Amargosa Opera House & Hotel

Amargosa Opera House & Hotel

Amargosa Opera House & Hotel Image
1 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 3.6/10
608 Death Valley Junction Highway 127
Death Valley Junction, CA 92328

Hotel Guest Rating for Amargosa Opera House & Hotel in Shoshone

# 1 of 2 hotels in Shoshone
Based on 23 reviews from guests who stayed at the
Amargosa Opera House & Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 3.6.0
3.6
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 3.8.0
3.8
Hotel Staff
user rating 5.7.0
5.7
Location of Hotel
user rating 5.3.0
5.3
Hotel Dining
user rating 4.0.0
4.0
Check Rates and Availability at the Amargosa Opera House & Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the Amargosa Opera House & Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Bath, United Kingdom
June 27, 2015
Solo Traveler
4.0
The location was ok for a night after exploring Death Valley or just passing through, which is all i wanted it for.
The room had been cleaned but the carpet and decor has seen much better days. Worst was when I turned the light on and there were bugs crawling round in the light! The air con was noisy and the room very hot without it on but it is Death Valley.
Senior Travelers
Verified Hotel Guest from Morgantown, WV
June 25, 2015
Senior Travelers
7.0
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Showed us the wild horses feeding behind the hotel.
carpeting was very old ans somewhat musty. Shower faucet spewed wated. Plate on the electical outlet was off and hanging on the wire. No phone (not a biggie).
Senior Travelers
Marie from Kenilworth, United Kingdom
March 13, 2015
Senior Travelers
8.0
The whole ambiance of the place, the history and the murals. Hopefully this can be kept for future generations as it is a gem in the desert. The story of Hotel Employee is just astounding.So please we stayed there.
The rooms are old and tired, also the plumbing but we understand that there will be grants in the offing for the preservation of this gem.
Family Traveling with Teens
Robert from La Quinta, CA
January 10, 2015
Family Traveling with Teens
6.0
This is an old historic hotel. It is relatively clean and the manager is super nice. The owner of the hotel is a 90-year old former ballerina. We'd heard it was haunted but sadly we never saw any ghosts. I loved Barney the house cat!
No TV in the rooms, but a friendly public "salon" for the guests to enjoy, with board games, fireplace, etc.
Family Traveling with Young Children
Jng from Sunnyvale, CA
November 30, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
1.0
Historic building
It is so hard to find it. No sign can direct us to there.

I am sure we will not come back.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Bobby from Henderson, NV
November 13, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
1.0
Opera House.
Bad Customer Service.Hotel Condition.

The Hotel is very nice , but the building needs Restoration and Renovation.

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Waimanalo, HI
July 25, 2014
Solo Traveler
1.0
Nothing
No improvements from the '30s. No outlets in the bathroom. Couldn't get the door to open at first. Very run down. No restaurants in the area. Thank heavens I ate dinner 16 miles down the road. No TV. No blow dryer. No one on site between 9pm and 9am.

Can't believe they have donation cups situated around the common areas. No cell service or wifi service. Only phones are in the lobby!...and you need a code to get in there after hours. God forbid if there was a fire!!

Couple
Jean Jacques from Le Castellet, France
April 27, 2014
Couple
1.0
The opera
Nobody on the Hotel after 8;00 pm The dirtiness of this place. the breakfast starting 10:00 am

I will not recommend my enemies to book a room on this hotel

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Chatham, NJ
April 16, 2014
Couple
1.0
Nothing
The room reeked of what smelled like a combination of sewage, vomit, and dead animals. I wouldn't be surprised if there was something dead in the walls. The carpet appeared to be 50 years old, dirty, and disgusting.

The wall to wall carpeting was separated in many places and wrinkled. We wondered what kind of pathogens the carpet might contain. There was a dead cockroach in the room. We kept our luggage in the car so that it wouldn't get contaminated. We turned on the air conditioner, hoping it would help with the smell. The A/C did put out some cold air, was very noisy, but did nothing for the smell. I met the persons in the next room and they were as disgusted as me. We both scrambled to find someplace else. Although we had reserved the room for two nights, we got out of there as early as possible the next morning, after a nearly sleepless night worrying about the cause of the stench. We hope to get a refund for the night we didn't use. Outside the room, the smell wasn't quite so bad, but I noticed many air fresheners. The health department should check out this hotel. Priceline.com should sever all relationships with this hotel. ...read more

Solo Traveler
Robert from Rocklin, CA
March 23, 2014
Solo Traveler
5.0
The staff was very friendly and helpfull . The rooms were neat and clean
Very far from Death Valley. Very sparse rooms, but I knew that going in. No hot water in the shower.
Reviews of Amargosa Opera House & Hotel
(1 - 10 of 13 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the Amargosa Opera House & Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


 
dg

Priceline.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.