Congress Plaza Hotel

Congress Plaza Hotel in Chicago

Congress Plaza Hotel

Congress Plaza Hotel Image
2 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.4/10
520 South Michigan Avenue
Chicago, IL 60605
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for Congress Plaza Hotel in Chicago

See Most Popular hotels in Chicago
Based on 640 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Congress Plaza Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.4.0
6.4
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 6.4.0
6.4
Hotel Staff
user rating 6.9.0
6.9
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.8.0
8.8
Hotel Dining
user rating 6.4.0
6.4
Check Rates and Availability at the Congress Plaza Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Congress Plaza Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Solo Traveler
Cheng-Yu from Cranston, RI
August 27, 2014
Solo Traveler
7.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Omaha, NE
August 26, 2014
Couple
8.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Winston-Salem, NC
August 26, 2014
Solo Traveler
4.0
It was a pretty convenient for what I intended- right on Michigan Avenue across from Buckingham Fountain in Grant Park and a short walk to Lake Michigan. It was also convenient to public transportation.
It is old and I usually don't mind old because I think old buildings have character, but this was old and faded. The room looked like it hadn't been updated in a LONG time, and it was rather depressing.

Although the location was good, I wouldn't stay here again. The lighting was poor in the room, the TV was small and mounted so far across the room that it was hard to see, the furniture was old & chipped, it took a while to get truly hot water in the shower. The hallways were depressing, made that way by dim fluorescent lighting, with some wallpaper peeling. The elevator doors wouldn't stay open long enough for people to get both out & in; they would start to close and didn't have sensors that would reopen them if you were still in the doorway- my leg got caught. I called the front desk a couple times and dealt with employees who were unprofessional bordering on rude. This may have been a grand hotel at one time, but at this point it is rather a dump. I have stayed at other hotels in the immediate area for a similar rate and would definitely stay in one of those the next time I'm in the area. I can't believe I paid as much as I did for this place. ...read more

Yee Wong from Subang Jaya, Malaysia
August 24, 2014
6.0
Location is great. Very near to the CTA train stations. Just walk 2 blocks and we are at the hotel entrance. CTA buses are nearby and all the tourist spots are near like the Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium, Field museums etc.
The building is a bit dated and some of the doors don't close properly. Reception could be more friendly esp. when we travellers came from far away places to visit Chicago.

Very easy to get to the Hotel from Midway Airport. Just take the orange train at the airport and get off at the Harold Washington Library. Walk 2 blocks and we reached the Hotel. Our flight back to New York is from O'Hare Airport so we took the blue train at Dearborn street near the HW Library station - again it is convenient by walking from the hotel.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Zachary from Norman, OK
August 24, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
9.0
The location was great!
No continental breakfast available, even though we thought that was included. Also, the parking was incredibly expensive. It would have been really nice to have a heads up about that.

This hotel is located just across the street from Grant Park and the beautiful buckingham fountain. It is within walking distance of many interesting spots.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from New Albany, IN
August 22, 2014
Couple
6.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Business Traveler
Lori from Machesney Park, IL
August 22, 2014
Business Traveler
5.0
Great location. I was able to walk to everything, including where my convention was being held. Shopping and food close by....very convenient.
Hotel was overall dirty, hallway in my area was not vacuumed in the three days I was there. Needs an overhaul.

Staff was friendly. Doorman was helpful with directing me to nearby stores. Bellmen were very helpful with luggage on last day. Good location, public areas on main floor were nice. Housekeeping in general has some to be desired. Great value for what I needed.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Bloomington, MN
August 22, 2014
Couple
9.0
Excellent location! Right in the middle of downtown and within walking distance of several attractions.
Rooms are little outdated and show age but still very clean and good price for the quality/location.

A great stay. Good staff, great location!

Couple
Charles from Bettendorf, IA
August 22, 2014
Couple
5.0
Location being across from Grant Park
Room was very very old. The carpet was not laid down properly so I kept tripping. The bathroom was linoleum and had spots that had holes in it. The door to the bathroom was dirty and just in real poor condition. I really didn't want to touch it.

The staff at the front desk did not seem very polite and acted like they didn't want to be there. Overall it would be a excellent place to stay with an investment to bring the rooms up to date or at least close to it.

Group Traveler
Victoria from Inver Grove, MN
August 21, 2014
Group Traveler
6.0
The location right by everything!
Yes the rooms were old and needed some paint and new furniture. Things were worn out.

Even though the room wasn't perfect the pricing was good for this location. Also even though the hotel is old the details and how the building is laid out is very interesting.

Reviews of Congress Plaza Hotel
(1 - 10 of 200 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Congress Plaza Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg