74 State, An Ascend Collection Hotel

74 State, An Ascend Collection Hotel in Albany

74 State, An Ascend Collection Hotel

74 State, An Ascend Collection Hotel Image
3 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 8.4/10
74 State Street
Albany, NY 12207

Hotel Guest Rating for 74 State, An Ascend Collection Hotel in Albany

# 8 of 42 hotels in Albany
Based on 205 reviews from guests who stayed at the
74 State, An Ascend Collection Hotel
Overall Quality Score
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 8.6.0
8.6
Hotel Staff
user rating 8.7.0
8.7
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Hotel Dining
user rating 8.9.0
8.9
Check Rates and Availability at the 74 State, An Ascend Collection Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the 74 State, An Ascend Collection Hotel

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Couple
Adair from Sandgate, VT
August 23, 2014
Couple
9.0
74 State was a delightful surprise. From the reasonable valet parking and goody bag upon arriving to the well-appointed rooms and generous amenities, it was an easy and comfortable stay in Albany.
It's a young hotel with a great service minded attitude, but the building seems to still be in transition from its former use. The dining area looks good but has scratched and tippy tables. The hot breakfast buffet is welcome but oddly divided up.

I felt the price was reasonable, the location excellent, and the experience completely pleasant. A minor gripe would be the small size of the flat screen TVs, but free wifi, HBO, and other complementary electronics made up for it.

Family Traveling with Teens
Margaret from Sayville, NY
August 22, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
8.0
We booked 2rms. 1 with 2 queen beds. That room was great! The other room had only 1 queen bed (as per our request). That room was very small. The staff were very friendly. Easy walk to several restaurants.
The breakfast was so-so. The breakfast room was old and run down. Valet parking brought the wrong car around when we were leaving. We had to wait awhile for them to go back and get the correct car.

All in all not a bad experience. Easy to find.

Business Traveler
Fletch from Issaquah, WA
August 22, 2014
Business Traveler
10.0
There were some review which had me hesitant about this place. From my experience either they were completely unfounded or very positive changes have been made. The staff was outstanding and I travel a lot.

The staff made all the difference yet even without them the property was very good.

Couple
James from Westwood, MA
August 18, 2014
Couple
10.0
The size of the room and the furniture that was in the room. I wish I could have taken the bed and pillows home with me -- sitting up in bed, reading was a pleasure fit for a king!
I don't think there was a shower cap available (I forgot mine at home).

My wife and I loved the free breakfast the following morning. The scrambled eggs, sausage and OJ were great. The staff at the front desk was wonderful. Even though the front-desk gal was new to the city, she worked hard and quickly to find the directions I needed. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend an Ascend hotel, or look for one in another city for myself.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Nicole from Great Falls, DE
August 16, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
10.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Verified Hotel Guest from Albany, NY
August 14, 2014
10.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Family Traveling with Young Children
Jingxia from Ballwin, MO
August 11, 2014
Family Traveling with Young Children
3.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Nathan from Amherst, NY
August 6, 2014
Couple
8.0
Room was a good size, bed was big and comfy and location was great, with meter street parking.
Could have felt slightly cleaner.
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Acton, MA
July 18, 2014
Business Traveler
9.0
It was great! Room had classic elegance - like staying in a guest room of a Victorian-era house rather than the generic style of a Hilton. The bed was comfy, large window and multiple closets. ALL of the staff were extremely friendly.
In-room fridge would've been nice since there was no restaurant/room service. A few stains on the carpet but nothing extreme. The only parking option was valet but it was easy enough to get street spaces and there was a garage nearby.

I'll definitely stay here again! It's a nice, quieter option and the location is very convenient for the capital area and courthouses.

Business Traveler
Elizabeth from Wickford, United Kingdom
July 18, 2014
Business Traveler
8.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Reviews of 74 State, An Ascend Collection Hotel
(1 - 10 of 150 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the 74 State, An Ascend Collection Hotel
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg