Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village

Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village in Belfast

Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village

Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village Image
2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.7/10
7 Eagle Avenue
Belfast, ME 04915

Hotel Guest Rating for Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village in Belfast

# 1 of 5 hotels in Belfast
Based on 29 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.7.0
8.7
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.7.0
8.7
Hotel Staff
user rating 9.3.0
9.3
Location of Hotel
user rating 9.1.0
9.1
Check Rates and Availability at the Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Plymouth, NH
June 11, 2014
Solo Traveler
10.0
Recently renovated room. Excellent workmanship.

I stayed in the motel section near the highway which was still quite quiet. They have lovely cabins all around the property all the way down to the water's edge. Beautiful.

Group Traveler
Janice from Cartersville, GA
June 9, 2014
Group Traveler
10.0
Location of cottages next to water's edge was wonderful. The ladies in the office were extremely kind, friendly, &helpful. We changed from 4 motel rms to 2 cottages, which had recently been beautifully remodeled. Loved the simple tranquility and views.
It is on a major highway, so if you stay in the motel, you might experience some traffic noise. Some of the cabins are older and need remodeling, so just be cautious of choice. Ours were great. Had to drive a little distance to restaurants.

This is a classic locally run motel / cottage establishment where you feel you are treated like family. The newly remodeled cottages had two baths, which seems to be rare for many of the family run businesses. Our cottage appeared totally new on the inside with custom drapes and bedding. The kitchen was cottage sized but had everything needed for a longer stay. The deck with bay view was inviting. We were there only one night, and wished we could have stayed longer. ...read more

Family Traveling with Young Children
Laurie from Spring Hill, FL
June 4, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Waldoboro, ME
October 12, 2013
Couple
6.0
Oceanfront, friendly staff.
It was a little more outdated than I expected.

Average hotel room, kind of dated. They also have oceanfront cottages, which we did not see the inside of. They may be very nice, for all we know. Friendly staff.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Niantic, CT
October 8, 2013
Couple
1.0
location/view. kitchenette was adequate but lacked cleanliness expected.
shabby outside, unbalanced floor, lacked cleanliness and needed repairs in bathroom. Bed/bedding just adequate.

I would not recommend Cottage 22 - it was NOT a "deluxe studio cottage" as advertised. The bathroom floor was so uneven you felt like you were going to slide from it to the bedroom. The bathroom floor was old linoleum type tiles with poor sealing and some mildew existed. There was no room in bathroom for cosmetics, etc. just a small medicine cabinet. The bedding was mediocre as well as mattress. The kitchenette was well stocked with dishes, etc. The entire "cottage" lacked cleanliness - housekeeping poor. Air conditioner did not work well. The outside of the cottage was shabby, in need of repair and paint. Not at all what we expected from the pictures or description on line. ...read more

Couple
Dianne from Franklin, WI
September 30, 2013
Couple
10.0
Friendliness of the staff; location and ocean view; cuteness and cleanliness of the cottages

When I checked in my husband and I were given an upgrade to a cottage, which was a delightful surprise! The cottages may look small from the outside, but our kingsize bed cottage was roomy inside and included a kitchenette. We had a very nice stay and would stay here again.

Couple
James from Marlton, NJ
August 24, 2013
Couple
10.0
We loved the ocean view, the coziness of the cottage we were in, the proximity to downtown Belfast and the mid-coast region, and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.
I honestly can't say that there were any negatives. I've stayed here before and enjoyed it then, too.

This is my second stay at this charming place. I've been in a cottage both times, so I really can't speak to the motel rooms, but I would guess the experience would be much the same. The cottages are compact, functional, and clean. They all have a stunning view of the upper end of Penobscot Bay, one of the most beautiful areas in Maine. They're just perfect for those who like just a tad more privacy than a conventional motel room. The staff is friendly and accommodating, and willing to do what they can to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The grounds are well tended with beautiful gardens. Although there are plenty of terrific restaurants in the Belfast area, if you want to save a little money, the cottages have kitchenettes and Belfast has two great places to food shop -- the Co-op and Hannaford's supermarket. There are also a number of gourmet specialty shops in Belfast's picturesque downtown. In conclusion, if you've fallen in love with Belfast (and who wouldn't?), there are many nice places to stay, but Colonial Gables ought to be at the top of anyone's list. Note: If you're a spoiled and pampered Housewife of Somewhere, then maybe you shouldn't even be in Maine, much less staying at Colonial Gables. Perhaps a resort on the French Riviera might be more suitable for you. ...read more

Couple
Jennifer from Hannibal, MO
June 11, 2013
Couple
10.0
this is not a hotel, it's a space station - er, I mean a fantastic cottage! it was clean, smelled wonderfully of warm wood, all re-done and beautifully sized and warm at night! we had the best week ever!
the only recommendation i'd have for this beautiful place is to have a guest laundry area at the main office/hotel area - my goodness we fell in love with this place!

We plan to stay here each and every time we visit Maine! What a gorgeous, quiet, romantic location so close to town and right on the ocean...we could buy lobster at Young's and cook it in our own kitchen and eat on our own deck overlooking the incoming tide...the ladies running the office were so very helpful with pointing out the best places to eat in town - even where to catch a really late blueberry pancake breakfast! ...read more

Couple
Kristopher from Limerick, ME
May 6, 2013
Couple
10.0
The staff was very friendly and even though we only had a motel room we had our own orivate deck and a view of the bay I loved it :)

Was a very clean and quiet place the staff was really nice awesome place to walk around and for children they have a play ground and places to sit and enjoy the view can't wait to go back was really worth the money :)

Couple
Karen from Haverhill, MA
October 31, 2012
Couple
9.0
We booked a room, but was offered a cottage (with a seaside view) at the same price!! Extra nice since we brought our puppy with us.Love that pets are allowed at no extra cost (as long as you cleanup after them & don't leave them unattended).
Could NOT figure out how to turn the heat OFF in the cottage. It was so hot we had to open the windows.
Reviews of Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
(1 - 10 of 20 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg