The Evelyn (Formerly Gershwin Hotel)

The Evelyn (Formerly Gershwin Hotel) in New York City

The Evelyn (Formerly Gershwin Hotel)

The Evelyn (Formerly Gershwin Hotel) Image
2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.4/10
7 East 27Th Street
New York, NY 10016

Hotel Guest Rating for The Evelyn (Formerly Gershwin Hotel) in New York City

See Most Popular hotels in New York City
Based on 31 reviews from guests who stayed at the
The Evelyn (Formerly Gershwin Hotel)
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.4.0
6.4
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.4.0
7.4
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.7.0
7.7
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.7.0
8.7
Hotel Dining
user rating 5.0.0
5.0
Check Rates and Availability at the The Evelyn (Formerly Gershwin Hotel)
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the The Evelyn (Formerly Gershwin Hotel)

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Zhili from Houston, TX
September 3, 2014
Couple
4.0
Newly renovated rooms starting from level 7 upwards. Everything is new and spotless. Beds are extremely comfortable.
Sound insulation is very poor. Was assigned a room facing the street the first night, and could barely get any sleep from all the street noise (loud vehicles, sirens, garbage trucks in the morning, you name it!).
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Indian Lake, NY
August 27, 2014
Couple
10.0
The staff was great while we were there! They always greeted us whenever we passed thru the lobby. And they were eager to assist us with whatever we needed like directions, places to see, places to dine, room needs, etc.
We were happy with everything.

While we were there they were in the process of upgrading everything. New rooms, lobby, etc. We had a new room which was very nice. It was fairly small but cozy. The bathroom was very nice and the hot water not only was hot but it lasted. Love the glass shower. If it's just the 2 of you enjoy the view inside the shower. If you want a large room this might not be for you. Besides the bed it just had a desk with chair. We basically only slept here, or rested between activities, so it was perfect for what we needed. Speaking of sleeping, the bed was unbelievably comfortable. We didn't even hear the renovations going on. When these are completed this hotel will be the class of the neighborhood. Oh and they hold your bags for you before or after checkout if you are early or have time to kill when you leave. Speaking of, you couldn't of asked anymore from the staff. Just great people. Definitely will go back! ...read more

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Dimondale, MI
December 6, 2013
Couple
4.0
Great location. Good coffee shop connected to the hotel. Stored my luggage. Very friendly staff. Comfy bed.
NO HOT WATER on my last day. The other days the hot water was very difficult to adjust to the right temp. Late check in. 3pm. Were not flexible.

Very average.

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from N. Miami Beach, FL
December 5, 2013
Business Traveler
2.0
The concerierge was very helpful.
Shower water will burn you. There is only one temp, Scorching HOT! I was not able to take a shower at the hotel. I had to leave and go to the local gym to shower. Also the coffee shop attached to the hotel is very expensive. $4.00 for a small regular cof

I will not stay here again. Elevator 10 minute wait each time.

Business Traveler
Katherine from Minerva, OH
July 21, 2013
Business Traveler
8.0
Excellent BED!!! the room was clean, simple and comfortable

I found this hotel to be a perfect fit. Close to Times Square and Flat Iron and not too far from everything else. Quiet at night, amazing bed- so comfortable. No frills but it's NYC, who stays in their room? The price was $100 more than I expected due to taxes (3 night stay).

Couple
Paul from Harvey, LA
July 19, 2013
Couple
7.0
Location and friendliness of Front Desk Staff.
We think we killed one bed bug the last night there. COnstruction / remodeling going on!

Location is awesome. Front staff friendly. Temperature of the water in the shower hard to control. For $20 more per night it would have been worth it to get a different hotel.

Couple
Menglin from Piscataway, NJ
February 3, 2013
Couple
10.0
Perfect location, great airport shuttle service

Located on the 5th ave., 5-min's walk to the Empire State Building

Clyde from Knox, PA
January 25, 2013
7.0
Great Location for a hotel with tons of character.
We were bothered on day one of our stay because there was poor communication and the maid yelled into our room telling us check out is eleven. Showers were poor and hard to adjust. Room was small

Hotel with great character. Convenient location in the heart of NY. Very expensive parking - We could have stayed another night for the price of parking for two days.

Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from South Salem, NY
January 23, 2013
Family Traveling with Teens
6.0
The location is very good. Since they don't have a restaurant, vending machine area, or coffee maker in the rooms, the fact that they are connected to a coffee shop is excellent. They also gave us a 1-hour extended check-out so we could watch the inaugura
My husband stayed here in October-November and loved the decor and furnishings in the lobby. Based on this, I had high admittedly high expectations. However, it has since changed completely. The large TV on the wall is gone, as is the piano, and I don't k

This hotel is very well-situated and clean. It should be considered by the budget traveler, or those who would rather spend their vacation money on things other than rooms in which to sleep. We had two rooms for a family of four, and they were perfectly adequate. Furnishings are very basic. Beds were comfortable. The lighting in one room was too dim, and having only one nightstand for a double bed was a minor inconvenience. There's no coffee maker in the room, or vending machine, so having a coffee shop attached to the hotel is an asset, especially in the morning. We found a street vendor selling soda around the corner on Fifth Ave. late at night. Friendly staff, and we were able to store our luggage after check-out and return for it late in the day at no charge. My sole concern would be for older guests with balance problems: there was a step up into the bathroom in both of our bedrooms, something easy to forget in the middle of the night. ...read more

Couple
Linda from Silver Spring, MD
October 17, 2012
Couple
7.0
There was always activity in the lobby and the hotel staff was great.
We were called an hour before our check out time to tell us to check out.
Reviews of The Evelyn (Formerly Gershwin Hotel)
(1 - 10 of 10 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the The Evelyn (Formerly Gershwin Hotel)
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg