Chicago Getaway Hostel

Chicago Getaway Hostel in Chicago

Chicago Getaway Hostel

Chicago Getaway Hostel Image
1 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.6/10
616 West Arlington House
Chicago, IL 60614

Hotel Guest Rating for Chicago Getaway Hostel in Chicago

See Most Popular hotels in Chicago
Based on 34 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Chicago Getaway Hostel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.6.0
6.6
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.2.0
7.2
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.2.0
8.2
Location of Hotel
user rating 7.9.0
7.9
Hotel Dining
user rating 4.9.0
4.9
Check Rates and Availability at the Chicago Getaway Hostel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Chicago Getaway Hostel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Michael from St. Louis, MO
March 1, 2015
Couple
10.0
Wonderful staff, clean and safe facilities, great location, enjoyed the pub crawls and other organized events, met lots of cool people, can walk to everything you need, kitchen is awesome.
Nothing, everything was perfect.
Solo Traveler
Qilan from Bloomington, IN
December 30, 2014
Solo Traveler
7.0
the loction and friendly staff
I can hear clear voice from the room next to mine.
Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Atlanta, GA
December 28, 2014
Group Traveler
7.0
The kitchen was great! It had everything. the people who worked there were nice too! The location is wonderful. Parking was easy to find on the streets and it is so close to Lincoln park.
The beds are terrible to sleep in. I stayed there 2 nights and did not get good sleep and same for my friends who traveled with me. Other than that, everything was nice!
Verified Hotel Guest from Waterloo, Canada
July 7, 2014
7.0
It is cheap, and has free breakfast.
The hotel flooded after a very heavy rain. Do not stay in the lower floors in rainy seasons.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Sen from Iowa, IA
June 4, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
5.0
the Staff is very good and give us many helpful suggestions.
There is no restroom in the room, which is not convenient.

It has just two high-and-low beds and a table, a fan in the room. I think it is fit for young people to make friends but not very convinient for family with children.

Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Columbus, OH
October 17, 2013
Group Traveler
6.0
Great location and friendly staff.
Room was tiny and cold; the blankets were very thin and the bunk-beds were uncomfortable and did not feel safe. Also the closet had an unpleasant odor.

Not worth the money; spend a little more and stay at a real hotel.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Olmsted Township, OH
July 22, 2013
Couple
9.0
The staff was wonderful
Although they provided towels they did not provide washcloths

I can't brag enough about the staff. They were exceptionally nice. I would go back there for sure.

Solo Traveler
Roderick from Long Valley, NJ
March 18, 2013
Solo Traveler
8.0
This hostel has a beautiful atmosphere, where art fills entire rooms- not just in public spaces. Many fun events were planned; unfortunately I cannot rate any as I had a short trip.
The only complaint would be that the shared showers are not so great (only some rooms have full bath). But that's to be expected with a hostel.

If you're okay settling for the atmosphere of a hostel versus a hotel (may include shared showers and self-serve cafeteria) then this is a great place! They really go to an effort to both make this a beautiful social place and show you Chicago.

Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Mankato, MN
March 15, 2013
Group Traveler
8.0
Good location, ease of cooking your own food and not spending eating out, good staff.
The toilets are kinda dirty.

If you are a student visiting Chicago and want to be able to visit uptown, downtown and most of the happening places then Gateway is for you. Everything is close by and you can use the Lite Rail to almost everywhere. Safe location, cool people and good places to eat and club. Just make sure to ask Priceline to clear with Gateway how many people will be residing in the room. The one we booked (my 2 friends and I), it seemed to fit 3 people(which it did, if you share the bigger bed) said that the occupancy is for 2 people. We called the hostel and they said it shouldn't be a problem and they wouldn't charge us extra. But when we got there, they told us that Priceline hadn't informed them of the situation so we ended up paying $20 extra per night. ...read more

Group Traveler
Mike from Yorkville, IL
February 4, 2013
Group Traveler
4.0
The staff was nice and helpfull
I feel the hotel was no where near what the description was. I did not expect there to not be a shower and rstroom in the hotel room.

The oval trip in general was fun. I enjoyed the convenient location and accessability to the surrounding areas. Unfortunately the hotel did not smell to good in the room, it somewhat seemed like sauna.i did not realize the betters deal I could have gotten at a better hotel until after I payed the full bill. There was no problem with the staff at all, very nice people that had an answer for every question. The breakfast was also good for being on the house. ...read more

Reviews of Chicago Getaway Hostel
(1 - 10 of 11 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Chicago Getaway Hostel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg