Bavarian Inn Motel

Bavarian Inn Motel in Custer

Bavarian Inn Motel

Bavarian Inn Motel Image
2 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.8/10
855 North 5Th Street
Custer, SD 57730

Hotel Guest Rating for Bavarian Inn Motel in Custer

# 6 of 13 hotels in Custer
Based on 11 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Bavarian Inn Motel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.8.0
6.8
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 7.4.0
7.4
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.8.0
7.8
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.2.0
8.2
Check Rates and Availability at the Bavarian Inn Motel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Bavarian Inn Motel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Edward from Rapid City, SD
November 3, 2014
Couple
7.0
The exterior is very cute and just barely enough off on its own to forget about the surroundings.
We stayed only one night, and I was REALLY looking forward to the hot tub. It was freezing cold (colder than the pool). I don't know if it was broken or just turned off, but it was annoying.

The outside is much more visually appealing than the inside. The inside is probably in line with the star level, and it may actually be a step above that. I hear that it's under new ownership, and I think some updates are in the works during the off-season (which we are now in as I write this).

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Alpine, UT
August 6, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
2.0
It is located on the outskirts of Custer where we wanted to be.
Air conditioner was a small window type and did not work well at all. Had to haul our luggage to our second floor room via outdoor stairs. The place is run down and old.

For the price that we paid this was much less than we expected compared to other newer hotels in downtown Custer. We had to drive to downtown Custer where the shops and restaurants are. The Bavarian Inn description indicated "Air Conditioning" as a feature but our room had a very small window type of air conditioner that did not cool down our room. The shower head was very low (about 5 feet or so) and I had to stoop over to shampoo my hair. Not very convenient. The front desk people were nice but they were just employees and not responsible for the condition of the rooms. We should have planned further ahead and booked a room at a newer and better hotel in downtown Custer. We procrastinated until just a few days ahead of time and this was all that was available. If you want to visit Custer (which is a very cool town) and everything else is booked then I might suggest this hotel. Otherwise, plan ahead and get into one of the newer hotels in town. ...read more

Family Traveling with Young Children
Adelena from Arlington Heights, IL
August 1, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0
It was clean and the staff were friendly. The hotel is located in a central spot to where we were traveling.
It was a pretty small area to gather in the am for coffee and breakfast. The customers do clear out pretty fast though, so it wasn't a problem.

we enjoyed our stay there and would stay again if we return to SD. Their hotel was very nice. I do think it should be rated at least 3 1/2 stars!

Couple
Diane from Martinsville, IL
July 19, 2014
Couple
1.0
Did not stay was not handicap friendly. Wanted to give me a room on 2nd floor with no elevator and large amt of steps. " sorry no rooms on bottom floor".
Couple
Michael from Moline, IL
June 29, 2014
Couple
5.0
The place was a little worn but maintained decently. Free continental Waffle breakfast and Wi- fi was nice. The location was excellent near Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, and Mount Rushmore and downtown Custer shopping.
The staff leaves at night and there was a lot of noise above us, children running and jumping we we're kept up until 1am. Apparently," You must expect that at motels" the staff. For that reason alone I would be cautious about paying--- a night.

The double queen had a common patio outside your door excellent if you smoke. Didn't have time for the pool, there is too much to see and we didn't spend much time at the place only to shower and sleep. The single queen had the sink and vanity next to the bed no room for a chair.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Lafayette, IN
June 26, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
9.0
We liked the décor and uniqueness of the motel. The staff were very friendly and accomadating.
No dislikes
Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Swift Current, Canada
June 24, 2014
Couple
10.0
Staff were great - very friendly
Wifi could have been a little better

Good location, restaurant on premise was excellent, very nice pool facilities

Family Traveling with Young Children
Verified Hotel Guest from Loosdrecht, Netherlands
May 6, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
8.0
The service and kindness of the employees and the number of facilities. Especially the pool, tennis, games etc. Location is great.
Room was old. Bathroom was not so clean and after showering the floor was full of water. Refridgerator didn't work and was not clean. Breakfast was a basket with some things.

Good hotel, great location. Could be cleaner.

Couple
Erin from Middletown, RI
October 8, 2013
Couple
9.0
Cute "mom and pop"-esque motel with a nice Bavarian restaurant across the parking lot
Nope!

An adorable, affordable gem in a tourist trap location. The queen beds were comfortable, they're pet friendly for a $10 fee, and they have an awesome pool and hot tub. Across the parking lot is a delicious Bavarian restaurant we dined at after an exhausting day of driving.

Couple
Susan from Redondo Beach, CA
October 7, 2013
Couple
5.0
The restaurant has very good German food.
The room we stayed in had double doors to the outside and pull down shades on them that did not keep out the light at night. The light from the parking lot made it difficult to sleep.

I think it was a very nice place to stay and kind of cute. The German restaurant was a bonus because it was pretty good. The setting of the hotel was very beautiful as the Black Hills in September with the fall colors was really something to see.

Reviews of Bavarian Inn Motel
(1 - 10 of 11 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Bavarian Inn Motel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg