Empress Hotel

Empress Hotel in New Orleans

Empress Hotel

Empress Hotel Image
1 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 3.3/10
1317 Ursulines Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70116

Hotel Guest Rating for Empress Hotel in New Orleans

See Most Popular hotels in New Orleans
Based on 39 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Empress Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 3.3.0
3.3
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 3.5.0
3.5
Hotel Staff
user rating 4.9.0
4.9
Location of Hotel
user rating 6.2.0
6.2
Check Rates and Availability at the Empress Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Empress Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Houston, TX
December 10, 2014
Couple
2.0
Staff was great! Good locale, great price.
A lock that doesn't work. A filthy ac filter. The drip of the ac unit in the bed room. A hole in the bathroom door a rat may have made. Wallpaper falling off. An ancient, miniature tv positioned in a very unsafe place over the need. Mattress stains.
Couple
Joanne from Rochester, NY
December 5, 2014
Couple
1.0
Nothing
Didn't know the hotel required an additional $10 upon check in. Couldn't keep room key in our possession. Our room smelled strongly of ammonia/bleach and chemical odors. My significant other could not stay in the room. She got sick. Had to check out.
Couple
David from Irvington, AL
November 25, 2014
Couple
1.0
There really wasn't much to like about this hotel. There was supposed free wifi but I never picked it up. I guess the only good thing was cable, and it was ruined by such a small tv mounted so high you had to be standing to watch it.
The bathroom was horrible, almost no toilet paper put out. The room looked as if it had sustained flood damage that was never repaired. The bed was incredibly hard. You had to turn in your key whenever you left the hotel it was not good at all.

Honestly the one and only plus to this hotel is the location. It was close to the house of blues which is why I was in New Orleans but if I was to do it again I would have stayed out of city and paid for parking, and I hate paying for parking. The street this hotel is located on seemed sketchy too it wasn't very well lit and it was just not a good experience overall.

Couple
Tammy from Lake Charles, LA
October 26, 2014
Couple
1.0
Location
The room stunk. We spent five minutes in the room and left. Never stayed in the room
Couple
Gerardo from Savannah, GA
September 10, 2014
Couple
8.0
This hotel is located in an incredible part of NO, it's within walking distance of Bourbon St. which is great

The staff is really nice and if you're looking for a budget hotel this one is clean, comfortable and in a really good area.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Vancleave, MS
May 12, 2014
Couple
1.0
The air conditioner worked
The ceiling in the bathroom and the main room leaked terribly, the sheets were not clean, the whole key thing

Upon checking in the staff was nice and showed us to our "room". I put that in quotes, because it reminded me of the bedroom I stayed in at my grandmothers house. This is NOT a hotel room, it is simply a bedroom that someone decided to charge per night for. There is no door knob, there is only a pull bar and a deadbolt. After turning down the sheets to find a few termites and going to the desk to inquire about clean sheets, we were told "Oh, yeah, that happens". Then it started to rain...in the room. The bathroom was flooded and then the bed room area began to drip as well. This was not part of the package I signed up for. A pair of shoes lost their lives to the leak. Possibly the strangest thing was whenever you wanted to leave the building you had to drop your key into a slot in the desk. Not going to happen when I have stuff up there for the staff to just decide to go looking(not saying they would, but saying they could). I got to watch a guy argue with the desk lady about his key with him saying he dropped it in and her calling him a liar...until she pulled the desk out and there was his key. Wonder how many people lost their deposit because of that. I read the review of this place here and thought that it couldn't be as bad as that. I apologize to everyone that took the time to write something about the absolute disgusting quality of this place. It is far worse than any words could ever make it out to be. ...read more

Couple
Michael from Covington, KY
May 6, 2014
Couple
5.0
Convenient and close to the French Quarter
The guy with the dreads jacked my 10 dollar key deposit bc he said our room was unclean bc we had a couple bottles of empty water laying around. He was a complete rip-off scam artist

You know what to expect with the price and the pictures

Reviews of Empress Hotel
(1 - 7 of 7 traveling as couple reviews)
See all 15 reviews by date
Check Rates and Availability at the Empress Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg