Bavarian Inn

Bavarian Inn

Bavarian Inn Image
2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 7.4/10
855 North 5th Street
Custer, SD 57730

Hotel Guest Rating for Bavarian Inn in Custer

# 5 of 13 hotels in Custer
Based on 17 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Bavarian Inn
Overall Quality Score
user rating 7.4.0
7.4
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.9.0
7.9
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.3.0
8.3
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.5.0
8.5
Check Rates and Availability at the Bavarian Inn
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Bavarian Inn

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Santaquin, UT
June 23, 2015
Family Traveling with Young Children
9.0
even though clearly this is an older establishment, it is very clean. Nice pool and eating area. lots of things for kids to do. Tennis court, swing set, pool, swimming, they can even take board games to the room.Very friendly staff.
The shower temperature was not stable. it went from extremely hot to freezing cold several times every shower. I did not dare shower my little one. I had to bath her for fear of her getting burned.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Tyler, TX
June 20, 2015
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
Nothing

This a very quaint motel. It was older, but updated nicely. We were really happy with our stay.

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from San Clemente, CA
May 29, 2015
Couple
9.0
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful they are pet friendly. The price was right!
The blinds didn't block the parking lot lights nearly enough - it was too bright to sleep so I used the blankets in my car and some ingenuity to make black out curtains.
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from New London, IA
May 24, 2015
Couple
4.0
Location good. Staff friendly and helpful.
Rooms very tiny and could use some renovatingChairs in lobby very uncomfortable for eating at table. Not enough choices at breakfast.
Senior Travelers
Nelda from Panhandle, TX
April 29, 2015
Senior Travelers
10.0
Very nice people . Clean room and reasonable price.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Danville, CA
April 25, 2015
Solo Traveler
9.0
The staff was friendly and encouraged me to have tea and cookies before I settled into my room. They were also helpful in guiding me where I could find dinner after 9 pm in the off season in Custer. The room was basic, but clean and comfortable..
Couple
Edward from Rapid City, SD
November 3, 2014
Couple
7.0
The exterior is very cute and just barely enough off on its own to forget about the surroundings.
We stayed only one night, and I was REALLY looking forward to the hot tub. It was freezing cold (colder than the pool). I don't know if it was broken or just turned off, but it was annoying.

The outside is much more visually appealing than the inside. The inside is probably in line with the star level, and it may actually be a step above that. I hear that it's under new ownership, and I think some updates are in the works during the off-season (which we are now in as I write this).

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Alpine, UT
August 6, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
2.0
It is located on the outskirts of Custer where we wanted to be.
Air conditioner was a small window type and did not work well at all. Had to haul our luggage to our second floor room via outdoor stairs. The place is run down and old.

For the price that we paid this was much less than we expected compared to other newer hotels in downtown Custer. We had to drive to downtown Custer where the shops and restaurants are. The Bavarian Inn description indicated "Air Conditioning" as a feature but our room had a very small window type of air conditioner that did not cool down our room. The shower head was very low (about 5 feet or so) and I had to stoop over to shampoo my hair. Not very convenient. The front desk people were nice but they were just employees and not responsible for the condition of the rooms. We should have planned further ahead and booked a room at a newer and better hotel in downtown Custer. We procrastinated until just a few days ahead of time and this was all that was available. If you want to visit Custer (which is a very cool town) and everything else is booked then I might suggest this hotel. Otherwise, plan ahead and get into one of the newer hotels in town. ...read more

Family Traveling with Young Children
Adelena from Arlington Heights, IL
August 1, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
It was clean and the staff were friendly. The hotel is located in a central spot to where we were traveling.
It was a pretty small area to gather in the am for coffee and breakfast. The customers do clear out pretty fast though, so it wasn't a problem.

we enjoyed our stay there and would stay again if we return to SD. Their hotel was very nice. I do think it should be rated at least 3 1/2 stars!

Couple
Diane from Martinsville, IL
July 19, 2014
Couple
1.0
Did not stay was not handicap friendly. Wanted to give me a room on 2nd floor with no elevator and large amt of steps. " sorry no rooms on bottom floor".
Reviews of Bavarian Inn
(1 - 10 of 17 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Bavarian Inn
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.