40Berkeley

40Berkeley in Boston

40Berkeley

40Berkeley Image
1 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.7/10
40 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116

Hotel Guest Rating for 40Berkeley in Boston

See Most Popular hotels in Boston
Based on 116 reviews from guests who stayed at the
40Berkeley
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.7.0
6.7
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 6.8.0
6.8
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.8.0
7.8
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.5.0
8.5
Hotel Dining
user rating 6.3.0
6.3
Check Rates and Availability at the 40Berkeley
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the 40Berkeley

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Solo Traveler
Steven from Haydenville, MA
July 6, 2014
Solo Traveler
6.0
This hotel--well, hostel--is affordable and centrally located.
Checkout is 11:00 am. At 9:30 housekeeping knocked on my door to find out when I was checking out. The same woman knocked again at 10:15, to "check up" on my departure. I was angered and disappointed by the rush to get me out of the room.

This hostel is located in the South End. It has a wonderful breakfast, that is included with the meal. It is located about five minutes from the Amtrak and MBTA Back Bay Station. Rooms have neither air conditioning, nor a television. There is a ceiling fan, but it is not sufficient on a stifling day. The housekeeping staff can be over-zealous in rushing guests out of their rooms before the 11:00 am check-out time. ...read more

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Wilkes-Barre, PA
June 20, 2014
Solo Traveler
4.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Couple
Sangyon from Seoul, Republic Of Korea
June 16, 2014
Couple
10.0
breakfast
shower room and restroom

realy good and comfortable to accommodate

Solo Traveler
Joe from Steger, IL
June 13, 2014
Solo Traveler
8.0
Great Staff ! Location is Great to Orange line Back Bay Train. Hubway is around the corner and if you pre-buy a FOB . . . then the 7 block trip to Back Bay is a snap.
It is a college dorm ! If your neighbor pukes :( then you have to deal with it till cleaning gets there in the AM. Shower items should hang & bring flip-flops.

Breakfast in the cafeteria is really pretty good. Staff is very helpful and informative !

Couple
Verified Hotel Guest from Milwaukee, WI
June 10, 2014
Couple
8.0

This guest did not leave comments about this hotel.

Group Traveler
Jordan from New River Beach, Canada
May 18, 2014
Group Traveler
2.0
Location
Shouldn't be listed as a hotel, this is a hostel

Should have been about 1/2 the price paid for these two rooms.

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from New York, NY
May 17, 2014
Solo Traveler
3.0
almost nothing
like being in a homeless shelter, very spartan

nothing good to say

Solo Traveler
Lawrence from Portland, ME
April 29, 2014
Solo Traveler
7.0
The price was right. Location was great. A ten minute walk to Boston Common. A five minute walk to the Back Bay Orange line subway station. A five minute walk to Copley Square. Located in a good neighborhood. Large common space on first floor.
Room are very small but one gets what they paid for.

I left my luggage at the front desk after check out so I did not have to lug it around all day. I returned late in the after noon to pick it up and used the lobby for an hour to kill some time before an evening event. The hostel had shared bath rooms. Suggest bringing flip flops. Shower stall has a lock for privacy. Also, suggest earplugs. It is the city and noisy.

Family Traveling with Teens
Verified Hotel Guest from Plattsburgh, NY
April 18, 2014
Family Traveling with Teens
4.0
location
Staff attitude/manners, could be the area or their pay.

Half the price of most around but still overpriced for it's condition

Solo Traveler
Doug from Washington, DC
April 15, 2014
Solo Traveler
1.0
There was nothing to like. This was by far the dirtiest and worst hotel I have ever encountered. In fact, it was not even a hotel. It was a hostel.
Again, this was the worst lodging accommodation I have ever experienced. The room was so dirty that I refused to stay the night. After checking in at 6:17pm I was checked out t 6:50pm. This hostel should NOT be advertised on your website!

This was a gross mis characterization if this property. What was listed as a hotel was actually a hostel. I was charged in full for my stay despite not staying the night. I checkout out after seeing the room which I was scheduled to stay in. There was not even a bathroom in the room. Again, this was by far the worst lodging experience I have ever encountered and I should receive my money back! ...read more

Reviews of 40Berkeley
(1 - 10 of 61 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the 40Berkeley
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg