Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile

Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile in Chicago

Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile

Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile Image
4 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.8/10
160 East Huron Street
Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Guest Rating for Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile in Chicago

See Most Popular hotels in Chicago
Based on 423 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.8.0
7.8
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.2.0
8.2
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.0.0
8.0
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.3.0
9.3
Hotel Dining
user rating 7.3.0
7.3
Check Rates and Availability at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Des Moines, IA
July 17, 2014
Couple
8.0
The room itself was very nice, although in strange location: a little hallway took us to two rooms, and ours was located behind the elevator.
The woman who 'greeted' us at the front desk was very rude. We arrived mid-morning and was told no rooms were available, but we could check back at 1:00. I asked the gentleman next to her to call us when a room was ready; he called in 15 minutes.

This hotel is undergoing a lot of construction right now. The lobby did not have any place to sit or relax while waiting to check-in, so there were a lot of people standing around. The elevator waiting area was a construction site with bare bulbs hanging from the ceiling and unfinished drywall everywhere. The elevators were quite fast and there was never a very long wait to get to your room. The wi-fi was complimentary (for my stay), but it was very slow and unreliable, so I stopped using it after a while. The room itself was nice enough; I don't know if I'd call it a 4-star experience, but perhaps a solid 3-1/2 star hotel. ...read more

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Laurel, MD
July 16, 2014
Couple
8.0
The hotel's biggest plus point is the location. It is a block off of michigan ave in the heart of the magnificent mile. We were able to easily walk to the riverfront, shopping, navy pier and millenium/grant parks.
The hotel is under renovation so as expected there are no public spaces, however the roof top pool is beautiful. The staff needs some re-training on customer service. We had no issues, but everyone around us seemed to be getting rude service.

Pros: location, location, location - perfectly central in location to all tourist areas Cons: customer service, renovations, lack of public spaces

Verified Hotel Guest from Benton Harbor, MI
July 9, 2014
9.0
Great location. Friendly staff.
Unattractive, small lobby with nowhere to sit, going through major renovation. Rooftop pool also under construction at the same time as the lobby. Better to reassess after construction complete.
Couple
Jack from Tecumseh, MI
July 8, 2014
Couple
10.0
Location & Price!
The elevators stopped at every floor on the way down until the 7th floor. We were near the top. Checking out Saturday morning was a challenge.
Group Traveler
Christie from Garden City, NY
July 8, 2014
Group Traveler
5.0
The hotel was centrally located which was great.
This hotel has clearly seen better days. It was not very clean, the elevators and rooms seemed to be run down and the lobby left something to be desired. In addition, it lacked certain amenities.

The staff at this hotel was not particularly friendly save for the bellhop who was great. We asked for a wine opener and were told they did not have one and sent us to the bar next door. The air conditioning in our room was not working so they sent someone up to fix it but it stopped working again later that night. In addition, the rooftop outdoor pool has seen better days.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Ypsilanti, MI
July 8, 2014
Couple
6.0
You can't beat the location here, especially if you want to be close to the Magnificent MIle.
Room is large but has such an awkward setup. Desk in the middle of everything with the chair blocking walking space. I do not know if this was one of the remodeled rooms or not, but if it was, someone needs to reevaluate the wasted money here.

Overall good hotel with some obvious changes occurring and an identity crisis (are you the crowne plaza or the avenue hotel)... small lobby, 3 elevators to get you between floors 7-40 that could cause massive lines and waits if you are staying during a busy time. Twice we waited for between 10-20 minutes (we didn't feel like taking the one staircase 22 floors).

Couple
Jennifer from Nashua, NH
July 7, 2014
Couple
9.0
SUPER friendly staff! Hotel accommodated early check-in / late check-out even during the holiday weekend.
Hotel under renovation: had to go up ten floors for ice machine and walk across unfinished floors. There were also no bathrooms at pool area due to renovations. Checkout time is 11am; 12 at most other hotels nowadays (note: did accommodate noon checkout)
Solo Traveler
Donna from St. Paul, MN
July 2, 2014
Solo Traveler
6.0
Location!
There was no real "lobby", had more of a motel feel than a 4 star hotel. Only a single elevator was working the entire time and made for long wait times to get up and down from the hotel room.

Great doorman, extremely helpful. Staff was polite but remote.

Verified Hotel Guest from Manning, IA
June 27, 2014
6.0
Location. ..
They were having problems with the elevators..had to wait awhile to get an elevator. One of the elevators got stuck for 30 minutes.and they were working on another. Didn't feel comfortable using them.
Couple
William from St Louis, MO
June 27, 2014
Couple
3.0
Location
Where to start first of all they were doing construction very loud at times, one of the elevators was not working for the entire time we were there, had to pay for internet access that you get for free in almost every lower star rating hotel,

And having to pay for parking when you are already paying for a room at not a cheep rate, I would only give crowne plaza like a 2 star rating hotel is run down and not worth what the charge I don't ever see myself staying at a crowne plaza again it was my first time and my last.

Reviews of Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile
(1 - 10 of 200 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Magnificent Mile
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg