Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland in South Portland

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland Image
2 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.3/10
303 Sable Oaks Drive
South Portland, ME 04106

Hotel Guest Rating for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland in South Portland

# 2 of 12 hotels in South Portland
Based on 42 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.3.0
8.3
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.3.0
8.3
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.6.0
8.6
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.8.0
8.8
Hotel Dining
user rating 7.4.0
7.4
Check Rates and Availability at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Group Traveler
Joseph from Franklin Park, NJ
August 26, 2014
Group Traveler
9.0
Breakfast is good. Coffee 24/7, rooms are huge. Great location.
Not that I didn't like it but it would have been great if the shuttle went to old port and not just down the street. I can understand why that's not an option because it would quickly turn into a drunk bus but the convenience would have great.

Friendly staff. I didn't go to the pool but people with me did. They said it was over chlorinated and the water was like a hot bath which is not refreshing at all. I'd stay here again if planning to visit old port for a weekend away or bachelor party.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Sarasota, FL
July 31, 2014
Couple
9.0
location was excellent, staff was very friendly
mattress was not too comfortable
Family Traveling with Young Children
Lisa from Mount Holly, NC
July 5, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
5.0
Staff was nice
Room layout a bit strange. Room incredibly dirty and smelled musty.

I don't recommend

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Cushing, ME
February 18, 2014
Couple
9.0
I liked that the room had a mini fridge, coffee maker, and microwave included. It was the perfect location just outside of town so there wasn't busy traffic outside my window all hours of the night. And the breakfast and swimming pool were awesome.
The room had very dry air but it was very cold. The heater made the air quality worse and there weren't enough blankets on the bed for warmth. I found a blanket in the closet but it was covered in hair and lint. We were to check out at 12 but the house

Keeper knocked on our door at 1030 which kind of bothered us as we were packing and getting ready to leave. Also the cable kept coming in and out.

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Jersey City, NJ
October 21, 2013
Business Traveler
3.0
Convenient location, close to lots of fun tourist and local attractions. Quiet area without a lot of traffic.
The cleanliness left something to be desired I brought my dog & he found various items under the bed socks, toiletries etc. I had to ask several times for the room to be cleaned. Front desk is rude & there's a clear lack of communication with the staff

Overall the hotel has potential, it is in a good location, the rooms could be very nice. The tv's need to be updated as they keep breaking (ours was changed due to picture quality & we were told that was a common complaint), there is 1 sink outside the bathroom and none near the kitchen area. the pillows are not comfortable. The staff is not easy to deal with, they do not communicate with each other, causing distress to the guests, they are not aware of their own policies regarding pets (although they are billed as a "pet friendly" hotel). Online policy states doggie treats are given at check in (they are not) & makes no mention of leaving the dog alone in the room however the staff (Kate @ front desk) called me to inform me that it is against policy to leave the pet. Also accused me of hiding the animal when we had been there for 1 week already and the dog had been in & out of the room. I have also never heard of a pet friendly hotel having a policy where the animal was not allowed to be left in the room for a period of time and since I called when I made the reservations that is information that should have been given at the time. There is construction going on which leads me to believe they are updating the rooms so hopefully some of these issues will be addressed. However the main problem in my opinion was the staff. They are not helpful, not friendly and clearly poorly trained. ...read more

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Odenton, MD
October 5, 2013
Couple
8.0
Liked that the sink was outside the bathroom/shower area.
Staff was a little lackluster.

We got a deal on this hotel while visiting Portland. Good location, close to shopping and only ~10 minutes from downtown Portland. Breakfast was OK. For a similar deal, we would come back again.

Couple
Justin from Johnston, IA
October 4, 2013
Couple
4.0
We were on the sixth floor. The room and corridor smelled of smoke even though the floor was smoke free and we had to sign a form stating we would not be smoking in the room or they would 'fine' us xxx.

There were two front desk staff members when we checked in during the evening of 9/27. One of the front desk staff members was extremely rude to the gentleman checking in next to us for no reason. In addition, we noticed the same employee was being rude to another guest checking in as we were leaving the hotel for the evening. Our front desk staff member was helpful and nice. There was not enough seating the lobby during breakfast. During our 5 night trip to New England, this was easily our least favorite accommodation. ...read more

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Middlebury, VT
September 7, 2013
Couple
8.0
Location. central to the area we visited and close to many retail locations.
Minor complaint but TV reception signal would break up more often than normal.

Hotel was clean, well kept and centrally located to the area we visited. Would definitely stay there again.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Waterbury, CT
August 16, 2013
Couple
9.0
The size of the room.
Breakfast area was always crowded.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Cranston, RI
August 11, 2013
Solo Traveler
Very accommodating, nice room.
They had to send me to another hotel the first night due to electrical issue. Priceline owes me a refund. Not the hotel's fault, but Priceline wouldn't work directly w/the manager to resolve this.
Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
(1 - 10 of 18 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg