Hotels in Rio Grande

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Image
4 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.7/10
200 Coco Beach Boulevard Highway 955-I
Rio Grande, PR 00745
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico in Rio Grande

# 1 of 4 hotels in Rio Grande
Based on 402 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.7.0
7.7
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.0.0
8.0
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.5.0
7.5
Location of Hotel
user rating 7.9.0
7.9
Hotel Dining
user rating 6.8.0
6.8
Check Rates and Availability at the Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Myrtle Beach, SC
March 17, 2014
Solo Traveler
10.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Group Traveler
Gladys from Newark, NJ
March 16, 2014
Group Traveler
9.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Group Traveler
Dale from Saint John, Canada
March 12, 2014
Group Traveler
9.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Solo Traveler
Philip from Northfield, IL
March 12, 2014
Solo Traveler
8.0
The Gran Melia is set alongside the ocean with views of El Yunque. It is very peaceful and offers plenty of places to go walking / chatting away from any crowds, five well-kept pools, and lots to simply enjoy.
Prices run high - Breakfast buffet with tip ran about $25 / person and while good, it's not THAT good. Poolside restaurant made me the worst grilled cheese sandwich ever for $7 plus tip.

Set next to the Trump golf course, you'll drive a couple miles from the road before actually getting to the Gran Melia. Once there, it's pretty nice. Little things are missing, though - the cheap toilet paper holder installed with screws that were power-driven into the wall at an angle don't match the rest of the nicely-decorated bathroom. Bath towels, while clean aren't particularly soft nor large. For a place supposedly of this caliber, you kind of expect everything to be just-right. Staff was friendly. The food at Passion(?) was excellent and reasonably priced for the place. The breakfast buffet came of as a bit high, and as mentioned above, the grilled cheese sandwiches we ordered were three pieces of bread, no butter, half a slice of american cheese, a sprinkling of mozzarella, and dry beyond words. The fact that there is no freely available computer to print boarding passes unless you are a RED LEVEL visitor is a bit shocking. Just so, the staff was always friendly and, when asked about boarding passes, allowed me to use the Red Lounge to do so, without charge. If it were a 3-star property, I'd probably accept the little things more easily, but my expectations were high. Would I stay here again? Sure, as long as I got a decent deal (as I did with Priceline). I think, overall, it was a very positive experience - the beds were comfy, the grounds meticulous, the staff considerate. Great free wifi almost everywhere. The Gran Melia is a real safe haven that makes it very easy to just enjoy your time in Puerto Rico. And if you have the cash to enjoy all its amenities, I imagine that you could easily unwind there for a couple weeks before it gets "old." By the same token, it's also isolated from the true island of Puerto Rico, and it's worth spending time AWAY from the resort if you really want to get something out of the reason you traveled to get there. ...read more

Group Traveler
Alejandra from Guaynabo, PR
March 11, 2014
Group Traveler
5.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Chris from Saint Paul, MN
March 9, 2014
Couple
8.0
great pool and location
wait time to check in - TERRIBLE
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Circleville, OH
March 6, 2014
Couple
8.0
The hotel has an long, beautiful beach with several shade trees and beach chairs, it was not crowded on the weekdays. The hotel is in a remote locations, but very convenient to the rain forest, the outlet mall and restaurants with a rental car.
Our first floor bungalow had a very strong odor, it smelled like mold. The room had a dehumidifier running in it when we arrived, but it didn't seem to help. Our view from the patio was awful, so we didn't even use the patio, disappointing.
Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Flushing, NY
March 5, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
6.0
Close to beach, nice surroundings.
Staff was very slow, location too remote, takes 8 minutes to drive from hotel to a regular street. Room was damp and smelled bad.

Overall it's a nice hotel, good amenities.

Family Traveling with Teens
Tania from Toa Baja, PR
March 5, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
10.0
The hotel is spectacular and beautiful facilities.
Regular service because
ordered some extras sheets and never came. The day after the towels were taken and not restocked. And cleaning the room was almost 5:00. The check in was at 4:00 pm and we got the room at 6:00 pm.

The hotel and its facilities are spectacular. The hotel staff is very nice and for a family of 5 or 6, this hotel is the best alternative.

Couple
Joseph from Kansas City, KS
March 4, 2014
Couple
10.0
It is a beautful hotel!!! Our suite sliding doors opened up to a patio with jacuzzi tub, palm trees, and the beach was a step away.staff was great!
Paying over $20.00 for two vodka tonics after waiting ten min. I know I will pay extra at a hotel like this but it was a little too much and bartenders needed more training.Found the market bought some beer and munchies and sat on our patio,waves perfect!

I would rent a car to have access to other areas. Cabs get expensive! Great golf course, pool.if you like to walk the beach, it's better at the Wyndham. Gran Melia is gorgeous! We didn't want to leave!!

Reviews of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
(41 - 50 of 200 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg