a great view!

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Winnetka, IL
August 3, 2014
Couple
8.0
Spacious 2 bedroom unit. Smart design. Good vibes. Bright. Tons of windows. Pretty landscaping (except for the wasteland outside of our window on the other side of the path).
Ridiculously loud & prolonged gardening noise (Thursday). Gas powered maintenance golf carts constantly passing creating noise (everyday, all day). Cheap construction (flimsy shower door, cheap countertops, etc). Far from town w/o nature advantages.

They are timeshare units, and they fill the nights between their "owner" guests by selling them as hotel rooms. We got upgraded to a 2 bedroom unit because the basic units were oversold. It was super spacious. One king room and two twins in the other room, both with their own bath. Upstairs (yes, smartly you don't have to carry your luggage up the stairs) is the family room/kitchen combo with higher ceiling, deck, etc. We experienced way too much noise from their landscaping and maintenance team. We stayed just two nights, which gave us just one full day on the property. And, we had the lawn movers begin around 10am and run through noon, and then a second round of blowing later in the afternoon. This pushed us off the patio into the inside of the unit, and then caused us to close up our windows. Felt all locked up- hardly what we were wanting or expecting. Solutions include quieter equipment (lots of options in the market) and a bigger team that could do a quicker sweep. I felt sorry for everyone poolside enduring the sounds. Also, their maintenance golf carts are gas powered, which left us feeling like we were roadside. Electric would've decreased the noise by 90%. A few days before we stayed at the Sheraton next door. The Sheraton had much higher quality construction (countertops, faucets, furniture, etc), yet our sliding door there didn't have a screen. The Sheraton was much quieter than the Holua, despite having more people and activities. Not many great food options around, although Sam Choy's has decent food and a great view (it is a great place for sunset). KTA grocery store is nearby, so self-catering might be the preferred option for this location. We are currently staying in town and much prefer it. We are surrounded by restaurants and have more ocean access here- much more. All in all, we'd recommend Holua. It offers more space than hotel rooms, with a kitchen. It isn't ideal, but it is clean and comfortable. ...read more

Family Traveling with Young Children
Jason from Hilo, HI
July 24, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
9.0
There were small ants in the bathroom and kitchen and the pools were a little run down. Overall though, this is a very nice place to stay as it has all the conveniences of home and is away from the hustle & bustle.
Couple
Karlan from Hilo, HI
July 15, 2014
Couple
10.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Ocean View, HI
May 13, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Sevki from Hilo, HI
April 1, 2014
Couple
8.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Verified Hotel Guest from Draper, UT
September 9, 2013
10.0
It was clean,had extremely comfortable beds and the layout gave opportunity for privacy.
The kitchen provided adequately for cooking and eating, but it would have been nice to have had salt and pepper in the cupboards.

We were very pleased with our stay at this hotel. It was very clean and inviting. It was adequately furnished with towels and linens. The furnishings and decor offered a fun vacation feel. We will DEFINITELY choose to stay here again.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from St. Helena, CA
August 26, 2013
Couple
10.0
Large rooms and well laid out space. Very quiet and private. Nice furniture and patio area and pools/spa/tennis courts very nice. Even used the washer/dryer --- great! Only wish we could have stayed longer or that it was located on the ocean directly!
Only if you could move it onto the beach! But we went to the Sheraton - Rays on the Bay at night for drinks and entertainment and enjoyed the breeze/ocean there.

We really enjoyed out stay with the large rooms, pools/spas and quiet serene environment. It's great to stay for an extended stay (next time we'll try to stay longer) and appreciated the quiet A/C, friendly staff, clean accommodations, 1 and half bath, patio with fountains and beautifully attended gardens. Good location to Sam Choys and Rays on the Bay for food/entertainment. We'll be back if/when we make it back to Kona! ...read more

Family Traveling with Young Children
Kristen from Hilo, HI
July 9, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
The room was spacious and big enough for my fanily
The dishwasher didnt work and the shower was very hard to turn off and on

We will be back, perfect place for both families and couples

Reviews of Holua Resort
(1 - 10 of 13 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Holua Resort
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg