Congress Plaza Hotel

Congress Plaza Hotel

Congress Plaza Hotel Image
2 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.4/10
520 South Michigan Avenue
Chicago, IL 60605
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for Congress Plaza Hotel in Chicago

See Most Popular hotels in Chicago
Based on 946 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Congress Plaza Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.4.0
6.4
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 6.5.0
6.5
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.0.0
7.0
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Hotel Dining
user rating 6.3.0
6.3
Check Rates and Availability at the Congress Plaza Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Congress Plaza Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Gaurav from Raleigh, NC
July 28, 2015
Couple
5.0
Hotel needs renovation. Hallway carpets are old and worn out.
Group Traveler
Jasmine from Matteson, IL
July 28, 2015
Group Traveler
5.0
They don't have a lot of cable channels. A member of housekeeping just walked into our room unannounced. We had to keep calling downstairs for towels which made us late for our reservations.Housekeeping came and took all of our towels.
Couple
Travis from Columbus`, OH
July 28, 2015
Couple
5.0
It was where I needed to be and had a nice, active lobby. The staff was friendly and helpful.
The rooms were very old, the bed was incredibly uncomfortable. This place desperately needs a renovation.
Peter from Burlington, CT
July 27, 2015
the room had a view of the fountain looking out to Lake Michigan!
Alberto from Miami, FL
July 27, 2015
Location. Friendly front-desk staff.
Verified Hotel Guest from Marina Del Rey, CA
July 27, 2015
The location was the only thing nice about this place.
Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Plymouth, WI
July 27, 2015
Group Traveler
4.0
Rooms smell like mothballs. Water heats very slowly
Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Durham, NC
July 27, 2015
Family Traveling with Teens
6.0
The location is hard to beat. Right at the main promenade to Grant Park, with easy access to what felt like nearly every public transit route we could ask for. The common areas were very nice as well. TONS of electrical outlets in the room.
Room felt dingy, and while the beds were made each day, they did not clean until the last full day (conveniently they came by in the evening asking if our room had been cleaned that morning). Hallway reeked of paint thinner, and rooms smelled musty.

Definitely would never have willfully paid full price for this hotel. The elements were there--location was awesome, looks grandiose, employees were helpful and friendly enough, and I didn't even have an outright problem with the flaking paint on the walls and dark stains/grime between the bathroom tiles (character, right?), but I think they must have been trying to paint in the stairwell without properly ventilating because it gave us a headache to step out of the elevator. They had "run out of fans" so we couldn't circulate the air in our room. Though we were offered to switch rooms (very readily, I should add--again, the staff were generally helpful), we were too exhausted to move that night and the next day the smell went away (to be replaced by some neighboring room smoking some skunk). Also was not confident that the beds did not have bedbugs, even after thoroughly checking, because of the amount of dead bits of skin and other things that were vaguely the size of bed bugs and eggs on the mattress (so far, so good, I think). Overall, there is no way this hotel had 80% of guests recommending it like the blind deal suggested it did. They could make this an unbelievable destination hotel if they put forth a concerted effort. ...read more

Couple
George from St. Louis, MO
July 27, 2015
Couple
9.0
Location to Millennium Park, Jazz Showcase, river tours, shopping and restaurants...great. Also the view of Millennium Park, and the waterfront and lake was awesome from the 11th floor. The staff is very attentive and knows their stuff.
Absolutely a wonderful experience and I have nothing bad to say about the Congress.

Staff is excellent, bell hops, housekeeping, desk clerks,

Lance from Paris, TN
July 26, 2015
10.0
I WOULD stay here again. The hotel was right in the middle of everything. The location was very handy. For an older hotel it was very neat,clean and has a lot of character. The staff was wonderful. It was nice to have a safe clean place to sleep at night.
Reviews of Congress Plaza Hotel
(1 - 10 of 200 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Congress Plaza Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.