Congress Plaza Hotel

Congress Plaza Hotel in Chicago

Congress Plaza Hotel

Congress Plaza Hotel Image
2 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.4/10
520 South Michigan Avenue
Chicago, IL 60605
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for Congress Plaza Hotel in Chicago

See Most Popular hotels in Chicago
Based on 760 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Congress Plaza Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.4.0
6.4
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 6.5.0
6.5
Hotel Staff
user rating 6.9.0
6.9
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Hotel Dining
user rating 6.3.0
6.3
Check Rates and Availability at the Congress Plaza Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Congress Plaza Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Frankfort, IL
December 10, 2014
Solo Traveler
2.0
The sheets were nice and clean. The room was clean.
I don't believe by the colors of the room that the room had been updated since the 80's. The wallpaper was falling off the walls in places. The PTAC unit was very difficult to use and the room was hot and I could not get the temperature down.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Bettendorf, IA
December 9, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
5.0
I'm a history buff that loves old buildings. The Congress Hotel has been able to keep a lot of original touches in place. The lobby is beautiful. However, the age of the building does become a negative once you get to the guest rooms.
My room had a very strange smell upon entry. Once in the room for a while I didn't notice it. Bed was softer than my liking. Bathroom was cobbled together. The rooms could use an update!
Family Traveling with Young Children
Misty from North Judson, IN
December 9, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
My kids were super excited to be staying in a "haunted hotel". Unfortunately we did not see any ghost but we still had fun.
Bathroom door didn't latch close,, shower drain didn't work rel well.
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Victoriaq, Canada
December 7, 2014
Business Traveler
2.0
It had a TV, door and a bed.
Run down, tired ,poorly decorated, bathroom scared me. - will stay at the airport and commute before I'd stay there again.
Senior Travelers
Verified Hotel Guest from Marshfield, WI
December 7, 2014
Senior Travelers
7.0
Location and some pleasant, helpful staff. Room was fresh and clean. Bed comfortable.
One grumpy desk attendant.
Senior Travelers
Richard G from San An Tonio, TX
December 7, 2014
Senior Travelers
10.0
Friendly staff closeness to magnificent mile
Bed frames at foot of bed protruded and caused trauma to my shins. They need to be padded or removed
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Urbana, IL
December 1, 2014
Business Traveler
9.0
Location.
The room look spooky. The mirror is huge but the tv is not. The cleaning staff took my shoe box away as trash.WiFi can only register one device for free.My phone played online video automatically in the elevator. It costed me a lot of data.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from North Oaks, MN
November 29, 2014
Couple
1.0
Location was good.
The rooms were small, entire hotel is old and not in a charming way. Bed was the worst I have slept on. Do not stay here, you will not want to walk barefoot. The shower flooded.
Business Traveler
Joel from Santa Ana, CA
November 26, 2014
Business Traveler
8.0
It was close to my desired location so it was a perfect fit for my needs. The hotel itself was solid plus the staff was friendly.
The room felt a bit dated in appearance because of the walls

It is situated in downtown Chicago about two blocks from the train stations that take you anywhere in the city for a few bucks. Parking is 14$ a night, luckily I didn't need it. They were fixing the front sliding doors during my stay, only 1 pair of them were opening at a time.

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Puyallup, WA
November 25, 2014
Business Traveler
5.0
The location was great and there's a couple decent (but expensive) restaurants in the hotel.
The beds were too hard and the linens were warn. The bathroom was dated and tiles were starting to fall off. The shower never had hot water. Overall the hotel is just very dated and needs renovation.

Apparently the hotel is haunted

Reviews of Congress Plaza Hotel
(1 - 10 of 201 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Congress Plaza Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg