Castle Kona Bali Kai

Castle Kona Bali Kai

Castle Kona Bali Kai Image
2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.0/10
76-6246 Alii Drive
Kailua Kona, HI 96740

Hotel Guest Rating for Castle Kona Bali Kai in Kailua Kona

# 10 of 36 hotels in Kailua Kona
Based on 32 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Castle Kona Bali Kai
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.0.0
6.0
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 5.9.0
5.9
Hotel Staff
user rating 6.3.0
6.3
Location of Hotel
user rating 6.4.0
6.4
Hotel Dining
user rating 3.3.0
3.3
Check Rates and Availability at the Castle Kona Bali Kai
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Castle Kona Bali Kai

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Wadsworth, Japan
July 11, 2015
Solo Traveler
1.0
Nothing
1. They take a cleaning fee, which costs $42. (This is mandatory.)2. Beach is faraway from hotel.3. Public transfer is only one ride for every two hours.4. A lot of bugs.5. The curtain is broken and people can look in to my room.
Couple
Kenneth from Jefferson, OR
March 3, 2015
Couple
5.0
The grounds where very well kept. The view was better then we expected for a partial ocean view. The shower and bath area where nice tile.
The smell when we walked in was not pleasant. The freezer smelled so bad I had to clean it with baking soda and lemons. Couldn't use it for the first 3 days. Stove couldn't use front two burners. Linens very outdated. Rug was dirty and furniture dusty.
Couple
Nancy from Livermore, CA
February 18, 2015
Couple
9.0
My partial ocean view was fantastic! The grills and picnic tables by the ocean were really nice and a great place to meet other nice folks - some who were residents.
The coffee pot was dirty. That's all.
Couple
William from Tacoma, WA
May 14, 2014
Couple
7.0
We upgraded to a view room. The views were great. The tidal pools out back were alive with turtles and fish.
The place is very dated and needs to be updated.
Business Traveler
Robert from Washington, DC
January 21, 2014
Business Traveler
3.0
Nothing.
When I arrived the hotel was closed. If a security office had not arrived, I would not have been able to get my room. The key to the front door was stuck, neither I nor the security office could get it to open.

When I checked out, I was charged a $20 cleaning fee. I had spent a total of 8 hours in the room, and I took one shower. This cleaning fee was a hidden expense, and was totally unwarranted. I would strongly recommend against staying at this dump.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Surprise, AZ
December 3, 2013
Couple
4.0
That we were only going to stay there one night.
Room was across the street from the hotel and hence no ocean view even when you got out of your room.

I guess it was okay by Big Island standards but it certainly was not what I expected. The room was actually across the street from the ocean and parking lot was difficult to find. Likewise the check in folks were a little hard to understand.

Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Aiea, HI
September 9, 2013
Family Traveling with Teens
3.0
Their friendly check in service. Check out was leave the key in the room, no one will be there that early in the AM to assist checking out. We needed to check out at 0530 to make a tee time.
Our upgrade did not have air conditioning. The free upgrade was availabe because their smaller unit needed maintenance. No beds for two males. Father and teen. Just a double bed for one and a poor condition sofa sleeper. I slept in the open lanai on a

lawn chair fronting the ocean view. As for priceline.com? I will not use your services again. After several attempts to secure a bid, I was not satisfied with the location and i pondered about the condition of the motel and could not undo me bid. If I had a second chance to submit another bid, I would have paid more for a better place to stay. Your service was not a pleasent experience. I would not recommend this site to anyone other than those who can only afford dirt cheap. An aquaintence went online and could have made reservations at the same location for the same price. He paid more to stay at a better location. Priceline.com should rethink the bidding process you provide. ...read more

Group Traveler
Erin from Vancouver, Canada
June 5, 2013
Group Traveler
6.0
nothing about it stands out as "the best"
no wi-fi in rooms - only in hotel lobby we were put across street - away from lobby/beach too far down on Ali'i drive

rooms not very clean - carpets dirty room only cleaned if you stay more than 8 nights - we stayed 7 so no clean towels, dish towels, etc. Had to buy our own toilet paper we could not arrange for late check-out until the day of

Group Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Kaneohe, HI
March 15, 2013
Group Traveler
8.0
The staff was helpful. I was very impressed by the room. Was expecting a standard hotel room but instead it was more like a condo with many amenities and awesome view.
Wish I knew more about the public transportation. Tried to use Hele-On but was unsuccessful because I wasn't sure where the bus stop was at.

Very good hotel. Located just outside the touristy area so would likely require transportation unless you got good at using Hele-on. Couldn't beat the view from the room that I had. The front desk was very friendly and helpful.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Mark from Roosevelt, UT
February 26, 2013
Family Traveling with Young Children
8.0
The room was nice and well stocked with what we needed.
I could only find 2 bath towels in the room. The bed spread was in need of a replacement. It had some stains on it that made me a bit scared to sit on it.

Parking was easy and the hotel isn't too far from the middle of town. The Kitchen was well stocked so that you can prepare your own meal or cook fish that you just caught. My room was next to the road and so I did hear traffic all night. I was surprised that things are still hopping at 3 am.

Reviews of Castle Kona Bali Kai
(1 - 10 of 10 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Castle Kona Bali Kai
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.