Commonwealth Court Guest House

Commonwealth Court Guest House in Boston

Commonwealth Court Guest House

Commonwealth Court Guest House Image
2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.5/10
284 Commonwealth Avenue
Boston, MA 02115

Hotel Guest Rating for Commonwealth Court Guest House in Boston

See Most Popular hotels in Boston
Based on 41 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Commonwealth Court Guest House
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.5.0
7.5
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.5.0
7.5
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.1.0
7.1
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.3.0
9.3
Hotel Dining
user rating 7.0.0
7.0
Check Rates and Availability at the Commonwealth Court Guest House
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Commonwealth Court Guest House

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Mashpee, MA
November 16, 2014
Group Traveler
7.0
Location was excellent. Staff was friendly.
Room was really small. not like the photos online. kitchen was old space was not very inviting as a place to hang out... but if you just want to use it to see boston and/or go shopping, it is very well located. Parking is not easy & it's expensive.

Parking on the street is non-existant. the only 24 hour parking is a few blocks away. NOT the lot the hotel recommended - which has specific hours and only accepts cash. If you're also trying to get to and from the airport, I would definitely ask about parking hours and prices!

Solo Traveler
William from Western Springs, IL
June 18, 2014
Solo Traveler
5.0
Great location !
It was in rather disrepair

A bit like dorm life.

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Amherst, MA
May 10, 2014
Solo Traveler
10.0
Beautifull, great location in Back Bay, cleanliness, tvworking. The Nternet connection was imoossible to get on my tablet. There is no staff. You aare given the keys when you are expected to arrive.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Oxnard, CA
November 7, 2013
Couple
8.0
Location, location, location!
Pillows were horrible but I could live with them for the location.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Bronxville, NY
August 28, 2013
Solo Traveler
8.0
The room was physically stunning. Ten foot ceiling, huge windows, fireplace, kitchenette and spacious. The location in back bay can't be beat. One block from Newbury. And the price was reasonable
The parking is atrocious. There should be temporary passes for street parking. Otherwise, the nearest garage is about a 6 minute brisk walk! I got two parking tickets which cost as much as the garage, however! And then, there was the mold in the bathroom.

The room was physically gorgeous. If you like old buildings with tons of charm, character then you will like this place. I wish I could say that the room was beautifully decorated, however. It wasn't. The furnishings were cheap and shabby, but the physical beauty of the room over-shadowed that. It really was stunning, with a fireplace and gorgeous mouldings, ten foot ceilings and a huge bay window. There was a kitchenette that was also useful. The biggest problem was that there was a horrible moldy smell and the source was traced to the shower in the bathroom. I told management the following day and when I returned, the room had been cleaned, but the mold was still there. I mentioned it two more times and nothing was ever done about it again. I took photos before I left and emailed them to the primary managers who wrote back immediately and apologized profusely and sent me a gift voucher for $50. It really is a shame, because this could be an amazing place to stay and just that one small thing which is an easy fix marred the room. Over-all, I would definitely stay there again, and would recommend the place. Parking is an issue, however. Its quite expensive. ...read more

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Columbia, SC
July 25, 2013
Solo Traveler
9.0
Location

Location was great, nice guesthouse, close to public transportation and restaurants! Clean room.

Business Traveler
Jerry from Glen Gardner, NJ
May 3, 2013
Business Traveler
8.0
Great location. Great value
No night table near the bed.

Considering the excellent location the room was a great value. Free internet made the value even more so. Room was small but adequate. No elevator, no formal lobby.

Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Farmington Hills, MI
March 23, 2013
Family Traveling with Teens
9.0
Wonderful location! 5 minutes to T station, on the newburry street, excellent for shopping!

The wifi is not stable.

Solo Traveler
William from Minneapolis, MN
March 12, 2013
Solo Traveler
9.0
Location, location, location! One block to Newbury and two blocks to Boylston--how can you go wrong? I also loved the kitchenette.
Gotta fix the WiFi--it was on and off for four nights.

I loved this place. Don't get me wrong--if you are a princess and the pea type, if you write scalding reviews because a hotel put a Ghirardelli and not a Godiva on your pillow, you're not going to like it here. But if you like quirky places and lots of personality, and you don't mind a little fraying around the edges, I'd highly recommend the Commonwealth Court Guest House. Why quirky? For example, the place doesn't even have a sign. It's an old apartment building in a great old building. The proprietor was nice and helpful, things seemed maintained, considering its age and layers of paint. My room had a little kitchenette which I loved, complete with a small fridge, microwave, range top, full-sized coffee maker for this caffeine junky. the room was small, but I've had smaller. Best of all, the location! I would definitely stay there again, if the price is right. I could see not being happy if I paid the going rate for hotels in this area, but I got it real cheap. But if I could get the same rate again, I'm there. ...read more

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from New Orleans, LA
February 27, 2013
Solo Traveler
5.0
Location, staff was kind
poor and old rooms, no elevator, they never answer the phone, no 24 hours staff service
Reviews of Commonwealth Court Guest House
(1 - 10 of 14 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Commonwealth Court Guest House
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg