40Berkeley

40Berkeley in Boston

40Berkeley

40Berkeley Image
1 Star
Hotel Guest Rating: 6.6/10
40 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116

Hotel Guest Rating for 40Berkeley in Boston

See Most Popular hotels in Boston
Based on 130 reviews from guests who stayed at the
40Berkeley
Overall Quality Score
user rating 6.6.0
6.6
Hotel Cleanliness
user rating 6.7.0
6.7
Hotel Staff
user rating 7.8.0
7.8
Location of Hotel
user rating 8.4.0
8.4
Hotel Dining
user rating 6.3.0
6.3
Check Rates and Availability at the 40Berkeley
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface

Hotel Guest Reviews of the 40Berkeley

Our hotel ratings and reviews are from real hotel guests. Priceline.com ensures that its reviews are guests-only by proactively sending hotel surveys to customers after they've completed their hotel stays. In the post-stay surveys, priceline.com hotel customers are asked a number of questions about their stay and the hotel. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, the survey asks guests to rate their overall experience and specifically rate the hotel's cleanliness, staff and location. Priceline.com does not allow site visitors to post unsolicited hotel reviews.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Addison, ME
December 13, 2014
Solo Traveler
3.0
It was $30.00 less than a real "hotel." It is a hostel, and a safe place to stay. If you have the $30.00, you may find another "hotel."
No phone (even to call front desk), No TV, but YES WiFi although very low bandwidth. 40Berkeley could pass for a set for a prison movie, but there were no problems other than the staff (2) at the front desk not knowing how to get from there to anywhere.
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Utica, NY
December 9, 2014
Solo Traveler
3.0
The location and price
Night time staff, horrible smell in room and bathroom
Group Traveler
Carlos from Boston, MA
November 30, 2014
Group Traveler
7.0
I liked the low price and helpful service provided
I wish the room had a bathroom
Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Milton, MA
November 19, 2014
Business Traveler
3.0
The staff was cool....
Everything ..... No tv .. No bathroom in ur room the bathroom in the hallway with a stall that had a tub in it never go there again..the room is so small..
Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Farmingdale, ME
November 18, 2014
Solo Traveler
7.0
I liked no frills, clean, centrally located, VERY helpful staff, spacious and welcoming public areas
Would like to have a mirror in the room.
Solo Traveler
Steven from Haydenville, MA
August 27, 2014
Solo Traveler
7.0
This hostel is a great bargain in a city that doesn't have many, on the hotel front.
Unfortunately, one of the best things about 40 Berkeley--its free breakfast--is no longer. No management has decided to do away with this feature, one that was a hit with its guests.

The hostel appears to be under new management. On one hand, this has meant some positive changes, like renovated rooms that are more in line with the hipster vibe that it gives out on its marketing material. On the other hand, a big benefit of the establishment--a free breakfast--is no more. Despite all these changes, the hostel still remains one of the best bargains in Boston.

Solo Traveler
Julio from Garland, TX
August 20, 2014
Solo Traveler
9.0
Great location.
No HVAC system.

I will be staying there again in Jan 2015 and Jan 2016.

Business Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Warwick, RI
August 3, 2014
Business Traveler
5.0
I liked that it was decent and the bathrooms were pretty clean. The staff were hit or miss when it came to courtesy.
I didn't like its location in a confusing city or that its website had the wrong phone number listed for the Atelier parking garage.

Decent for what it was, but definitely not great. I stayed there only because I couldn't afford a nicer place.

Solo Traveler
Verified Hotel Guest from Calgary, Canada
July 23, 2014
Solo Traveler
3.0
Location
Room was not very clean.

This is NOT a hotel. It is a hostel.

Solo Traveler
Steven from Haydenville, MA
July 6, 2014
Solo Traveler
6.0
This hotel--well, hostel--is affordable and centrally located.
Checkout is 11:00 am. At 9:30 housekeeping knocked on my door to find out when I was checking out. The same woman knocked again at 10:15, to "check up" on my departure. I was angered and disappointed by the rush to get me out of the room.

This hostel is located in the South End. It has a wonderful breakfast, that is included with the meal. It is located about five minutes from the Amtrak and MBTA Back Bay Station. Rooms have neither air conditioning, nor a television. There is a ceiling fan, but it is not sufficient on a stifling day. The housekeeping staff can be over-zealous in rushing guests out of their rooms before the 11:00 am check-out time. ...read more

Reviews of 40Berkeley
(1 - 10 of 57 reviews)
Check Rates and Availability at the 40Berkeley
   

graphical calendar interface

graphical calendar interface


dg