Hotels in Placerville

Historic Cary House Hotel

Historic Cary House Hotel

Historic Cary House Hotel Image
3 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.1/10
300 Main Street
Placerville, CA 95667

Hotel Guest Rating for Historic Cary House Hotel in Placerville

# 1 of 11 hotels in Placerville
Based on 16 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Historic Cary House Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.1.0
8.1
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.6.0
8.6
Hotel Dining
user rating 7.0.0
7.0
Check Rates and Availability at the Historic Cary House Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Historic Cary House Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Solo Traveler
John from San Mateo, CA
March 16, 2014
Solo Traveler
8.0
The location was very good.
It was a very old building. so the amenities were limited but comfortable. The elevator was tiny but luckily worked.

They had king size beds which were very comfortable.

Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Vacaville, CA
January 1, 2014
Group Traveler
3.0
The bed was very comfortable.
The single pane window facing the main street of downtown right across the street from a very roudy bar. We could hear everything outside loud and clear until the bar closed at 2:00 am! There was also a cold draft from the same window. Pretty miserable

The suite was nice, very charming. It would have been a nice stay if not for the noise. Located in the heart of downtown, close to restaurants and shopping.

Couple
Cassandra from Sparks, NV
August 21, 2013
Couple
I like the character of the building & the hospitality.
Bed spreads & pillows a little worn out. Stayed at the front of the building & could hear loud drunk people at the bar across the street all night till 1:30am.

Great little town to stay in. I would stay at this hotel again, but ask for a room not close to the street!

Couple
Theresa from Pioneer, CA
October 26, 2012
Couple
8.0
Very nice staff.
Continental breakfast was poor.

The hotel location is wonderful. Very very quiet. The elevator was pretty cool, 2nd oldest west of the Mississippi.Still worked great. The continental breakfast was really poor, and we so went to a restaurant down the street. Staff was very friendly. Nice lobby having some old original items,log book etc. Room was small but nice. King size bed was really comfy. Enjoyed our stay. ...read more

Couple
David from Campbell, CA
October 17, 2012
Couple
10.0
Liked the feeling. It's an old, historical hotel which has updated rooms, but the rest of the hotel has been kept pretty much original, which was great.

Great hotel! It's historical and located right downtown Placerville. Great shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. Loved the old time feel of the lobby and updated rooms. Apple Hill farms a short distance away. Will stay again when in area.

Couple
Rebecca from Honolulu, HI
September 22, 2012
Couple
9.0
The incredible history and artifacts.

This was one of the high points of our trip. The history was incredible. The original guest register, gold rush memorabilia everywhere, historic elevator, etc. made it so special. The room was comfortable and nicely decorated in period pieces, although very small. It was like staying in a museum, which we loved!

Senior Travelers
Renee from Napa, CA
May 31, 2012
Senior Travelers
8.0
The hotel is very historic and the location is great.

The Cary House Hotel was founded in 1849. The current building is old but the place is kept clean. Rooms are small and the bathroom is very dated. Decor is simple, but the beds are comfortable and the location is great - right downtown Placerville. I enjoyed the stay.

Couple
Irishred from Woodland, CA
May 8, 2012
Couple
8.0
Location and fun furnishings.
Breakfast was nothing exciting.
Grace from Dublin, CA
October 18, 2011

We had to change our hotel to Natomas Inn, in Folsom Ca.

Couple
Teresa from Long Beach, CA
October 7, 2011
Couple
5.0
Great downtown location.
I did not like the inconvenience of parking, etc.

Parking far away, behind the building, a long trip from the parking lot to the room. We were concerned about our safety and the security of the car. No pool, no food, no one at the front desk after 9 pm, front door locked after 9pm. No hot water for the shower in the evening (we were on the 4th floor), however we did have hot water in the morning.

Reviews of Historic Cary House Hotel
(1 - 10 of 10 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Historic Cary House Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg