Gershwin Hotel

Gershwin Hotel in New York City

Gershwin Hotel

Gershwin Hotel Image
2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.3/10
7 East 27Th Street
New York, NY 10016

Hotel Guest Rating for Gershwin Hotel in New York City

See Most Popular hotels in New York City
Based on 29 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Gershwin Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.3.0
6.3
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.2.0
7.2
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.5.0
7.5
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.6.0
8.6
Hotel Dining
user rating 5.0.0
5.0
Check Rates and Availability at the Gershwin Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Gershwin Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Dimondale, MI
December 6, 2013
Couple
4.0
Great location. Good coffee shop connected to the hotel. Stored my luggage. Very friendly staff. Comfy bed.
NO HOT WATER on my last day. The other days the hot water was very difficult to adjust to the right temp. Late check in. 3pm. Were not flexible.

Very average.

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from N. Miami Beach, FL
December 5, 2013
Business Traveler
2.0
The concerierge was very helpful.
Shower water will burn you. There is only one temp, Scorching HOT! I was not able to take a shower at the hotel. I had to leave and go to the local gym to shower. Also the coffee shop attached to the hotel is very expensive. $4.00 for a small regular cof

I will not stay here again. Elevator 10 minute wait each time.

Business Traveler
Katherine from Minerva, OH
July 21, 2013
Business Traveler
8.0
Excellent BED!!! the room was clean, simple and comfortable

I found this hotel to be a perfect fit. Close to Times Square and Flat Iron and not too far from everything else. Quiet at night, amazing bed- so comfortable. No frills but it's NYC, who stays in their room? The price was $100 more than I expected due to taxes (3 night stay).

Couple
Paul from Harvey, LA
July 19, 2013
Couple
7.0
Location and friendliness of Front Desk Staff.
We think we killed one bed bug the last night there. COnstruction / remodeling going on!

Location is awesome. Front staff friendly. Temperature of the water in the shower hard to control. For $20 more per night it would have been worth it to get a different hotel.

Couple
Menglin from Piscataway, NJ
February 3, 2013
Couple
10.0
Perfect location, great airport shuttle service

Located on the 5th ave., 5-min's walk to the Empire State Building

Clyde from Knox, PA
January 25, 2013
7.0
Great Location for a hotel with tons of character.
We were bothered on day one of our stay because there was poor communication and the maid yelled into our room telling us check out is eleven. Showers were poor and hard to adjust. Room was small

Hotel with great character. Convenient location in the heart of NY. Very expensive parking - We could have stayed another night for the price of parking for two days.

Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from South Salem, NY
January 23, 2013
Family Traveling with Teens
6.0
The location is very good. Since they don't have a restaurant, vending machine area, or coffee maker in the rooms, the fact that they are connected to a coffee shop is excellent. They also gave us a 1-hour extended check-out so we could watch the inaugura
My husband stayed here in October-November and loved the decor and furnishings in the lobby. Based on this, I had high admittedly high expectations. However, it has since changed completely. The large TV on the wall is gone, as is the piano, and I don't k

This hotel is very well-situated and clean. It should be considered by the budget traveler, or those who would rather spend their vacation money on things other than rooms in which to sleep. We had two rooms for a family of four, and they were perfectly adequate. Furnishings are very basic. Beds were comfortable. The lighting in one room was too dim, and having only one nightstand for a double bed was a minor inconvenience. There's no coffee maker in the room, or vending machine, so having a coffee shop attached to the hotel is an asset, especially in the morning. We found a street vendor selling soda around the corner on Fifth Ave. late at night. Friendly staff, and we were able to store our luggage after check-out and return for it late in the day at no charge. My sole concern would be for older guests with balance problems: there was a step up into the bathroom in both of our bedrooms, something easy to forget in the middle of the night. ...read more

Couple
Linda from Silver Spring, MD
October 17, 2012
Couple
7.0
There was always activity in the lobby and the hotel staff was great.
We were called an hour before our check out time to tell us to check out.
Business Traveler
Andrew from Mississauga, Canada
September 21, 2012
Business Traveler
5.0
Location and cleanliness.
Doors had to be slammed to close, bathroom window would not close and shower ran alternatively very hot to freezing.

Room and bathroom very shabby and in need of urgent upgrading - bathroom fixtures were all chipped and cracked and bathroom window would not close, so lucky I wasn't on the ground floor. Shower kept alternating from freezing cold to scalding hot, but luckily this seems to be a regular cycle and I did manage to take a shower between cycles. Small and old TV hanging from the ceiling had lose cable with bare wires. Nobody in room facilities for tea or coffee. Room doors all had to be slammed to close, so every time anyone went in or out the whole floor was woken up. Hotel was very clean though and bed was ok, if a little small. ...read more

Couple
Randy from Austin, CO
August 31, 2012
Couple
9.0
It had history and a nice bed.
Bath tub was to high and hard to get in to and the AC did not work.

Was nice and quiet and was located were I need to be. Needs more updating on rooms.

Reviews of Gershwin Hotel
(1 - 10 of 10 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Gershwin Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg