Congress Plaza Hotel

Congress Plaza Hotel in Chicago

Congress Plaza Hotel

Congress Plaza Hotel Image
2 and 1/2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.4/10
520 South Michigan Avenue
Chicago, IL 60605
take a virtual tour

Hotel Guest Rating for Congress Plaza Hotel in Chicago

See Most Popular hotels in Chicago
Based on 770 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Congress Plaza Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.4.0
6.4
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 6.5.0
6.5
Hotel Staff
user rating 6.9.0
6.9
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Hotel Dining
user rating 6.3.0
6.3
Check Rates and Availability at the Congress Plaza Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Congress Plaza Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Champaign, IL
January 9, 2015
Couple
6.0
History of hotel
The brown water that came out of the bathroom sink
Group Traveler
Jagan from Coralville, IA
January 7, 2015
Group Traveler
8.0
Location
needs to be refurbished - Everything looks old
Group Traveler
Jennifer from White Lake, MI
January 5, 2015
Group Traveler
9.0
The rooms were large and quiet. The hotel was booked as it was New Year's Eve but the halls were quiet, late in the evening and in the morning.
There were only 2 elevators which made getting up and down in the South Tower take a long time.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from East Lansing, MI
January 4, 2015
Solo Traveler
3.0
i can use free wifi in the room, and the price was approximately ---bucks a day
I could not sleep until 3 am due to the noise from the next room. And overally. He hotel room was a little bit cold even though I turn on the heater. Additionally, the air coming from the heater make my throught uncomfortable. clean ip is required!
Couple
Heather from Fort Wayne, IN
December 23, 2014
Couple
9.0
Had a nice city view from our room. Room was clean. History of establishment was intriguing. Location was close to all venues we visited. Staff were friendly. Got a free breakfast due to overnight commotion by other guests on our floor.
Very disruptive yelling and fighting on our floor around 3:30am. Room got very hot despite not having the heat on. Windows would not open without maintenance man intervention. Bathtub would not drain properly.
Couple
Ashley from Madison, WI
December 16, 2014
Couple
4.0
location
the room was very dingy and old. The wallpaper was peeling off the wall. The dresser had numerous scratches and looked like it had been knocked around. We were only given three smaller pillows for two people.

Really dissapointed. I realize this hotel is old, but there is really no excuse for the conditions of the inside rooms. It could really use some updated furniture and decor on the inside of the room.

Douglas from Goshen, IN
December 16, 2014
6.0
Older hotel with a lot of character and located on Michigan.
Really needs to be refurbished. Toilet was leaking, vanity was cracked.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Frankfort, IL
December 10, 2014
Solo Traveler
2.0
The sheets were nice and clean. The room was clean.
I don't believe by the colors of the room that the room had been updated since the 80's. The wallpaper was falling off the walls in places. The PTAC unit was very difficult to use and the room was hot and I could not get the temperature down.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Bettendorf, IA
December 9, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
5.0
I'm a history buff that loves old buildings. The Congress Hotel has been able to keep a lot of original touches in place. The lobby is beautiful. However, the age of the building does become a negative once you get to the guest rooms.
My room had a very strange smell upon entry. Once in the room for a while I didn't notice it. Bed was softer than my liking. Bathroom was cobbled together. The rooms could use an update!
Family Traveling with Young Children
Misty from North Judson, IN
December 9, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
My kids were super excited to be staying in a "haunted hotel". Unfortunately we did not see any ghost but we still had fun.
Bathroom door didn't latch close,, shower drain didn't work rel well.
Reviews of Congress Plaza Hotel
(1 - 10 of 200 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Congress Plaza Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg