Chelsea Inn

Chelsea Inn in New York City

Chelsea Inn

Chelsea Inn Image
1 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.1/10
46 West 17Th Street
New York, NY 10011

Hotel Guest Rating for Chelsea Inn in New York City

See Most Popular hotels in New York City
Based on 39 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Chelsea Inn
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.1.0
7.1
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.6.0
7.6
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.5.0
7.5
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.8.0
8.8
Hotel Dining
user rating 7.6.0
7.6
Check Rates and Availability at the Chelsea Inn
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Chelsea Inn

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Solo Traveler
Duncan from Houston, TX
June 27, 2014
Solo Traveler
10.0
location, friendly staff, Inn was kept very cIean
No

Chelsea Inn is very rustic, and might not be for everyone. One shares a bathroom, which didn't bother me. Room was quiet.

Charles from New Braunfels, TX
June 26, 2014
4.0
The breakfast sandwich at the discounted restaurant next door was excellent and VERY filling. I had the egg-sausage-cheese on ciabatta bread.
The shared bathroom situation was a nuisance. The baited pest traps on the floor of the room and closet were both unexpected and unsettling! The bedspread was stained and its cleanliness was in question.
Business Traveler
Jeffry from Meriden, CT
June 20, 2014
Business Traveler
3.0
Cool vibe
My door / lock was stuck and I spent 20 minutes trying to get it open. This was after the front desk had closed and no one ever responded from the emergency numbers. If I didn't get the door open, I would have been sleeping in the bathroom or hallway.
Group Traveler
Anthony from Philadelphia, PA
October 30, 2013
Group Traveler
1.0
The convenience of the location pertaining to my intended venues.
Everything. It's ugly, outdated, smelly, dirty, roach motels and rat poison IN THE ROOM. The desk lady, Michelle, was terribly rude and bullyish. Customer service was atrocious.

It was horrible. Doesn't look like it's been updated since the place was built. Paint chipping on the walls. The room was so narrow that it was barely wide enough for two twin beds side by side. Roach motels, and rat traps. I asked for a late check out and was told I could have 15 minutes. The lady had THE WORST bully attitude I have ever seen in customer service. Apparently the hair dryer was off the wall? None of us have hair and therefore no one touched the hair dryer, but she really tried to charge me for replastering THE WHOLE WALL just to put it back. THEN she calls again, to complain that we moved the bed. We pushed one back against the wall so that there was room to actually walk in the amazingly narrow room. She asked us to COME BACK so that we can move it back since it is "terribly inconvenient for us". It wasn't worth $50 let alone the price I paid. I called my credit card company to make sure they wouldn't be allowed to charge us anything else, and she, Michelle, gave the credit card guy attitude and then hung up on him. And she JUST NOW sent me another email complaining about the beds, AGAIN. It's wire framed cot that weighs 5 pounds. She also told me she needed to charge me $30 for a "deep cleaning of the carpet and curtains". She's very spiteful, and mean. I would rather have stayed at a Day's Inn in New Jersey somewhere. It was the worst experience with a hotel that I have ever had in NYC. ...read more

Group Traveler
Darren from Burlington, WI
June 26, 2013
Group Traveler
3.0
location
expected two double beds and not one double bed and a cot that blocks the room walkway when being used. the television was blurry and some channels showed double vision.the room was very musty when first arriving.
Couple
Karen from Houston, TX
June 11, 2013
Couple
9.0
Very helpful friendly staff, reasonable price, and great location
We changed rooms and the a/c wasn't great, but the staff reminded us there was an emergency number that we didn't use.

Overall ver good experience. We plan to return.

Couple
Robert from Kansas City, MO
June 5, 2013
Couple
6.0
Great Location and friendly staff.
Great place to stay in the right location and price.

It was great for the price. Watch out it does not have elevator and is 4 stories.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Beit Izhak, Israel
April 1, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
4.0
location
the room is small. the bad is not enough for 2 people. very poor breakfast
Solo Traveler
Suzanna from Mobile, AL
March 31, 2013
Solo Traveler
1.0
The toilet was only clogged for 4 hours. After that, they fixed it.
They did not clean the sheets before I checked in. This was obvious because there were multiple hairs on my pillow and grit in the sheets. The hotel refunded me a whole $30. Never again!

The toilet was out of commission for 4 hours and the bed linen was not changed before I checked in.

Business Traveler
Kristin from Longmont, CO
February 26, 2013
Business Traveler
10.0
This hotel was extremely affordable and perfect for my needs, which was a bed, close to union square, Internet connection, and a restroom.
I knew that this hotel had stairs only and shared bathrooms so my expectations were met.

This hotel was extremely affordable and perfect for my needs, which was a bed, close to union square, Internet connection, and a restroom. If you stay here, you must be able to take stairs and haul your own luggage. The bathroom is shared but everyone was respectful and clean about the use of the restroom. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There are no perks like elevators, hot tubs, or common areas. It is like staying in a friend's extra room and sharing the bathroom. There is also no way to make food but I did have a small refrigerator in which to keep my drinks, yogurt, and sandwich supplies. The subway is close too. I loved my time here but amenities aren't abundant and I knew that before arrival so my expectations were met. ...read more

Reviews of Chelsea Inn
(1 - 10 of 18 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Chelsea Inn
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg